We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and Coming but Not There Yet”
Review of Canal Saint-Martin

Canal Saint-Martin
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.49*
and up
Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour
More Info
$21.15*
and up
2.5-Hour Cruise on the Canal Saint-Martin
More Info
$90.45*
and up
19th District's Paris Small Group Bike Tour
Ranked #105 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque canal, an extension of the River Seine, is a pleasant place for a boat ride or a summer stroll.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Up and Coming but Not There Yet”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We keep expecting more art galleries to have popped up but the slow economy seems to have put a stop to promised expansion. Walk along the canal, hop on one of the Canal Tour Boats for a day trip, sit at one of the many cafes or visit the Saturday farmers market.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    435
    163
    55
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Activity”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Like the reviewer Anne B (a few posts earlier) I did this cruise with Paris Canal from the Musee d'Orsay to Parc de la Villete on a Thursday morning. I chose this operator because you get a small Seine cruise initially (which goes past some of the iconic Parisian sights) before turning onto the Canal St-Martin. The 9:30am departure in late September resulted in very few people on the boat, so there was much opportunity to move around, photograph whatever you wanted and talk with other passengers. I also thought the sun angle would be more conducive to photography compared a trip in the opposite direction later in the day.
When I walked back from Parc de la Villete there was a market happening on the western side of the Bassin de la Villete which was very interesting. I got to buy some fruit and then stop and have a snack in a nearby park.
Overall this cruise was the unexpected highlight of my week in Paris. I loved it. A few days later on a Saturday afternoon I caught the Metro to Juares (at the bottom end of Bassin de la Villete) and walked the length of the canal, stopped for coffees along the way and it was wonderful. I got to see the operation of the swing bridge at Rue De Lancy/Pont de la Grange aux Belles as a Paris Canal boat was moving through the locks and down the canal on the afternoon trip (and it had very many more passengers on board).
I am so surprised that such a wonderful low key activity isn't more widely promoted and known about.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HmmmAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Paris from a different point of view”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Canal Saint-Martin was a big surprise for us. An island of tranquility and beauty in the center of Paris. Very pleasant to walk on both sides of the canal, enjoy the trees and flowers. We loved the drawbridge and the boats that sailing along the the canal. In the area near République you will find charming cafes and beautiful shops. It's fun to walk around and to enjoy the other Paris.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dovrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really good discovery...”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Worked in Paris for a few days last month. A colleague lives in the 10th arrondissement and organised food in the evenings. A short walk from the apartment was the canal. What a great surprise. Former artisan area and quite run down until recently it has gradually got back on its feet and not lost its village feel. A bit like the rest of Paris these days it can seem a bit grimy, littered and graffiti'd but the tree lined canal, locks, old restaurants and cafes more than made up for it. Great choices at very reasonable cost. I was also told that Sunday brunch is great in the area as it is all traffic free. Great alternative to the parks, river and crowds in Montmartre!

Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forch near Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Idea to experience such a different aspect of Paris”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very interesting, fascinating boat cruise, which we really enjoyed. Great, to experience in this relaxing way a new aspect of Paris. We learned a lot about Paris. And to watch the sluises and the different moving bridges is exiting- not only for technic freaks. Unfortunately the explications on the boat are only in french. Additional you get a flyer with some explanations in different languages.

Helpful?
2 Thank boxfish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Saint-Martin also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Canal Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing