We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food esp desserts ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Lux

Le Petit Lux
Ranked #2,155 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food esp desserts ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch based on the TA reviews. Cosy space. Lovely food. I had chicken tagine. Partner had beef which was rare and a bit chewy but tasty. Desserts were the highlight: rum baba and lemon soufflé (cold). Both terrific. Recommended if you're in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A dependable neighborhood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been getting sandwiches and salads to go from Le Petit Lux for several years, but today we waited for a table, (a short wait, right at the height of lunch hour) and ordered the veal chop and special "Lux Burger" for a nice lunch. The highlight was dessert, of course.
Compared to other small restaurants at this end of the Luxembourg Garden, this one is tops!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rca010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Consistently great local bakery/resto/bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been at least three times on two trips to this small cafe a few blocks from the Jardin Luxembourg. They sell very fresh baked goods and sandwiches on one side of their small store and have a small bar (6 stools) on the other side where you can sit and eat what you pick up in the bakery part, as well as about 6 tables where you can order a meal from the menu on blackboards. In spite of the proximity to a major tourist attraction, most of the many clients (there is usually a wait on both sides) are locals. This time we arrived for an early lunch before the restaurant was open and brought food from the bakery and ate at the bar. We had a generous cooked salmon sandwich (very good salmon on a wonderful baguette) and a salad of greens, avocado, tomato, and small shrimp. Friendly service both in the bakery and at the bar (where we were offered water and had second coffees). Total cost about 15 Euro for two. Previously, I ordered from the restaurant menu and had an excellent appetizer and fish dish with a decent house wine for about the same (per person). The food is really prepared with quality ingredients and care. Service is quite efficient and friendly, but they don't speak much English. Overall, outstanding quality/price, and really pretty good when compared to much more serious restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to pick up a picnic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a nice quiet dinner at the Lux. Service was a bit in attentive but, in Paris, that's OK. Food was of the French comfort variety. The real draw is the take-out next door where you can pick up great sandwiches and desserts for a picnic lunch at Jardin du Luxembourg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BWine_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of getting some food from this lovely little cafe for a picnic at the Luxembourg Garden. Although there was a rather long line-up (and we had already gotten there prior to the cafe opening), the wait was well worth it. First, all the beautiful desserts were making us hungry from the front window! Then when you walk in, you can smell the wonderful baked goods such the quiche, baguettes - it was heavenly. We ordered a quiche, a baguette and a dessert - they were all magnificent and the price was definitely good for the quality of food you're getting.

Hubby says 'the blood sausage baguette is to die for'. Don't miss this place!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Lux also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing