We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #21 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid July... we couldn't have wished for a better hotel, the staff were superb, friendly, attentive and welcoming! We stayed on the discovery package where you switch rooms each night, night 1 was in Moulin Rouge, night 2 in Eiffel Tower and night 3 in Opera. Opera was our favourite thanks to the Jacuzzi bath, closely followed by the amazing shower in Eiffel Tower, but all three rooms were excellent, the staff have put a lot of thought into them. I would recommend the discovery package, it pays to pack light as you have to live out of your suitcase but it was so nice to come back each day to a new room. We had room service on the first night and the food was excellent, breakfast was very nice as well, a typical continental style spread with plenty of coffee and fruit juices available. The location is ideal, it's in a quiet side street a couple of minutes walk from Place de Clichy Metro station and from there you can easily get to any of the major tourist spots in Paris. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Discovery package is worthwhile as you get to sample a few of the different room themes, each with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gareth,

Thank you for a wonderful review about our little Secret as well as sharing the great pictures you took with the travellers'community.

Each team member reads the reviews daily and you can't imagine how a review like yours enlightens our day. You still have 3 more concepts to discover and we would love to welcome you during your next parisian journey!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    285
    39
    14
    1
See reviews for
60
1,206
47
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Secret de Paris for 3 nights on the Discovery Package and loved the experience we had. We had the opportunity to stay in the Eiffel Tower room, the Moulin Rouge room, and finally, the Musee d'Orsay room. The rooms were all wonderfully sexy, each with their own charm. However the Musee d'Orsay and Eiffel Tower room were probably our favorites in terms of design and space. The little things made it so much more fun fun - glass interior elements, interesting washroom/shower design, and various lighting options.

We arrived on a Sunday, mid-evening, for a late check-in and were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm. Everything was explained to us and we were escorted to our first room during which we learned about the hotel. The staff was helpful and eager to suggest places to go, restaurants at which to dine, and things to see. Every time we would return from long days of walking/exploring we would be greeted warmly. The staff always made sure to ask if there was anything they could do to make our stay even more wonderful. It is a shame we did not have the time to take advantage of the beautiful sauna and steam room.

Given that most restaurants are closed on Sunday in Paris, they were able to direct us to a few places that would be open, and suggest what ended up being the most magical first night in Paris that we could have asked for. It turns out that we had arrived on Bastille Day, and there would be fireworks at Place du Trocadero and an Eiffel Tower light show. What a night!

We had a couple of early mornings due to tours we had booked, so we had breakfast twice at the hotel. It was quite good, albeit a bit overpriced. Breakfast offered a nice variety of cheeses, fruits, yogurts, breads/pastries, confitures, cold cuts, smoked salmon, and freshly squeezed juices.

The location was not bad - close to the metro and within walking distance to a few nice walking streets, cafes, and restaurants.

To anyone going for their first time I would recommend the discovery package as it was a lot of fun. Keep in mind that you will not be able to unpack and will be living out of your suitcase night to night. While it was a bit of an inconvenience to live out of a suitcase for the three nights I would not trade the experience. The staff made the transitions easy and having a different themed room each night was so much fun. I will definitely be returning! Though the next time I will consider picking a single room to stay in so that I can unpack and settle in for the duration of my stay.

The staff made us feel special and attended to our every need with smiles and enthusiasm. The rooms were fun, romantic, and sexy. Overall an excellent experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed in many different, boutique hotels in Paris so far but this one was definitely the one that I would strongly recommend. First of all - good location, relatively close to the center with the nearest tube station 5 minutes walking distance. All (not too big but very clean) rooms designed to discover different "secrets of Paris": from Tour Eiffel to Trocadero and very stylish Moulin Rouge (excellent for couples:-). The idea is to change your room every night (depending on availability) and discover more climate of the French capital. Nice, modern design with lots of glass interior elements (including bathroom wall). Breakfast (with freshly squeezed orange juice) served until 11.00 so you can stay in bed a bit longer.... Great, helpful staff and fast, free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlicjafromLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear AlicjafromLausanne,

I am very grateful that you took the time to write such a good review of our hotel.
I am pleased to read that you noticed so many details about our decor. The discovery package is great for a first stay with us. I am sure that you now have a favorite theme and we hope that you will tell us about it for your next visit.

Best regards,

Willman LAZO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Secret has a special place in my heart. Three years ago, my husband proposed in Paris and we were fortunate to stay in this lovely little boutique hotel. The warmth and service blew our mind in 2010, when without expecting it, we were brought flowers, a bottle of champagne, chocolate, fruit and other treats at 3AM after returning from the Pont des Arts proposal.

Could it be as incredible as it was back then even when they're not so 'secret' anymore? ABSOLUTELY! Still incredibly warm and welcoming service, beautiful rooms (we stayed in the Eiffel Tower) and this time, got an array of rose petals to mark the anniversary of our return. While the service at the Four Seasons is legendary, I must say, Secret de Paris is on par. P.S. Breakfast is still quite spectacular and worth including with the cost of the room.

Room Tip: The staff are so friendly and accommodating. I'm sure they'll do everything possible to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank templebar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. We were in search of jazz clubs and Laurie the receptionist was also a jazz singer so very helpful.
Rooms very comfortable and we can be a bit picky. Not in the heart of tourist sites which was fine with us. However we often walked to the hotel from the metro stop after midnight and never felt any unease. Actually some good non touristy restaurants in the area as well. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgilles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The idea of "secret" repeats itself throughout this beautifully appointed boutique hotel. Doors open to spaces leading to other doors. Rooms are different from each other, reflecting different Paris landmarks. The voice in the elevator whispers the floors in English and French. When you arrive, they sit you down in the sort of lobby bar for an aperitif. Very cool! We negotiated for a 1/2 bottle of wine. If you know Paris, location is between Opera and Montmartre -- not the place to be if you are a first time visitor and want the action of the Left Bank -- howevera great choice for those returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear flg1945,

I am very impressed by how carefully you listened & remembered some of the secrets we share with you upon your arrival! Thank you for sharing some of them with the traveller's community.

It is the first time that I read a good feedback about the elevator lady ;) I will speak on her behalf: Merci de vos compliments / Thank you for your kind words

A très bientôt!

Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Secret de Paris for 4 nights while in Paris. The staff was very nice and most spoke very good English. They were very helpful, giving us directions and booking a taxi for our return trip to the airport. Our room was the Trocadero. It was my last choice but we ended up enjoying it. The room is small but well decorated and clean. The only problem I had with the room was the shower. There was no shower curtain so if you used the handheld shower, water sprayed everywhere into the bathroom. If you used the rainshower (which was nice) there wasn't enough water pressure to rinse the shampoo out of your hair. The jetted tube was very nice, we soaked our sore feet in it several times! The breakfast was lacking, but I am picky and pregnant so I couldn't eat the lunch meats or cheeses they served at breakfast. They also undercook their eggs in Europe, so the scrambled were soupy and the "hard" boiled we asked for were actually soft boiled. The location of the hotel was very good. We were very close to the metro stop Place de Clichy. I was worried about how long it would take us to get to the main attractions in Paris (ex. Lourve, Eiffel Tower, etc.) but it didn't seem to take long at all. The subway system is a little confusing but we would plan our trip before we left and had no problems. Overall we enjoyed the hotel, and I would consider staying here if we ever went back to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ward103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ward103,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such detailed feedback following your stay with us. I am glad that you ended up enjoying your Trocadero room and it's black and gold colors!

Kindly note that we do not have shower curtains for hygienic reasons. Nevertheless, the glass panel protects about half of the bathtub but I totally understand that some water might sprayed out. If that happens, a quick call at the front desk and we will run upstairs to wipe out the undesired water!

I have noted your remarks about the eggs and I will highlight the importance of well cooking eggs for pregnant women to the breakfast team!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your soon to arrive baby in the future!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#31 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#10 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Property: Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Address: 2 Rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#92 Business Hotel in Paris
#117 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing