We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Hotel Le Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Canal
Ranked #1,623 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel was very handy for the metro which was only a few minutes walk away. The area is not a touristy area by any means but was the better for it. There were supermarkets, a pharmacy, post office and banks on the doorstep rather than overpriced shops selling tourist tat. If you walk over to the canal there are plenty of nice bars and restaurants.The breakfast was modest but fine. The staff are helpful and obliging, The only thing I would say is that the hotel is probably due for another redecoration as the pictures had fallen off the walls of our room and the paintwork was looking quite tired. Also we were on the ground floor and could both hear and feel the metro trains running beneath our floor! But for the price the hotel is very good and I would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid the metro noise/vibrations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danannsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel, situated in the canal region of the 19th Arr represents one of the better low star hotels in Paris. There is nearby metro station. Taxis are plentiful and there are lots of amenities - supermarkets, pharmacies, and once you take the very short walk to the canal, a plethora of bars, restaurants and cinemas. This is a vibrant area of Paris. It has been up and coming for a few years now and is rather popular.

The hotel has clearly been refurbished in recent years. The rooms are small, but clean and attractive. The bathrooms, (only showers, no baths) are nice and the chambermaids clearly do a good job. Having said that I found the chambermaids to be rather annoying - they ignored the "do not disturb" sign on the door (the same experience was had by my colleagues also staying the hotel). At one point I was disturbed 3 times in one hour. So much for my nap...

The breakfast is basic, but once again, all is clean and relatively cheerful. Enough bread, pastries, cereals, juices and yogurts to fill empty tummies.

Another large bonus - free wifi. And the wifi was able to support my daily Skype home.

This isn't the Ritz, but it is comfortable. There is also air conditioning in the room for the warmer months - which is good as the hotel is on a major road and there is significant road noise, even for the rooms higher up and "at the back".

Don't stay here for a relaxing, intimate holiday - but if you need to be somewhere central, easy to reach and in easy distance of good places to eat, this is a safe choice.

Room Tip: In the summer bring your earplugs or use the air con. Having the window open will mean road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Helpful staff,simple french breakfast.A dodgy street which it was situated on-they were handing out food to the poor just a block away.Good thing about Av.de Flandre is that theres a few good supermarkets and a lovely turkish kebab place called Akdeniz.Very friendly people and good fastfood.
If you walk up the Flandre passageway next to the hotel you meet the Seine and you find a small parc with childrens play area,outdoor ping pong table and restaurant-boats.From there you can walk along the Seine a while until you stumble upon the lovely parc,Parc de la Villette.A good play area for kids and also a small carneval.

The room-We travelled as a family with 2 children aged 3 and 6.We got connecting rooms,first floor with windows towards the street.The windows were not airtight when closed,so sometimes we smelled sigarett smoke and car fumes.Not a big deal,just saying.The rooms look a lot more fancy on their website.Classical french tiny rooms with no way to walk around.The bathroom had closet doors and it gets pretty damp from the shower.Loose toiletseat which kept sliding about.Nice and soft beds with clean linen.Were not sure they changed our towels everyday.TV had alot of channels and free WIFI was included.Gotta love that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have just returned from "Hotel le canal". There were 6 girls and we all have the same views on this hotel.
It was clean, modern and really comfortable beds, near 2 metro stations, free Wi - fi in the rooms and very helpfull staff. Breakfast was really nice and If i was returning to paris i would definitely stay at this hotel. x

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liaj149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 nights via booking.com. The day of the arrival, i have received an e-mail that my credit card was not accepted. I changed the credit card and i received a confirmation e-mail from booking.com. Later (while i was traveling with no e-mail access) i have received an e-mail for booking cancelation. Same time a transaction was initated and money were blocked on my credit card. The beneficiary of the transaction was another hotel whose name was not known to me. Anyway, i arrived at the hotel around 10 pm, without knowing about the booking cancelation and the bank transaction. The receptionist seemed to know nothing about this also. I received a room next to the reception, probably a room they keep for emergencies. It was in the corner of the building with large windows facing Avenue de Flandre, a very busy and noisy street, above the metro lines. With the poor window isolation i was feeling in the meedle of the street; when the metro was passing, the bed was shaking; the bonus was hearing my neighbour flushing the toilet. About room maintenance: it was clear that the room was not ready for guests - in the bathroom sink, i found long red hairs, the toilet paper had blood stains on it, the towels were used and thrown on a chair.
Not beeing able to sleep, i booked another hotel and at 7 am wanted to leave. I asked for a receipt for the money they blocked on my bank card, but they werent able to provide it. I checked out anyway and came back later to have a conversation with the manager. He was very understanding; offered me an upgrade to a better room, champagne. Since i already checked in at another hotel, i accepted only a 20% reduction for the night spent at "le Canal". The receipt for the bank transaction initiated the day before stil couldnt be found so i had to pay cash. But they were fair and the transaction wasnt finalized so the money returned to my credit card.
To conclude: im sure my experince was a mixt of bad luck and poor management from both parts (me and the hotel). i can be blamed for not announcing a late check in. Cant really know how the other rooms look or how well are mainteined. My opinion is that they tend to overbook so if you travel during summer months, call before arrival, announce a late check-in and above all, and most important, ask for a room that is not ground level. Good luck!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room to be about ground level and not facing Flendre Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vlad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallou, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

thanks for your comment , we regret you didn t enjoy your stay with us and would like to upgrade you in a superior room if you happen to come back.
The fact your credit card could not be validated created the administrative inconvenience , Booking site and us have to ask another credit card number in that case , and the reservation is cancelled after 24 hours if no new number is sent via Booking.That s why your booking was cancelled , and therefore we proposed to you the last room available .
Our ground floor room has a window on a small street named Passage de Flandre ; next day we could offer you we proposed a top floor room , but you had decided to leave.
Once again , please mention this before your next arrival ,
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was a terrible mistake to decide for this hotel. If you are planning to have a holiday in paris then a sincere request, please don't even think of choosing this hotel. Located in middle of no where, this hotel is nothing less than a piece of dingy motel. For us the experience was very short lived. We booked a double room in the hotel roughly 3 weeks in advance with a confirmed booking status (and our credit card was already charged for the full payment). We walked our way through Paris just to reach the reception and had to wait for 15 mins before getting any attention. Furthermore the receptionist was surprised to see our reciept and had to go to a different room to discuss with his collleague. They only told us that ''THEY HAD NO AVAILABLE FOR US''. On being asked about our confirmed status they had the daring courage to tell a white lie that the 'wardrobe' was destroyed in our room. No wonder it took 10 mins to discuss with his colleague to find an excuse. Furthermore when inquired why on earth they could not sent an email before, they said it happened a night before. Thankfully they sent us to a different hotel 'Le Laumiere' which I will highly recommend for both location, facilities and food. But even there they did not probably settled everything as the receptionist had to contact 'Le Canal' (she asked us the details of hotels' contact the second day. So a last word of caution.''DON'T GO TO HOTEL LE CANAL'.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kshitij_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallou, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Canal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Good evening
we are sorry to have disppointed you , by not being able to house you in hotel Le Canal that night ; there was indeed a last minute technical problem in one room , and the hotel was full. Thus we organized your relocation in a good nearby partner hotel , of which you were satisfied , as you explain.
We would like to compensate for this relocation inconvenience by upgrading you in a superior room during your next stay , so that you could get to know our hotel , which generally enjoys positive comments from its guests.
Auf wiedersehen and best regards from Le Canal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great little hotel! Stayed over the New Year 2011/12 (the second time a this hotel), the rooms are comfortable, the staff are friendly and the price is great. Breakfast although limited - the usual croissants, fruit and yoghurt - is still quite nice and replenished quickly. Overall can't fault this hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiffffffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Hotel du Quai de Seine
Hotel du Quai de Seine
#983 of 1,802 in Paris
99 reviews
Hotel Crimee
#970 of 1,802 in Paris
246 reviews
La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
#1,493 of 1,802 in Paris
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Ibis Paris La Villette Cite des Sciences 19eme
La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
#1,245 of 1,802 in Paris
651 reviews
Hotel Paris Villette
#1,123 of 1,802 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canal

Address: 48 avenue de Flandre | 19th Arr, 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,623 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $63 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing