We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, absolutely delicous food! A Paris gem!”
Review of Pouic-Pouic - CLOSED

Pouic-Pouic
Price range: $33 - $56
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: Discover Pouic Pouic, a brand new restaurant in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, its surprising and delicious cuisine, cooked to perfection, made exclusively with fresh seasonal products. Take a look at its beautiful wine list where some of the best vintages are listed beside excellent small producers wines.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly service, absolutely delicous food! A Paris gem!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked online because of the Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. To start, we ordered the sublime pumpkin soup with croutons and almonds; the perfect, citrusy shrimp tartare with avocado; and the delightful scallops carpaccio with beets which quickly sold out. The place was quiet at 7:30 but quickly filled up - a reservation is a must. For the main course, we ordered Angus sirloin with mushrooms (earthy, lovely); braised beef cheeks on parsnip puree (flavorful, delicious), and cod with pomegranate and coriander (perfectly cooked, well-seasoned, Asian vegetables extremely flavorful). For dessert, do not miss the house-made millefeuille (napoleon) with vanilla cream and salted caramel. The lemon tart with blood orange ice cream was also delicious. The service was incredibly helpful and energetic. We were introduced to the the chef, who is visible in the open kitchen. He deserves to be successful given the friendly atmosphere and the delicious, inventive food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcnl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    147
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
260 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Small, loud and tasty.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very Parisian upper grade bistrot like with excellent food. Salade de sot l'y laisse, not very common. Very good meat and vegetables. Smiling pro service. Must reserve.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisRogerDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a excellent meal in lovely surroundings. The food and service was of the highest quality. All our friends were well catered for by very understanding staff in a very relaxed yet professional way. I will certainly go again on my next trip to Paris.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnStiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy and cosy”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The food was delicious (snails, pork tenderloin with lentils, scallops with mashed carrots). And the service was helpful.
We had a table next to the bar, perfect ! When you book, mention that you do NOT want the table next to the toilet door.
And do not forget to talk to the cook before you leave, he works in an open kitchen and deserves to be complimented.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natclav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly superb”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We ate here on my girlfriend's birthday. Had an exceptional two course meal - lovely steak for me and very light fish for her, followed by the millefeuille (don't come and not have this). The wine list was comprehensive, ranging from the expensive to the cheap. We had a reasonably priced Medoc which fit the bill nicely. When the maitre-d learnt it was her birthday (and we had already paid by this point, which whilst on the subject was only just over €100), he brought two glass of bubbly - a very nice touch.
I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough - its renown is spreading - we had a German couple on one side and an American couple on the other. Get in before it gets too busy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ce9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pouic-Pouic also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing