We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #55 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Anyone who has ever tried to look for good quality, reasonably priced accommodation in Paris will tell you that it is difficult to find both. The Joyce Hotel offers both. Well appointed modern rooms, beautifully designed breakfast room and great service from the front desk. We felt welcome from the moment we entered the hotel our room, the 307,the space wasn´t huge but was comfortable and had everything we needed, even a docking station for our iPhone. The breakfast is quite good (omelet, bacon, sausages, pastries, bread, yoghurts, fruits, etc) good enough anyway for a 3* hotel. The hotel offers a free soft drinks and snack bar from 13:00 until 22:00, which is excellent. The location is superb, a 10-15 minute walk from the Opera, a 10 minute walk from Sacre-Coeur and very close to nice restaurants (ask the front desk for advice). When we checked out, we got a card with a code with a discount for a future booking. In short, I recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Reserve the suite if you can afford it, or a superior if you can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luna-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    619
    47
    6
    14
See reviews for
291
1,208
98
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

As we approached hotel we were apprehensive about area but the moment we walked through doors it exceeded all our expectations. The staff especially Jennifer were wonderful. There is coffee/ tea and snacks available all day in restaurant. The room was lovely. Breakfast was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel. A highlight of our trip around Europe. Beds were so comfy. Despite initial reservations about location it was easy to get everywhere without paying the high prices of central hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel met all my expectations and more. Great value - online booking price seemed a steal for the quality of the hotel. The rooms are small as you expect in Paris, more than adequate -- very coolly decorated, amazing beds, great shower. If travelling with kids, I think you would need to book two rooms, but I noticed some adjoining rooms available.
Staff was super welcoming, and sat down with us to look at a map and orient us in our jetlagged state. We arrived in the morning after a red eye and Alice brought us coffee and croissants while she arranged to store our luggage until the room was ready. That welcome started our trip on the right note.
Location was convenient to the metro, although to be honest we preferred to walk down to the Place de la Concorde (about 30 min) and up to Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (about 20 min). Strolling about gave us many more chances to happen upon cool cafes and shops.... And when we were starving and thirsty upon our arrival "home", the snack bar was filled with yummy treats and great coffee! Breakfast was amazing too.
I would happily stay here again if I am lucky enough to be back in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinggently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt at home. The staff were lovely and samuel was a ray of sunshine. Bedrooms very clean and comfortable. Loved the free open bar from 2pm - 10pm, we were able to get cakes, biscuits, soft drinks, amazing idea. I cannot fault this boutique hotel and would recommend to anyone travelling to Paris x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjess04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a mini European vacation. We spent two nights at the Joyce hotel in Paris.
What can I say, great service, very helpful on directions around Paris, lots of smiles, great breakfast, the room and bed were very comfortable and the bathroom was large for Europe
Hemet was a great host, we will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken-lelacheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

One could debate whether to give Hotel Joyce a 4, 41/2 or 5 overall rating. Four seems too low; five might be a bit too gushy. Regardless, it should be absolutely clear that this is a great little hotel. True, some people may wish to have more bathroom hooks, access to movies, a mini bar, a place to put soap/shampoo in the shower area, etc. But, in my opinion, all of these apparent "deficiencies" are immaterial. Universally, the staff are fantastic--helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, welcoming. The hotel layout and design is a little quirky but this is to my liking--it isn't a cookie-cutter hotel. It doesn't look like so many other hotels. The refreshments available in the dining area were particularly appreciated when returning to the hotel after a day of wandering around Paris. For our first night, we were given a room on the ground floor. We weren't so keen on this room and so for our next 3 nights we were moved to the 5th floor--which was much better. And so, a huge thank you to everybody at Hotel Joyce for helping to make our time in Paris so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Apparently, there are 2 rooms on the ground floor. We only experienced one of them. However, based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chu-An209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros: Friendly service from all front desk staff. Afternoon/evening lounge open bar was very useful after a long day out. Good location near to 2 metros and #74 bus direct to Louvre. Helpful staff pre-arrival gave us lots of travel tips and helped booking restaurants. Also hotel was flexible when we had the possibility of cancellation due to French ATC strike. Pre-booked tickets for some Paris attractions to avoid the queues. Good size room for Paris, and very comfy bed (I wish I had checked the brand name so I can buy my own one). Our rate included breakfast which was always enough to satisfy. Good wifi signals and no extra charge. Helpful checkin from William who provided lots of maps and answered all our questions.

Cons: Lift is small, but we rarely had to wait long...fits 4 people without luggage or 2 with. Shower head was leaky but otherwise bathroom was fine. Some of the room doors are very stiff and could do with adjustment to make them easier to open.

Room Tip: 6th floor has rooftop views. Lift is quiet so don't worry if you are near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strelitzia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#113 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#89 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#52 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#39 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing