We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Joyce....Hoteling like a local....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #61 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was just fine. I have to preface by saying I am EXTREMELY picky, so the things that are concerns of mine are usually not a issue for most. I will also say that I generally like to stay in places that are in fact very touristy...I'm a New Yorker and feel most comfortable in the chaos.

All that being said, my thoughts: The location is just off the beaten track. Its north of the Opera by a few blocks on a quiet street. Felt more like going back to our apartment than our hotel. Its also just south of the Moulin Rouge area, which is pretty seedy. If you were the type that might rent an apartment locally, but like someone making the bed every day, this is a spot for you. The rooms were not as small as I expected and comfortable for two people. Unlike the elevator, which was 1 person at a time deal. The hotel was well kept, and given the size and the fact that it was sold out, never felt claustophobic. I do think they use a few weeks of airing out. It rained each night and there was a damp feeling all the time. Also note the A/C was off for the season, so we couldn't dry it out. We stayed in a room with a tub which was great. Definitely go with the tub over just a shower, the bathroom is slightly bigger, and its easier to keep the whole room from getting wet! I requested a room on the 1st floor (technically the second, ground floor is 0), and there was a pretty awful view intot the sky light over the breakfast room, but I opt the bad view over the steep walk up the spiral stairs any extra flights.

We aren't big breakfast eaters so didn't eat in the hotel, but it looked fine and each morning every table was taken. We did like the all day snack bar, for grabbig a juice on the way out and water at the end of the night. There is a small cafe at the end of the street that the front desk recommends (apparently to everyone as every time we passed someone fromt he hotel was there)...if you speak, well, go for it. If you don't, the staff there unfortuately justifies the rude reputation of the French. Head down towards the Opera, where while its more expensive and touristy at least the waitstaff are helpful.

I would definitley recommend the property for the right traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms with a tub slightly bigger; 1st floor opt for street facing not the breakfast room sky lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v'nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Joyce for 4 nights,and was really impressed with the size of bedrooms and bathroom, plus comfortable bed. Very good standard of cleanliness. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the bonus snacks and cool drinks during the day were a definite plus. Well located to metro and sightseeing venues. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff very helpful, especially Kevin on the front desk.
The room was ok. Beds comfortable and the room quiet.
The hotel smelled a bit like it needed all the windows opened for an airing. Bit musty.
The breakfast wasn't particularly inspiring.
We found it quite expensive for what we got, but at least the position near Trinite Church,(not too far from Opera) was quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A friend and I shared a room at the Joyce hotel in September 2012. Having stayed in Paris a couple of times I know how tiny the rooms can be so was quite surprised at the size of our twin room. It was almost like a tiny apartment with the door opening onto a hallway with the bathroom to the right and the hallway leading down to the beds and desk. Compared to other Paris rooms there was plenty of space for the both of us, our luggage and all our shopping. It was also very quiet. We couldn't hear any street noise or other hotel guests (apart from the bed squeaking on occasion in the room above us). The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom and other decor was modern. The hotel is in a good location, close to the metro. We had the hotel breakfast once, and it is pretty average, but the free snacks and drinks available are a great idea and a godsend to a tea addict when there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Joyce, made especially pleasant by the interesting and friendly staff. Everyone working there is nice and helpful, seeming to really care about you and your experience. The hotel has upbeat, unique decor. The rooms are quiet and very comfortable - a decent size (for Paris) with excellent beds. Also, this is a good value for Paris and an easy location from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJLinBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room on the 5th floor had more than enough space for 2 people. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping maintained the rooms well daily. The hotel was quiet and we did not hear any noise from the streets on our neighbours. Samuel at the front desk was warm and welcoming and helped us book a shuttle to the airport which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 4 nights at Joyce Hotel and enjoyed my stay. Their incredible staff is extremely helpful (helped making restaurant reservation and arranged airport shuttle bus for us). Location of the hotel is great. Short walk from Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Galeries Lafayette. Beds are comfy and clean. Breakfast was great as well. And free Wifi! Too bad I didn't get a chance to enjoy the free open bar (non alcoholic).

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessTsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
851 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
859 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,802 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#157 of 1,802 in Paris
1,296 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#11 of 1,802 in Paris
1,099 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#35 of 1,802 in Paris
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $126 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Astotel Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing