We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop”
Review of Hotel Maxim Folies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Folies
Ranked #1,270 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Gat Folies for 3 nights while visiting Paris. It is well situated and close to the Metro. We walked more than once down to the Louvre from the as well and manged to catch the tour buses from there. The area has many beautiful restaurants and bars. We enjoyed staying here and the staff were very friendly. I had to mix a bit a work with pleasure however and the wireless which you can get all over the hotel was a little temperamental.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 409 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Location is close to Gare du Nord which was a benefit for us because we arrived from London and our next stop was Amsterdam, both of which this train station serves. The room was tiny…smaller than a cruise ship cabin; there was not much for storage room if you want to unpack. However, the room was very clean! Our room was located on the top floor…the positive is that there was no noise above us; the negative is that we only had a sky light to look out of, so we had to stand on tip toes to see outside…our view was the Folies Bergere! We did not opt for the breakfast at the hotel; there are bakeries in the neighborhood. Also, there was a little supermarket across the street but there was no refrigerator in the room. We were in Paris when there was a heat wave, and unfortunately, there was no air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Gat Folies is a lovely hotel. I visited Paris with a friend in June 2012 for 5 days and it was perfect for our trip! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

Great location. You can walk to loads of places! Even to the Louvre. Nearest station we always went to was Grand Boulevard, but also Cadet. Easy access and close to Gare du Nord.

We stayed in a standard double room and although not a massive room, I wouldn't say it was small.. it was big enough for two girls. The decor and furniture is trendy, modern, clean, almost ikea style but with a retro/feel.

The room has a MASSIVE double bed, that could easily fit 3 people! The most important factor to me was that it was really clean! Our room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and I was really pleased about the service. The shower was hot, powerful and clean. Electronic safe was useful and the free WIFI was brilliant.

Lots of restaurants around the area. There's a handy supermarket across the street or if you walk towards Grand boulevard there's a Carefour City. Also O'Sullivans on Grand Boulevard is a really cool Irish Pub on the corner to go to! We didn't try the breakfast but walked to close bakeries in the morning. Its the best looking hotel on the street and I love the hotel sign at night.

The only thing I would say about the hotel is that is it really HOT. As soon as you walk in you can feel the heat. There is no AC only a fan (that we were very grateful for) in your room. We had to sleep with the window open. Also there is not much storage for your clothes, so we would just have to keep our clothes in our suitcases. It didn't really bother me but may bother other people.

I would definitely recommend to staying here though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RW_travels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent 4 nights in the hotel, with a relative new and modern decor. Rooms, and lift were definitely small with your sink located within the room itself (as opposed to within the toilets). You only get a fan so it can get warm in the summer without any air-conditioning. No fridge, and terrible WIFI - when enquiring about it, all I got was "it's like that". Breakfast was definitely not worth getting, you'll probably find a whole range of cafes down the other alley.

Location is probably the hotel's saving grace, with a 5 minute walk to the Cadet Metro, and a short cab ride to the Gare du Nord station. Supermarkets are conveniently located nearby, with a slew of restaurants and cafe available all around the area. Gallery Lafayette is about 15-20 mins by foot (or two metros) away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinusKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over new year, found the hotel to be in a great location for being able to go out and explore Paris by foot without needing a taxi.
The rooms are on the small side but I managed and that was with two people staying there with suitcases and realistically wherever you stay in Paris room sizes are going to be similar.
It's all modern and very nicely decorated. We had a nice balcony so I would recommend asking for a top floor room (same price).
The bathroom was also faultless and had a very nice walk in shower with complimentary 'Korres' products that were replenished daily.
We didn't opt for the breakfast but found there were plenty of bakeries close by selling amazing fresh Viennoiseries (croissants and pastries)
Would recommend this hotel for anyone going to a Paris for a break at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plymouth_PhilE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 whole week. The location of this hotel was great. It's near subway stations, restaurants, market, and a self serve laundry. The staffs at the reception and the breakfast bar were friendly and nice (not very good English though). The breakfast only had a small selection and was the same everyday. So you get bored about the food. Ok, now the room and the service.

The hotel room was small (typical in Paris I guess). The entire hotel was recently re-fubished, therefore, the room was very new. However, even the room was modern, it lacked storage! My husband and I only had one small luggage each (carry-on size) and one small bag, still we had difficulties with storage. The room was clean only if you could get the cleaning service everyday. I mean, we left hotel around 10 every morning to do our day tour and back to the hotel around 4-5 in the afternoon. We found that our room was not cleaned by that time! So we couldn't get fresh towels or other supplies. The bathroom was extremely small, my husband could barely turn around in the shower (he's 6.1ft, 200 pounds, I wouldn't say he is over weight or anything). By the way, the bathroom had serious draining problem! When we took showers, the water wouldn't drain and usually covered my ankles. My husband got irritated when going in showers. Last, the hotel claims as a "eco-friendly" hotel, therefore there was not air-conditioning in the room! (My bad didn't check carefully before we go and I thought spring in Paris is not hot!) Also, you can't really open the windows for air because it would be very noisy. So, it became a big problem for us. If you want to go in summer, think before you book this hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't any air-conditioning in the rooms, think before book, especially in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We visited this Hotel last weekend following various revues on Trip Adviser. Hotel location was excellent being very close to Follies Bergere Theatre (currently being re-furbished) and Metro Stations. Hotel 'ultra modern' in decor but spotlessly clean rooms and public areas. Staff polite and friendly. Rooms were, typical for Paris, extremely small and lacked ANY storage space for clothes, only a couple of open shelves. Absence of hanging space for clothes meant we went out and purchased coat hangers to avoid using the t.v. as hanging space! This must be addressed by this Hotel as for any longer stay this absence of space would prove a major irritant! Suitcases were in the way all the time! Breakfast very good although, again, seating space was limited. Would recommend this Hotel for a short stay due to above comments on storage space.

Room Tip: Rooms on Hotel frontage could prove noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#969 of 1,809 in Paris
259 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#391 of 1,809 in Paris
413 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#633 of 1,809 in Paris
688 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#421 of 1,809 in Paris
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Folies

Address: 14 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,270 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $100 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers will be pleased to discover the cozy and friendly atmosphere of Maxim Folies! This boutique hotel 3 stars with a modern decoration offers a comfortable accommodation and also a delicious breakfast buffet composed of fresh products, and homemade preparations served in a bright room open on the street. Situated in the center of Paris, between the Opera Garnier and the Gare du Nord train station, Maxim Folies is served by 4 metro lines, and all around theaters and restaurants crowd in this district so lively day and night! And for shopaholics, the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps are really close by walking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing