We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”
Review of Le Court-Bouillon - CLOSED

Le Court-Bouillon
Price range: $35 - $58
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Valbonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went with the family and for our entree paid 14 Euros for 6 snails. A few days later we paid 10 Euros for a 3 course meal in the Latin Quarter. So in future I would save this for a special occasion.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank icklefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Words are not enough to do justice to this restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

For a romantic-get-away we stayed one night in Paris. As a BIG event for my girlfriend was about to happen ;-) I had to find a restaurant out of the ordinary. At TA I read that this restaurant is supposed to be the best in that area while still having a good price/quality ratio ;-) so I decided to go there.

I made reservations at their website in the morning but I didn't get any confirmation so when we arrived at our hotel I asked the hotel to check. They still had place (somehow the reservation didn't come through or so?) and when we went there I was happy that I made a reservation as the restaurant was packed with mostly locals.

The restaurant is fine dining but with an informal atmosphere. We decided to take the full menu and ordered water and wine. Wine was excellent and the food came from another world. Words are not enough to describe how well it was. What we also liked were the amuses that we got in between the meals. We weren't charged for it and after eating them we only wanted to eat more.

Unfortunately we were already so stuffed by the beautiful escargots home-made, foie gras, dorado, T-bone steak, chocolate pie and Crème brûlée that we couldn't eat anymore. In total we spent around 110 euro; even though a lot of money we felt the whole experience was worth it.

Special mention deserves the staff. Hospitality at its best and while not everyone was so fluent in English they all made the evening a very special one. When we are back in Paris we will definitely return.

We are not so sure about the closing times. The latest time mentioned for reservation is 21.30 although when we left around 23.00 people were still coming in and others still continued eating.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect neighborhood restaurant!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We live down the street. Easily the best French food in the area. Delightful service. We are thrilled to have this gem nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A Trip Advisor find, and it lived up to its rep. Very pretty family-owned restaurant. We messed up the res, and they took it all in stride. Food terrific. Worth, what might be a detour for most tourists. Although it is not near most hotels, we walked from ours near the Eiffel Tower. One note: It was warm out the week we were there, and the restaurant was warm. I presume that they have AC, but if they do, it was not on.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkarpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous food + pleasant staff =wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were staying nearby and called into this restaurant for dinner on the saturday evening. The restaurant filled up quickly and it soon became apparent why. The staff were charming and attentive, and the food was just glorious. We had a wonderful traditional french 3 course meal complete with an amuse bouche, a good wine and some dessert wine and the cost was on a par with some of our best Belfast restaurants and much better value than a lot of other Paris restaurants. I only wish we had discovered it earlier, we would have made a second trip.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Court-Bouillon also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing