We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very family friendly”
Review of Maxim Folies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maxim Folies
Ranked #949 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very family friendly”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and probably wouldn't again. Only for the fact that we had a small child and the room was tiiiinnnyyy. We had read reviews on here about how small the rooms were. But having stayed in studio apartments before we thought they were over exaggerating. No. We probably should have done a little more research and gotten a bigger room. The hotel itself is nice and clean and close to metro stations, supermarkets etc and the girls on reception were very welcoming and helpful, booking transfers etc. Not for families though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jayteeanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
Actually, our double standart rooms with queen size bed are for 2 persons. So for 2 adults with a child we recommand to book a suite junior (with a double bed in room and a sofa bed in living room). It's more suitable for families. Also for couples with a baby we can added a baby cot in a double standart room.
Hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    206
    74
    28
    8
See reviews for
40
188
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here twice now. As I am a wheelchair user accessibility is paramount and this hotel delivers. Lift big enough for chair (though not luggage at same time). You get free upgrade to a larger room with walk in shower and separate sitting area. Staff are attentive but not to fussy Hotel is vey clean. It is situated 5 minutes walk to grand boulevards with metro and bus links to the centre. Beware of pricing in the bars on the grand boulevards as they can be extremely expensive.

Some noise in the morning if you are street facing from refuse collection

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEllis1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your good review.
Our staff take a really good care of customers in wheelchair and our rooms are adapted for this situation.
We hope to see you again in GatFolies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

a very quiet hotel near the Folie Bergeres theatre. Clean and modern with a good breakfast choice at 12.50 Euros .Very handy for travel by bus or metro with good connections. A good choice of cheap restaurants nearby to suit every taste. Could do with some better hanging space for clothes as wooden fixed hangers not convenient. Not enough English speaking TV.

Room Tip: Pick the rear although front seems to have little traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your good review.
As you said our breakfats buffet cost 12.50€ but we also have an express breakfast (with croissant, orange juice and hot drink) for 6€.
Regarding the TV, we have at least one channel in almost every language, in English we have some channels like CNN...
We hope to see you next time in Gat Folies.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite simple and Cool, but doesn't compare to other hotels from GAT Rooms. The employees are very kind and allways available to any question or need. The problem was on the room that didn't had A/C making very warm and almost unbreathable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
The problem with the A/C will be fixed really soon. In september, every room will be fully equiped with air conditioning so you will be able to enjoy more your stay.
See you soon in Gat Folies hotel !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went to Paris with my partner in the beginning of June 2013. We chose Hotel Gats Folies since it had good reviews and near to the places we wanted to visit.

The check in was okay, pretty quick. Hotel looks good on the outside with Velib slots. the problem came when we were assigned the small room on the top floor which when we arrived, it was wide opened and still under cleaning/uncleaned. There was no air conditioning in the room.

What was good is that, the reception offered us a free upgrade to a suite that was bigger at the second floor to compensate. Well, I guess the junior suite is fine but not the normal rooms. Acoustics were good, you can't hear the noisy streets even if you're in the second floor suite. Just remember to close the windows tight.

Buffet Breakfast was average with usual spread of french breakfast at 12.50euro per person. Overall, the location is good and easy to get to the lourve or gallerie lafayette by metro. recommended for short stay.

Room Tip: if you travel in summer, try not to get the top floor. no air conditioning and small. if not, pray t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review and your good word about our location.
You have to know that we will have the air conditioning in september in all our hotel.
We hope to see you again in our Gat Folies hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in Gat Folies for one night. The location is good, close to transport connections (metro, airport train, "velib" city bikes) and restaurants, and walking distance from many attractions (Montmartre, Louvre, Centre Pompidou etc.).

Our room was tiny but stylish, modern and well designed. The lobby and breakfast area were nice and funky, and we enjoyed spending one rainy morning having the excellent breakfast - well worth taking even if it isn't included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review and your kind word about our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you appreciated your stay, our location, and services.
We hope to see you again in our hotel !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice hotel near to the Louvre, Sacre Coeur and some of the main shopping streets in Paris. We came from London on the Eurostar and the hotel is within walking distance of the train station.

Very friendly reception. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConorDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
Our hotel is located in the center of Paris and pretty close to gare du Nord station. So it's really easy to reach our hotel if you come from there by Eurostar.
We hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#951 of 1,802 in Paris
226 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,052 of 1,802 in Paris
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#357 of 1,802 in Paris
411 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bresil Opera
Hotel Bresil Opera
#848 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#420 of 1,802 in Paris
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Folies

Property: Maxim Folies
Address: 14 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #949 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers will be pleased to discover the cozy and friendly atmosphere of Maxim Folies! This boutique hotel 3 stars with a modern decoration offers a comfortable accommodation and also a delicious breakfast buffet composed of fresh products, and homemade preparations served in a bright room open on the street. Situated in the center of Paris, between the Opera Garnier and the Gare du Nord train station, Maxim Folies is served by 4 metro lines, and all around theaters and restaurants crowd in this district so lively day and night! And for shopaholics, the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps are really close by walking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing