We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, small hotel in excellent location. Fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #62 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Joyce Hotel for 5 nights on our first visit to Paris.

We speak only the basics of the French language, and the never had an issue communicating with any hotel staff, as they spoke English. They allowed us to check in very early after an exhausting overnight flight, and they answered questions and made dinner reservations for us. Very pleasant and made our stay very comfortable.

The hotel itself is new, and it feels new (vs. a janky renovation.) It is beautiful and light and clean. The design is so thoughtful. It is small and easy. There is no restaurant or bar, but the breakfast area is so bright and nice. The free breakfast (if you can get it) is a GREAT deal - baguette and croissants, fruit, meat and cheese, dry cereal, coffee and juice.

The rooms are not too small - plenty of room for us and our gear. Really great beds, clean spacious bathrooms, and again, plenty of light. We loved that we could have a window open all day/night to get fresh air. Our room overlooked the courtyard and had a decent view, being on the 4th floor. Free wifi was a nice bonus. Nice TVs and iPod docking station/speakers, also bonuses.

The neighborhood was perfect for us. The hotel is on a very quiet street, but is within 10 minutes (on foot) of Montmartre - lots of bars and restaurants, plenty to see and do. The hotel is 2 blocks from a metro station, also.

I would love to stay here again, should we return to Paris, and would very much recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a unique and beautiful building, well designed rooms, quiet, kind staff, all of these things. Love it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reeka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Joyce - Astotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at the Joyce for three nights in mid-October. It's not right in the center of Paris but as NYers, we're used to walking everywhere anyway! It really helped us see the entire city and it was nice at the end of the night to have a more "neighborhood" feel. Subways and buses were super-easy to access but we walked a LOT! The hotel was incredibly clean with adorable rooms that were very comfortable with just enough space for two. Breakfast was fine - nothing special but all you really need is a criossant anyway! We'd definitely stay here again, great value at about $200 US a night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Joyce Hotel is located on a quiet side street near the St. Georges metro station, just south of Pigalle. Knowing Paris, we were slightly worried about its proximity to some of the more - shall we say - colourful sights of that area, but as it turns out the area is very quiet, gentrified and safe, and we encountered no ladies (or gentlemen) of ill repute.

The hotel is stylishly decorated and modern/funky in appearance, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly small but very comfortable and quiet, and the shower/bathroom in each room is very good. There is an iron and ironing table available for borrowing at reception (at no charge), should you wish to smooth out the travel creases from your clothes, as I did.

Access to the hotel by metro is easy via either the St Georges station mentioned earlier (five minutes' walk) or Trinité (a little longer), or a downhill stroll from Pigalle, if that takes your fancy. There are also several bus routes nearby which will take you to or from most places in Paris - we got a bus just a couple of minutes away which took us right to the Hotel de Ville, and most places in Paris are within easy reach of the hotel. There are mini supermarkets nearby if you need to get anything, and plenty of theatres and restaurants within a short stroll - I recommend Fructidor, just south of the St Georges metro, for excellent, healthy food at a reasonable price. A simple buffet breakfast in the main room off the lobby is included in the room price until at least the end of the year, as a special offer.

Great price, good location, helpful staff - this hotel comes highly recommended, and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Joyce hotel is a superbly clean and comfortable hotel and we found it ideally situated for our needs ie Pompidou, Louvre, Opera Bastille. St Georges and Pigalle metro stops are both nearby and we walked when the sun shone.
We loved our room, so very quiet and comfortable. Cleanliness exceptional and breakfast plentiful. Hot drinks available whenever we wanted them.
We ate at two lovely restaurants, one a short walk away Les Coulises and one in the Bourse - Les Fines Geules
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Joyce for seven nights. It was a very modern, new hotel with great design and details. The staff was helpful. The food was good. The room was great. We look forward to staying there again when in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I like very much the rooms and their beds are extremely comfortable.service at reception is very professional.only thing breakfast is not that special.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Very cool hotel, nice decor and our room was spotless. The location is a bit off the beaten path, but close to the metro. Our only disappointment was with the restaurant recommendation from the front desk. She sent us to a tourist trap restaurant several blocks away, but we should have known that when she gave us a pre-printed card to give to the maitre'd.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#49 of 1,804 in Paris
778 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,804 in Paris
1,033 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,804 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,804 in Paris
1,448 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#100 of 1,804 in Paris
820 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#119 of 1,804 in Paris
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $129 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Astotel Hotels Group, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing