We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for lovers of Monet, Picasso, VanGogh, etc.”
Review of Musee d'Orsay

Musee d'Orsay
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.58*
and up
Semi Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay Must-See Tour
Ranked #1 of 1,108 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This beautiful museum, once a railroad station, now houses a staggering collection of Impressionist art, as well as other items created between 1848 and 1914. In 2011, the museum is running a renovation of the top floor (impressionist gallery). Only ground and medium floor are accessible. The top floor will re-open on the 20th of October. Meanwhile, some impressionist masterpieces are not visible.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for lovers of Monet, Picasso, VanGogh, etc.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love the periods represented in the Musee d'Orsee. It's an amazing collection in a wonderful building. It was one of the highlights of my trip and will be one of my first stops on my next trip to Paris!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebWKaitlynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38,682
    8,969
    1,298
    209
    164
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must see the Cheveux Cheris exhibit”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After three visits, we STILL look forward to The River (a light installation that makes words cascade down the winding walkway in the form of the river). Nothing to dislike in this museum... it is a small one but rivals the Louvre in its tasteful and original exhibitions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressionists make an impression”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Less imposing than its sister across the Seine, the Louvre, the Musee D'Orsay boasts a wonderful collection of impressionist works housed in a beautifully renovated train station. The queues here are also shorter! We wandered the Musee D'Orsay for 2-3 hours, skipping the less important works and letting our eyes linger over the more famous impressionists here - Van Gogh, Monet, Cezanne, Gaugin, Renoir and Degas. We also ate lunch at the main cafeteria here, which is beautifully designed behind one of the building's large clockfaces, with splendid gold lights hanging down. The food was definitely overpriced; in fact, it was more overpriced than other museums I have eaten at in Europe. But it wasn't beyond the realm of affordable and was tasty and quickly served, so we found it worthwhile to eat here before continuing to enjoy the art.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank riventree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I like the impressionist section, the rodin, the museum itself as it is one of the most beautiful monument in Paris.

You need a couple of days to really see everything, and to take your time.

I will be back for sure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clement D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Orsay is so beatiful, I prefer than many others!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We took a very nice dinig onThursday evening
Combine a visit to the museum with dinner at the restaurant on Thursday evenings.
Discovery menu at €55 (drinks included): personal service includes cloakrooms and entrance to the museum’s collections. You can also order menu a la carte

Good for people that can not go during the day, because on Thursday is open in the evening, and then you can enjoy an amazing dinner in its magnificent restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregoriaJades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Orsay also viewed

 

Been to Musee d'Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing