We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #22 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were traveling to Paris in November 2012 for 5 days with my husband, and he has booked this hotel considering the good reviews on Tripadvisor. All in all we were satisfied with the hotel with some reservations. Here comes our review:

Rooms: In Paris everything is "Petit", so are the rooms of Secret de Paris! We had the Opera room as far as I remember. Each and every room has a concept in Secret de Paris and rooms have everything you may need. A mini bar, good but small storage space for clothes and a really nice bathroom with Jacuzzi. In a metropol like Paris, suffering from lack of water, I find having jacuzzi in the room a great luxury! The complementaries provided in the bathroom where also in high quality.

Location: This is the reason why we would stay again in Secret de Paris! Close to Opera, Moulin Rouge,Galerie lafayette, and all shopping attractions, close to Montmartre and French local bistros! Great location for walking trips and also super easy access to public transportation! Superb location!

Restaurant and food: We did have neither breakfast nor dinner at hotel ,so no comment.

Service: Informative and helpful staff, only disappointment was the bad restaurant tipp from reception- L'arome:(

Leisure: Hotel provides small but nice sauna, steam room facilities and training area. We have used it, and it was clean and nice.

Price Performance: It is Paris, not everything is "that" expensive but the accomodation! As I have mentioned my husband has booked the room, if I was booking I would not have paid for a 16 sqm room even in Paris €280 per night! So price performance is not satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaseminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Yaseminb,

Greetings from Secret de Paris! And thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.I am very thankful for your kind words about our Hydromassage bathtub and I am delighted that you found our location so convenient to visit Paris.
I was suprised to read your disappointment regarding the restaurant L'arome, it is a one Michelin star restaurant with excellent reputation (on Tripadvisor as well) and we only recommended it because we have had great feedback from our guests. I am really sorry that your experience there wasn't satisfactory and we will certainly contact them and investigate further.
Kindly note that our prices always include 24hours access to our steam room and sauna and that they depend on your dates of stay. If you contact us prior to your next visit, we will be delighted to guide you towards a more attractive period.

We look forward seeing you soon!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    289
    39
    15
    1
See reviews for
61
1,227
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose this hotel, as it was well rated; however, we were quite disappointed with our experience. The good news is that the staff is friendly and helpful. They try to point you in the right direction.

The rooms appear new, but there are several limitations. The room is quiet and dark, in part due to the window opens up to a wall that is about 6 feet away. The room has standard built in cabinets with small places to store your stuff. The tv is inserted in a cabinet at the base of the bed. You have to use a remote to bring it up from its cubby hole. The tv can only be viewed from the bed alone. The bathroom wall is made from glass, so one cannot be too shy when showering. Lighting in the bathroom was a bit odd. They use blue lights similar to those in nights clubs to illuminate the space. Perhaps the lighting is used to hide some of the hair that was left in the tub. The biggest complaint for us was the bed. The mattress must have been well used, as there is a depression in the middle. So when sleeping (if you are able to sleep), you will find yourself sinking to the middle bumping into your bed mate. The linen of the bed does not seem to fit the bed, so you will find the sheets also in the middle. They also only give you one pillow each. There were no other pillows in the room to use for sleeping or fill the depression in the middle. It certainly did not lead to a good sleep.

The hotel is described as 4 stars, as there are a number of amenities including a gym and sauna. I am not sure who would use the gym, as it must be 30 degrees in the basement - too hot for most. There is no real restaurant, just a bar/breakfast area. I think that the hotel is over-rated on Tripadvisor, I am not sure how this hotel received such good reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZuZu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Zuzu P,

Your feedback is very valuable and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review as well as for your nice comment about our staff.

I really regret that you did not inform us about your discomfort when we inquired about your first night with us at breakfast time as we would have changed your room immediatly. I apologize if we did not make you feel comfortable enough to let us know that your Musée d'Orsay room was not what you expected.

Our gym has air conditionning which does not function permanently. However, the temperature is lowered in 5 minutes once we switch it on.

Your remark about the mattress is of a great concern to me and be assured that we will investigate and replace it if necessary.

Finally, we do not have a restaurant in our hotel but room service is at your disposal from 7.30pm until 11pm at night. Otherwise, there are plenty of lovely restaurants around our hotel which our reception team will be delighted to book for you.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

With kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed the week following Easter. We arrived early so they held our bags gave us a map and allowed us to explore until the room was ready. Service is outstanding Willman and Veronica(?) were especially helpful in confirming reservations, laundry and getting us ready for our trip to Rome. The breakfast is good take advantage of that at least once but go out and find local patissiries to experience breakfast.

Our.room the D'Orsay was greatly furnished though with this being a boutique hotel the rooms are "cozy" the bath is great though small. But this is to be expected not only that you shouldnt.be spending much time in the hotel anyhow!

The location is close to Moulin Rouge and buses metro's and taxis, of which the front desk is glad to direct you to.

We can not say enough about this wonderful hotel. Be sure to try the sushi place next door their kabobs are to die for good!

A big thanks to secret de Paris and their entire staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeeferSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear KeeferSchultz,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for taking the time to write such a lovely rewiew about our hotel and service. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed our neighboorhood and really lived like a Parisian in the 9th disctrict!

I hope you had a lovely time in Rome as well and that we will be seeing you again in the future.

A big Hello from Will, Viorica and the entire SDP team!!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small room but had everything we needed. Good wi fi, super shower and jacuzzi. Really appreciated complimentary water and juice in bedroom fridge. Good location. Very helpful reception staff. will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ghilly55,

A short review for which I am extremely thankful! I am thrilled that our hotel lived up to your expectations. Thank you also for your kind words about the reception team, be ensured that I have communicated your satisfaction to each one of them. Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great location. Staff is great by Paris standards. Great choice of rooms and beds are comfy. Wifi works great. Breakfast ok but better to have it in a local cafe. Great small gym and love the sauna and steam room. Let staff know one hour in advance so they can start it up. This is a great little hotel. Don't expect 5 star amenities. But quality price is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Nicola,

I am grateful that you took the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Thank you for highlighting all our facilities, I just want to add that we only need a short 30 minutes to heat up the sauna and the steam room for you.

Our breakfast buffet offers a large selection with cold cuts, fresh fruits, smoked salmon, muffins, cereals, “brioche”, pancakes, pastries freshly delivered from the bakery as well as eggs cooked on demand the way you like them and unlimited hot drinks as well as freshly squeezed Orange Juice. We are also lucky to be surrounded by lots of great cafés and I am glad you enjoyed them.

We hope to welcome you again to Secret de Paris in the future.

Warm regards,

Viorica CENUSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just returned from a week in Paris where we celebrated our anniversary. Our stay at Secret de Paris was wonderful. We stayed in the lovely Opera Garnier room with a very comfy bed and a jacuzzi to soothe our muscles after a long day of walking the streets of Paris. The best thing about the hotel was the generous help offered by the staff. (Thanks Wilman for all your help with our dinner reservations, and never making us feel like we were imposing). The location was not in the heart of the major sights, but I thought this a plus and gave us a sense of what it was like to live in Paris. We especially loved the boulangerie on the next corner where we had delicious croissants, coffee and pastries each morning. Having the metro 2 blocks away was also a plus. Would not go anywhere else; can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurasaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Laura,

Greetings from the team at Secret de Paris! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. I am thrilled that our hotel and team contributed to great memories of the city of lights.

Your kind words about the staff were greatly appreciated, it was Willman’s pleasure to assist you with dinner reservations.

The boulangerie from the next corner was flattered to be mentioned by guests coming all the way from New York:)

I look forward to your next visit to Paris and welcoming you again to Secret de Paris.

Yours Sincerely,

Viorica CENUSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I Booked this hotel for 2 nights over the Easter weekend for my girlfriends birthday. We were very excited based on the reviews. I was slightly disappointed on arrival that we had been located in the Eiffel Tower room on the 4th floor which had no jacuzzi (there are 4 rooms in the hotel that don't have one even though they are priced the same). We were shown around by a very nice man who was very helpful and promised us that he'd do what he could to get us in a room the following night with a jacuzzi , "you haven't experienced secret de paris until you have tried our jacuzzi's!". There were complementary easter eggs on our bed which was a very nice touch. We were also informed that there would be no room service for the duration of our stay except for snacks and drinks as the chef had a disagreement with the owners. This is not acceptable without some form of compensation.

We rang the front desk in the morning and they notified us that they were fully booked so we stayed in the Eiffel Tower room. We felt it was slightly irresponsible of him to mention this without checking availability. We did feel a little hard done by as the place is expensive at 250 euros a night.


The room was small, very clean, lovely comfy bed. This is a room for couples only I suggest as there is zero privacy in the bathroom. Rooms are overpriced based on their size, price of hotels in the area, no breakfast included (18 euros). We have to emphasise the staff (that were available) are great, they are very helpful but this is not a 4star property (they have made the very best out of it with the decor and service). If everything had worked out, full room service, full bathroom suite then Im sure we'd be rating this place as 5 stars. When you pay 250 there is little room for disappointment.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Artiste rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sajp27,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you experience online. As difficult as it was for me to read that we did not meet your expectations, your feedback is extremely valuable as it helps us improve.

Our hotel has 9 rooms equipped with very large hydromassage showers with rainsky and this information is displayed on our website. If you have booked our hotel on a website that says our hotel only offers bathtubs, please write to me at hotel@hotelsecretdeparis.com and I will contact them immediatly to correct that information.

We always try to allocate a room with a bathtub whenever such is requested at reservation. I apologize that we were unable to change your room, I can assure you that we tried for several hours to make it happen but we were fully booked during the easter week-end and simply couldn't.

I am surprised about your remark regarding room service. We do not have a restaurant in our hotel, therefore we do not have a Chef either. It is correct that our entire room service menu was not available, however we had dishes available, just less options than usual. Also, I have checked your reservation and can confirm that breakfast was included in your room rate. Again, I personnally apologize if any other information was given to you upon arrival.

I would be delighted to speak to you in person and invite you to contact me directly. The entire team would really like another chance to welcome you a second time and turn around your opinion about our hotel.

With kind regards,

Caroline Canny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#41 of 1,802 in Paris
1,514 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,802 in Paris
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#17 of 1,802 in Paris
166 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#7 of 1,802 in Paris
211 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#12 of 1,802 in Paris
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Property: Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Address: 2 Rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#92 Business Hotel in Paris
#116 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing