We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good place to stay in Paris”
Review of Luxelthe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxelthe
Ranked #24 of 133 Paris B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay in Paris”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a very quiet street in the just by Plaçe Pigalle, where you can take line 2 to almost any place in Paris. The staff is really nice and helpful and the room was incredibly clean, comfy and flooded with natural light. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The views from the fifth floor are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank totemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    129
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
17
112
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
272 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a good budget hotel if you're not fussy. The room is small but relatively new and clean. I don't mind the five floor of stairs as they kindly transport my luggage for me. The reason why cleanliness is average as a saw a couple of stains on the towels but didn't bother me significantly. Very quiet even if it is right at Montmartre. I didn't mind the seedy area as you don't even need to pass by those shops. The Metro was a 2 minute walk!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is very good for the price we paid (70 euros a night). Very good.

Located right at the top of the road facing the metro station, so great for transport. Also right near a bus station. Right down the road from Moulin Rouge (maybe a 5 minute walk, 10 if you are slow or want to take in the scenery of erotic shops).

I was worried about staying in this area due to its reputation but we felt very safe in our hotel and surrounding area.

The decor is dated, but our room was clean and looked like a relatively new bathroom. I think the hotel could enhance visitors first expectations by buying some new bedding and adding a lick of paint to the room.

The staff always spoke general English, the man who greeted us, i think owner or manager, was extremely helpful, taking time to take us outside and showing us where to go for dinner, advising us on getting about and warning us about pick pockets.

The maximum time we spent in the room was 10 hours, 8 of which we were sleeping. So if you are coming to Paris to see Paris and not a room, then this is perfect for you. Check out isnt until 1, which helped us massively as we went to the Louvre on our last day without worrying about our bags. The only reason i didnt give this 5 stars was because of the decor!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and, for Paris, was good value but most importantly in a great location. It is in a fairly quiet street between 2 busy ones and only minutes from 2 metro stations. Bus #67 was also a good find. Leaves from Place Pigalle and goes right through the city and return.Same ticket as the metro but much more interesting. Montmartre is full of activity (restaurants, shops etc) and of course the famed Sacre Couer and Moulin Rouge. The hotel itself was in a poor physical state with no elevator but our room was clean and adequate and the bathroom had been renovated. There was no airconditioning but there was an opening window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

just stayed for two nights,this is a nice clean hotel in a great position, only one minute away is the metro station.The luxelthe does not look to have much about it as you enter the lobby but once you go up the spiral staircase it becomes very pleasant lots of light and very bright,the room was very clean and good size also.The hotel rooms have recently all been renovated to a good standard,the staff were also warm and welcoming.The area is very safe with a great choice of cafes restraunts shops etc,both metro stations pigalle and abbessess are only yards away,all in all for less than 60 euros a night the luxelthe offers great value.

Room Tip: a room at the back enjoy and watch the sun go down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevedgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We picked the Luxelthe based upon the reviews on TripAdvisor and our budget.
We emailed the hotel prior to our arrival requesting a room on the first floor because we are both in our seventies. We got an email reply assuring us that we would be given said room.
From: Mokrane Oumessad <luxelthe@yahoo.fr>
Sent: Sat, April 21, 2012 7:19:41 PM
Subject: Re : Room accessibility

ok first floor
regards
Mokrane

Upon arrival we were assigned a room on the second floor which was very difficult for both of us. Our room faced out on an inner space and part of the building is in the process of being gutted and remodeled so we could not open the window because of all the plaster dust being stirred up by the construction even though we were roasting in a tiny room. We requested a room change and even wrote an email to the management because the people at the desk claimed that they could not change our room.
The next day we were assigned a room on the first floor in the front which was much better. No dust, no construction noise at 8:30 AM to wake us up and the room was not so tiny. Only thing was that because it was warm at night and we needed to open the window for air, we had lots of street noise mostly generated by the night man in the hotel who stood under our window talking loudly to his friends.
On our last night we requested a wake-up call so that we could be sure to get to the airport on time. The night man FORGOT! and we nearly missed our plane.
The day men were pleasant and helpful and the maid was excellent! The night man (very young man) seemed to have no regard for his job or respect for the residents in the hotel.

Room Tip: Wait until the construction is completed and then choose a room that doesn't face the street bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thalassa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Firstly, we only settled on booking Luxelthe after many days of endlessly searching over-priced accommodation across the whole of Paris, so we weren't expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is in great condition even though the exterior does not do it justice. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern with strong wifi access. The host was extremely helpful on arrival and was also helpful with other questions that we had for him during our stay, which we were very grateful for. The area never felt dangerous to us day or night, however the Pigalle strip just below the hotel would probably be best avoided for those who dislike "seediness". The immediate area around the hotel has plenty of restaurants and cafes for a diverse amount of budgets! The metro station Abbesses is right up the street from the hotel and makes using the metro more enjoyable as it is the original artist's design from when it was first built. Overall, I would definitely recommend Luxelthe to anyone interested in staying in the Montmartre area of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ireland_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#25 of 133 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Montmartre
Le Grand Hotel de Clermont
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel du Roussillon
Hotel du Roussillon
#38 of 133 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
A Room in Paris
A Room in Paris
#16 of 133 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#42 of 133 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Bed And Breakfast Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxelthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxelthe

Property: Luxelthe
Address: 13 rue Houdon, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Luxelthe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In between the Sacré Coeur and the Moulin Rouge, the Luxelthe Hotel benefits from a great location in the Montmartre aera .Following a complete renovation, the LuxeHotel is perfect for a business trip or tourism ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Luxelthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxelthe Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing