We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #56 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Hotel Joyce. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor of the hotel was lovely, very befitting of its location in a quaint neighbourhood of Paris - peaceful but still very convenient. And the room was so comfortable! It's not huge but had everything we needed and the bed was supremely comfortable. Wished we had stayed there for longer. Hope we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    636
    49
    6
    14
See reviews for
305
1,248
103
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Joyce for the first 3 nights of our Europe holiday. Having traveled from Australia, we did not get to the hotel until close to 11pm. This was no problem for the staff at Hotel Joyce - we were warmly welcomed and made to feel comfortable straight away (despite the surely-present stench of 24 hours travel).

The room was clean, comfortable and large by Parisian standards (from our previous few trips). The simple yet noticeable areas were ticked: hot shower with good pressure, comfortable bed and linen, air-conditioning and buffet breakfast. The range at breaky, while not spectacular, was pretty good. Nice cheeses (which are always a highlight of trips to Europe) and tasty espressos (pod, not machine).

The location also worked well for us as we enjoy this part of Paris. Close to Montmartre and Pigalle, as well as a Metro stop (so all of the key parts of Paris really). If you are up for a walk (like us) you can walk from the train station to the hotel (which is nice to stretch the legs after a long plane flight).

Highly recommend staying at the Hotel Joyce - we will be back there next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie_Dubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We just stayed there late July.

Pros
- We were put on the 5th floor and had a balcony- only 3 rooms have balconies.
- Customer service is amazing at this hotel- very polite, friendly, and professional. We tried to book a shuttle to the airport too late (one day before our flight) and the gentleman called 3 different places and it was midnight. Make sure to book the shuttle early as it's cheaper than a cab.
- We bought some wine to sit and drink on the balcony and the front desk made sure we had wine glasses.
- We were given maps when we checked in.
- Breakfast is good, especially the cheese! They actually make you coffee, tea, cappuccino, or mocha too.
- Excellent location as you are a 5 minute walk from Moulin Rouge and you can also walk to Montmartre. You are also a 2-3 minute walk to the St. George Metro station. You also have access to many souvenir shops so you can shop in one night and not have to carry it around all day. There are also some grocery stores nearby
- Towels are very clean! I am a germophobe and always inspect my towels very carefully before using them and every night this hotel had spotless towels.
- We were able to borrow a North American electrical converter from the front desk as my husband needed 1 with 3 holes for his business laptop and the one we brought with us only had 2.

Cons
- The bed we had was lumpy on one side- just my side- it slopped downwards but my husband's side was fine, it was hard for me to get a good sleep but my husband's love of the balcony prevented me from requesting a room change. However, if you do have a problem, tell front desk immediately as they very much care about your stay and know how to run a business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Was such a cute hotel! Very clean, the staff were great! They were very helpful and spoke good English. We got a room with a balcony. The only thing was the bed was tiny. It was only a double and wasn't great as my husband is very tall. The was was bigger then I expected. It's close to the trains and Moulin Rouge. It was about a 15 20min train ride to the heart of paris. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and chose this hotel based on very goodTripAdvisor reviews. We found the reviews to be very indicative indeed - we agree with the high ranking this hotel gets, and would definitely recommend it.

Good location, walking distance to 2 different metro lines and good service to the area by buses. Very close to Moulin Rouge, and Sacre Cour. Quiet street. Quite close to Gare du Nord station if arriving by Eurostar (cab was <€15).

Rooms are not huge but are really stylish, well appointed and cleaned well.

Breakfast was included and was a nice spread of usual continental stuff. They also have complimentary soft drinks and pastries and coffee/tea available after lunch time. Really nice touch which not many hotels offer, and very welcome after a long day.

Staff, without exception, are excellent. Very friendly, all speaking very good English, and happy to help out with anything. From our orientation session to checking out we found them to be top notch.

Considering all this the price was great value and we would love to be able to come back and stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lummers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel. The people are plesent and know English in high level.
"Very beautiful and "shick!
Next to the hotel there are markets and restaurant. More than that it is near the metro.

The barkfest was also very good.

We can't say enough about the crew, they helped us more then they needed with safe keeping of our luggage even after leaving the hotel (for 3 days) and for our friends with no charge!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Three of us stayed at this hotel from 7-10 August on a girls weekend. We arrived at breakfast time and staff came out of the hotel to greet us at the car and assist with luggage. Although check-in was at 2pm we asked if rooms were available and one was so we were able to leave our bags and were also offered a free breakfast. Plenty of choice at breakfast, but there may be a slight wait for tables when busy and it would assist the staff if they had trays to use when clearing tables! One of our party was gluten intolerant, which had been mentioned when booking, but no provision had been made. However, once we spoke to reception she was provided with gluten free bread the following day and cakes were added the day after; excellent customer care. During the afternoon through till midnight there is a selection of hot and cold drinks, cakes and fruit in the dining area to which guests may help themselves free of charge, which is a lovely touch. All staff we encountered were very friendly and extremely helpful with any questions we had about directions, restaurants, metro, etc. and even called a restaurant and booked a table for us! Rooms are comfortable and well maintained and have free wifi. The hotel itself is in an excellent location within walking distance of Montmatre and two metro stations. Disneyland Paris is easily reached by train and was 15EUR return. All three of us would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#10 of 1,801 in Paris
990 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#35 of 1,801 in Paris
1,333 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#46 of 1,801 in Paris
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#109 of 1,801 in Paris
792 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#48 of 1,801 in Paris
528 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#62 of 1,801 in Paris
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Astotel Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing