We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victory Hotel Galou
Ranked #1,650 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great if on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel for 39 euros a night. For what I paid for it I was pleasantly surprised. Hotel itself is fine very clean and my room was reasonably well presented the bed was comfy and there was a sink in the room.

The local area seemed a little rough but I did not experience any problems at all. The keys turning in the locks are a bit noisy at night but this is probably the worst thing about the place. The hotel is very close to metro and relatively close to Gard du Norde. The staff were polite and also looked after my bag on the last day after check in with no extra charge.

If you are on a budget I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank senjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
18
26
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The area was the first thing that struck us. Not a very nice area, but even this didn't seem so bad after a few days. We stayed for six days in total and the hotel was fine. Great location for tourist attractions. Rooms were small but clean. Free wi fi in our room. Sheets and towels changed every day. Hotel staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0J0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have been charged twice by this hotel and they will not refund my money. I paid with cash upon check-out, only later to find that my card had been charged for this same amount. They are either completely incompetent or they have deliberately stolen my money, possibly both.

When I emailed the hotel they promised to refund my money. They did not do so, so I contacted the booking agent who have now told me that the hotel receipt and bank statement I have sent them are not good enough proof that I paid twice. For the money they've taken from me I could have actually stayed somewhere MUCH nicer.

Therefore, BEWARE. Should you choose to stay at this run-down little place for a cheap weekend in Paris, it may well not turn out to be a cheap weekend. DON'T PAY WITH CASH. I regret ever having visited and this has completely spoiled my impression of Paris and it's people.

Also, you should only stay if you speak good French as they do not speak English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Norfolk Island, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed a weekend here. The price was good, hotel clean and staff most helpful.
It's located close to the Chateau d'Eu Metro station which is handy, but the surroundings for most part are not the most pleasant nor safest, which lots of shady activities going on.
Breakfast was excellent, and facility to leave luggage great.
However, you have to hand key into reception when leaving. They don't give you a key for the main entrance door, and reception shuts at 2am until 6am so any late nights you will be locked out!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelanA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'm a student and I was alone in Paris. it is good and cheep hotel (273 euro a week). and location is perfect... around 25 minutes on foot to Notre-Dam and Hotel de Ville. a bit red light district, but it's ok, I have been coming past 23 all week and nothing happend) good breakfast and friendly staff. cheap place in the center of PARIS))

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuiBelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

A little bit of a red light district, but not too disturbing at all. Very quiet, small street. More or less walking distance to most important sites in all compass directions. Best available price for 3 adult (one teenager) persons in one room. We more or less only slept at the hotel so it was very much worth the price. WI-FI for free.
Family was running the hotel and they were all very service-minded even if the hotel itself couldn't offer much. Simple, but clean....except one bed cover, probably washed but it didn't help much.
If you want to spend money on good food instead and not spending much time at hotel, I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want Tv (only Frence channels), ask if the antenna is connected. We didn't bother to comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went on a long weekend break with my mum and my sister. The photos on the website look absolutely nothing like the actual hotel itself. The bedding sheets were spotless and clean, but the blankets were a bit smelly. Bathroom was absolutely tiny, if you are a bigger person you may not even fit in the shower, its that small. Even if you manage to fit in you cant turn around and the horrible shower curtain always get stuck to me. The rooms were not cleaned daily, all they did is picked the towels off the floor and hang them up, they didn't even change it.
The location is great, its between 2 metro stations and its really central and easy to get to everywhere. Cheap but fab reasturants were very local to the hotel. So if you did a bit of shopping and spending during the day you were guaranteed a very decent 3 course meal for about 18 euros pp including drink.
To be honest I wasn't too bothered about the hotel as it was cheap and I had a bathroom and a roof over my head for the night.
We were out all day and by the time we got back were too knackered to criticize the hotel haha.
I would probably go back for the value and the location.

I would recommend it to people looking for a cheap getaway. However if you are fussy and you look for 5* service in a 2* hotel then please find something else instead.

Enjoy Paris, its beautiful!

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you have trouble walking request a lower level floor as the stairs to the 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dessy_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Cosmotel
Hotel Cosmotel
#851 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,346 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#935 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,615 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,471 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little
Hotel Little
#1,494 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel Galou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel Galou

Property: Victory Hotel Galou
Address: 15 Passage de l Industrie, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,650 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Victory Hotel Galou 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victory Hotel Galou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing