We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last night in Paris”
Review of Schwartz's Deli

Schwartz's Deli
Ranked #392 of 17,020 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Last night in Paris”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had been Parisian food for our two week trip to the city of light and wanted a change. So we first went to Le Stella on Victor Hugo for an entree of l'escargot as one last french meal then walked to Schwartz's for the main course. We arrived early about 7 pm and got a nice table by the window. My wide ordered a chicken Caesar salad which she said was average. I had the rib steak and fries. Great fries! But the steak was not the best I had enjoyed while in Paris. The service was good and the atmosphere fun. By 8 pm where 10-15 people waiting for tables.

It is a young crowd but lots of energy. Don't go if you want a quiet dinner! The burgers were huge and looked great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    386
    82
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy fishburger mecca”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Did the mistake to just pop in on a Sunday at 2 pm, there was people everywhere, and were told to come back in around 40 minutes. So we did and not long after we got seated and handled our menus. I ordered the fishburger and were not disappointed. Big, perfectly fried fish, great bread and crispy fries. Also ordered a chocolate milkshake -a bit too much, considering the portion sizes.
Very crowded, a bit noisy, but overall a very good spent hour. Like!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msjobronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the high level NY Deli in the heart of Paris”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

if you tired from the french cuisine, than you can try this wonderfull Deli in Paris) when I was there on friday evening there was full and i had to waite for 30 min, but the food was worth it) very atmospheric, great portions, good choice of wine and coctails, no tourists, full of local people) theyevn had my favorite white wine sancere)))

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryzhik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food/stuff/atmosphere at the 17eme”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Well, Kosher restaurant so fine for me (looking for Halal options!)
There are 3 of this restaurant in Paris, I've been in the one in 17eme (7 avenue d'Eylau 75016 Paris)
+ The food is great: (forget about McDonald's tiny hamburgers), it's really tasty and generous (I dare you to finish the whole dish!)
+ The decoration is really attractive and "unusual"
+ The stuff is really funny and cool,
- a bit expensive though!

I'm sure you'll enjoy it :)

Tip: Spicy Hamburger + Cheesecake = perfect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imed_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate hipster ripoff”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you are American looking for a good burger, keep looking, this is not the place. There are much better US theme restaurants in the same neighborhoods as Schwartz's (16th and 17th).

Avoid the mac and cheese (pasta swimming in cheese flavored milk), pastrami (pile of average meat on microscopic piece of bread and no condiments), burgers (big but no flavor or originality).

Also the onion rings, hashbrowns and fries are all the low quality frozen variety.

Big disappointment (or maybe not) given the coverage this restaurant has gotten in the mainstream press (Elle, Glamour, etc.). The owners must have some serious connections...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshMcAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwartz's Deli also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Ile-de-France, France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Schwartz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing