We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #1,509 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small hotel. Wonderful helpful and considerate staff. Just right amount of breakfast - continental. Usual plus hardboiled eggs meat and cheese. Ceareals yogurt bread croissonts jams butter. GREAT. Small room but clean and comfortable. Nice warm shower. Could open window for air but no view. Air con great for the night. V Good for the price. Just 10mins normal walk from Gare de Lyon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel whilst in transit. The one negative point was that the window could not be opened due to safety risks. There was an air conditioning unit but that would be of no use when trying to sleep. Therefore on a hot summer night, it was quite uncomfortable.
The good points, immaculate in presentation, clean and tidy breakfast area. Excellent location near to Gare de Lyon

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't compare my four stars with a four star hotel you would find outside a large, expensive city. I give it four stars because we were shocked that we could get something this affordable, yet comfortable, in the center of Paris. There were three of us, and we had three twin beds, as requested. I think our room was the anomaly with TWO FULL BATHS, because doubt all rooms had two. The room was small, but one would expect that from an inexpensive hotel in the center of Paris. The room and baths were exceptionally clean, and the beds were standard; nothing to brag about, but comfortable. The front desk service was quick, friendly, and efficient. One of the best things about this hotel is location. Bastille is a nice area, and this hotel is about three blocks from great restaurants and bars, as well as two blocks from the Bastille Metro station. It's about a 30 minute walk to Notre Dame, and also within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de Concorde, the Arch de Triomphe. We also walked to the Eiffel Tower, but it was quite a trek. We didn't eat the breakfast in the lobby (it was not included in our room rate), and there is an excellent bakery directly across the street where we had breakfast all three mornings. All in all, this is a great hotel for the price and if we were going back to Paris, we'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the patisserie across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waffie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I chose this hotel as my husband and I were visiting a relative and the hotel was on the same street as my relative.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Gare de Lyon Metro Station, which makes is ideal for exploring the city.

The booking in process was very easy with a friendly member of staff who spoke English. We were made welcome and were given good directions on how to find our room.

Our room was located at the rear of the hotel, which was ideal for us as the room was very quiet and away from any street noise.

The room was clean, fairly well equipped and comfortable. There was however no tea/coffee making facilities which wasn't a great problem for us, but may be for some people.

There is a continental breakfast available, but unfortunately I assumed this was included in the price of the room, and it is not. On checking out, I was informed that I had to pay 34 euros for 2 mornings breakfast for 2 people. Had I known it was not included in the room price, we would not have had the breakfast, as we would have bought something from one of the nearby supermarkets.

There was a TV in our room which allowed us to watch a range of TV stations (French).

A big bonus for us was the luggage storage facility which we used on our final day, which enabled us to store our suitcases in a room so that we could pick them up later on our way back to the station. However the room that the luggage was stored in is not locked, but there was no problem with our luggage being stored there.

There is free use of a computer in the breakfast area which would prove useful if you do not have your own laptop with you.

There are numerous shops, cafes and restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good base for a trip to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property as these are very quiet with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Let's face it, you are not staying around Gare de Lyon for luxury! It is only really good for the convenience- walking distance to RER and Metro station as well as Main Line SNCF trains to the south.
The hotel is small, limited, but clean and correctly appointed. On-Line deals are the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinthian1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our first disappointment was that our request to have a room with two beds, one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel, was ignored. We were given room 307 which we expected to be on the third floor but was really on the fifth floor which could only be reached using the stairs since the elevator was out of service. Once we reached our room we opened the door onto the smallest room I have ever seen and I’m used to small rooms in Europe but this set a new standard for small. The room was a double bed with a foot of space to the wall and the window looked into a “chimney” of ventilation pipes, not exactly a view. The final point of discontent was that although the hotel is proud to provide WiFi service it only works on the ground floor. In short avoid this hotel if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcdefrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#944 of 1,803 in Paris
227 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,087 of 1,803 in Paris
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#598 of 1,803 in Paris
351 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Jules Cesar
Hotel Jules Cesar
#1,143 of 1,803 in Paris
208 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#939 of 1,803 in Paris
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille

Address: 12 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,509 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is located between the « Gare de Lyon » train station and «Place de la Bastille». You will have access to the West side of Paris, les Champs Elysees and la Defense, as well as the East side toward Disneyland or the Bercy Arena POPB. You will also have access to all public transport located at « Gare de Lyon » station which will allow you to travel quickly to all the major tourist attractions of Paris. The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is located 300 metres from « Gare de Lyon » train station and 500 metres from the Seine river. The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is a non-smoking hotel. Renovated in 2016, the hotel is great value for money and open 24h per day. Ideally located for business trips as well as leisure trips, the Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille will allow you to enjoy an animated quarter during the day and festive at night with a large number of coffee shops and restaurants along streets such as « rue de Lappe » and the « Aligre quarters » all less than 10 minutes walk away. Nearby, you will find the Bercy and the Opera Bastille as well as shopping districts, «Jardin des Plantes» and «Place des Vosges». The hotel's location allows you easy access to all of Paris's historical and cultural sites. Direct access to mains shopping areas . You will enjoy the comfort of a hotel. The rooms are accessible by lift and all the rooms, from single to the family room for 4 people, have individual air conditioning. All the rooms are non-smoking, soundproofed and with the comfort of showers, Flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Family room with kitchenette. The "Comfort Rooms" offers additional welcome tray with coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing