We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #22 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

As the title says, a fantastic hotel in a great central location to explore Paris. From the start the service was impeccable and Caroline, Willman and the rest of the team could not do enough to ensure our stay was a special experience. If I ever return to Paris, this is where I would stay.
We had the good fortune to be offered the Opera room after staying two nights in the Eiffel Room just so we could "Experience something different". It was and I would recommend either as both were immaculate in lay out, comfort and cleanliness.
This option was offered at no extra cost !!!

Room Tip: We had the good fortune to be offered the Opera room after staying two nights in the Eiffel Room jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Theo283, I am very grateful for your lovely review about our hotel and the service you received. Be assured that we will continue to work to ensure that you find the same level of service during your next stay with us! We are always delighted to make you discover our different room themes during your stay and it is and will always be offered at no extra cost. I look forward welcoming you again. Kind regards, Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    267
    37
    13
    1
See reviews for
55
1,070
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

if you are looking for a well located boutique hotel then this is definitely one to consider.

Likes
- Location, walking distance to Printemps and so excellent local restaurants
- Service, the counter staff were amazing. Very helpful and very quick, going beyond the call of duty. Just what you want in boutique hotel
- Powerful showers

Dislikes
- the "theming" of the rooms is lacking in execution, apart from a blanket throw and some decorations it seems more of a marketing gimmick but that was ok
- the rooms are tiny. When I say tiny I mean you cant fully open a suitcase anywhere in the room.
- The gym was also tiny and badly equipped. Its ok if you want to just do a quick run but anything else forget about it. Also the room was super hot, no extra air con and right next to the sauna so everytime someone opened the door it sent the temperature up some more

Overall I am glad we stayed but would probably book somewhere else next time I come but you should experience it once for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Manager at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear thekyd, thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor and for your very kind words regarding the service you received. Be assured that I will share your satisfaction with the team. Regarding the theme you stayed in, which I understand from your description was the Trocadero (the only room with a blanket at the end of the bed), it actually has a bit more than this blanket :). This room was inspired by the "Palais de Chaillot", a building considered as a chef d'oeuvre from the "Art deco" period. Behind your bed, you can find a reproduction of the windows of this building. The entire room was decorated with art déco furniture, all in black & gold, the signature colors at that time. The carpet of your room was also specific to this room, also black & gold, along with the curtains.
Our gym has one treadmill, 2 bikes and one multi-exercice equipment. There is extra air con in the room, we would have been delighted to help you cool down the room, should you have asked us during your stay.
I would be delighted to show you our Atelier D'Artiste room during your next visit, it is the largest room of the hotel and I am sure you would enjoy its size! I look forward to it. With kind regards, Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

First I would like to point out that it is my first negative review of an hotel, but I really wanted to warn people going to this hotel that the bathroom has no privacy with glass windows even for the toilets which can really put you off.
We most probably have not been lucky but we had to change 3 times of room. First time because the shower was not working, then because the room given to us was already booked and were only given only an hour to move to another room as they forgot to tell us.
Despite the nice staff and very good location we will for sure never come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AureliaAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear AureliaAndre, thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. As difficult as it was for me and the team to read that you were disapointed, it is also how we can learn from our mistakes and improve. I would like to start by apologizing for the discomfort you encountered during your stay with us. We tried to make up for it while you were still with us but I understand that champagne, rose petals and chocolates did not change the fact that you had to room move twice.

Regarding tranparency in our bathrooms, it is part of the design of the rooms and isn't something that we hide at all. I would like to highlight that the transparency is partial and only above 1m30. Our only objective is that our guests enjoy their room, which is why we are delighted to answer any question regarding our rooms prior to making a booking.

As we mentionned to you upon your departure, we would love to have a second chance and welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We came to Paris 9 years ago for our 1st wedding anniversary and stayed in a budget hotel whilst seeing all the attractions. For our 10th anniversary we wanted to return to this beautiful city and stay in a romantic boutique hotel. When we saw the themed rooms of places we'd visited , we knew this was the hotel for us.
The hotel was so beautiful - everywhere! We felt detached from the outside world from the moment we stepped inside the building. We cannot speak highly enough of all of the staff here who go out of their way to help you. The building is beautiful throughout but the bathrooms.... Oh my goodness!
We were lucky enough to stay 3 nights in 3 different themed rooms. Moulin Rouge (deep red setting,very sexy!) Trocedero (biggest bubble bath ever) and Eifel Tower room with crackle sparkle glass throughout the shower. The lighting in each room was beautiful. We didn't realise there was a mini bar in each room stocked with fresh orange and water and each time we moved room the bar was re-stocked !
The staff are keen for visitors to mention that the rooms here are small but I think it's more important to mention the showers are huge and indulgent - more than enough room for two !
We strongly recommend this hotel if you're a couple looking for a romantic resting place in between seeing this city's beauty.
We would love to return !!

Room Tip: Take a couple of CDs,if you still have any! There's a player in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear loveareview, how romantic to come back to Paris on your 10th wedding anniversary! I am very grateful that you chose our hotel on such occasion and thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you are a fan of our bathrooms and its XL shower :) I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you before your 20th anniversary:). With kind regards, Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

How do you describe perfection? From the moment we checked in, we were in heaven. The hotel was initially chosen to celebrate my boyfriend's 50th birthday and little did I know we would become engaged a day after that. Throughout our entire stay the staff was so incredibly sweet and accommodating - helping me pick the perfect place for Van's birthday dinner and even sending up a little birthday gift for Van. The best part? Their well-wishes were the first we received when we became engaged the next day. The bottle of bubbles was even more appreciated! I couldn't believe how lucky we were to have chosen such a fantastic place in Paris to start our lives together. All couples out there considering this hotel, book it right now. You won't be disappointed. Thanks again to everyone who made our first trip to Paris so special. We'll definitely be back soon! Tiffany & Van

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffHoll19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Tiffany & Van, it was a great pleasure for the team & myself to meet you and your husband to be :) Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us. We always feel very privileged to be the witness of what will be one of the happiest moment in your life! We wish you a wonderful life together and we hope that you will come back soon as Mr & Mrs! With kind regards, Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Loved our 5 day stay at the hotel. The one thing better than the room design and amenities (awesome jacuzzi tub) was the incredibly nice and helpful staff. Every person I interacted with was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RikReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband booked the hotel in January for my 40th birthday. We're fairly well travelled and I usually book our trips, so I didn't know what to expect. He did not disappoint with this gem of a hotel

The hotel is lovely and well maintained. The bathroom was fantastic with a double jacuzzi bath, but the staff are the icing on the cake! Incredibly polite, helpful, generous and probably the best personalised service we've received in any city! They were simply superb and made such a difference to our stay in Paris.

The hotel location was fantastic too, only a 10 min walk to the Montmartre district, full of lovely independent bars / restaurants. Also only a few mins walk to the metro station too, easily accessing all over Paris

You won't go wrong with this hotel and we plan to visit again soon. To summarise a fantastic 4 star hotel with genuine 5 star service

Thanks for making our stay so special

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwins2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ashwins2011, what a lovely comment, thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel & the team! I am happy that we could help your husband prepare a wonderful suprise for your birthday :). We all look forward to your next visit, see you soon! Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#48 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#16 of 1,810 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#24 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#10 of 1,810 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
#32 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Le 123 Sebastopol - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Property: Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Address: 2, rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Paris
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#92 Business Hotel in Paris
#117 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing