We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel Le Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Canal
Ranked #1,629 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Minnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

My single "superior" room was very,very basic and I was given a plastic stick to stir my coffee with.The mug was already cracked and I was given a better mug at my request but this was changed the following day for an old,heavy mug.I had to go to the reception to ask for milk.The man on duty on that night at the counter was very rude to me,He said that he was too tired to go down to the kitchen to get me a proper spoon and milk and refused to send one to me to my room.I was left with my little plastic stick during my 3 day`stay at that hotel.The wash basin is badly situated in a very small corner of the room.The shelf above the washbasin makes it very difficult and dangerous to wash/shave etc.,.because you could injure yourself.It must be moved and made safe.The tap is also badly positioned and could cause serious injury to the eyes.Breakfast was fine.The hotel is on a busy main road and is close to the metro,It is better to avoid walking in that area late in the evenings because many beggars abd drunks ask tourists for money and can get aggressive.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept it as it can be dirty.Make sure that the washbasin is safe to use.C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

the hotel is simple, nothing special about it. The bed is OK, simple accomodations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertobrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel was very handy for the metro which was only a few minutes walk away. The area is not a touristy area by any means but was the better for it. There were supermarkets, a pharmacy, post office and banks on the doorstep rather than overpriced shops selling tourist tat. If you walk over to the canal there are plenty of nice bars and restaurants.The breakfast was modest but fine. The staff are helpful and obliging, The only thing I would say is that the hotel is probably due for another redecoration as the pictures had fallen off the walls of our room and the paintwork was looking quite tired. Also we were on the ground floor and could both hear and feel the metro trains running beneath our floor! But for the price the hotel is very good and I would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid the metro noise/vibrations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danannsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel, situated in the canal region of the 19th Arr represents one of the better low star hotels in Paris. There is nearby metro station. Taxis are plentiful and there are lots of amenities - supermarkets, pharmacies, and once you take the very short walk to the canal, a plethora of bars, restaurants and cinemas. This is a vibrant area of Paris. It has been up and coming for a few years now and is rather popular.

The hotel has clearly been refurbished in recent years. The rooms are small, but clean and attractive. The bathrooms, (only showers, no baths) are nice and the chambermaids clearly do a good job. Having said that I found the chambermaids to be rather annoying - they ignored the "do not disturb" sign on the door (the same experience was had by my colleagues also staying the hotel). At one point I was disturbed 3 times in one hour. So much for my nap...

The breakfast is basic, but once again, all is clean and relatively cheerful. Enough bread, pastries, cereals, juices and yogurts to fill empty tummies.

Another large bonus - free wifi. And the wifi was able to support my daily Skype home.

This isn't the Ritz, but it is comfortable. There is also air conditioning in the room for the warmer months - which is good as the hotel is on a major road and there is significant road noise, even for the rooms higher up and "at the back".

Don't stay here for a relaxing, intimate holiday - but if you need to be somewhere central, easy to reach and in easy distance of good places to eat, this is a safe choice.

Room Tip: In the summer bring your earplugs or use the air con. Having the window open will mean road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Helpful staff,simple french breakfast.A dodgy street which it was situated on-they were handing out food to the poor just a block away.Good thing about Av.de Flandre is that theres a few good supermarkets and a lovely turkish kebab place called Akdeniz.Very friendly people and good fastfood.
If you walk up the Flandre passageway next to the hotel you meet the Seine and you find a small parc with childrens play area,outdoor ping pong table and restaurant-boats.From there you can walk along the Seine a while until you stumble upon the lovely parc,Parc de la Villette.A good play area for kids and also a small carneval.

The room-We travelled as a family with 2 children aged 3 and 6.We got connecting rooms,first floor with windows towards the street.The windows were not airtight when closed,so sometimes we smelled sigarett smoke and car fumes.Not a big deal,just saying.The rooms look a lot more fancy on their website.Classical french tiny rooms with no way to walk around.The bathroom had closet doors and it gets pretty damp from the shower.Loose toiletseat which kept sliding about.Nice and soft beds with clean linen.Were not sure they changed our towels everyday.TV had alot of channels and free WIFI was included.Gotta love that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have just returned from "Hotel le canal". There were 6 girls and we all have the same views on this hotel.
It was clean, modern and really comfortable beds, near 2 metro stations, free Wi - fi in the rooms and very helpfull staff. Breakfast was really nice and If i was returning to paris i would definitely stay at this hotel. x

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liaj149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Hotel du Quai de Seine
Hotel du Quai de Seine
#1,028 of 1,804 in Paris
100 reviews
La Villette
Ibis Paris La Villette Cite des Sciences 19eme
La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
#1,241 of 1,804 in Paris
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Crimee
#993 of 1,804 in Paris
246 reviews
La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
#1,494 of 1,804 in Paris
308 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,391 of 1,804 in Paris
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canal

Address: 48 avenue de Flandre | 19th Arr, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,629 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $55 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing