We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Great roof top terrace. Rooms a bit strange”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Ranked #390 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location. Great roof top terrace. Rooms a bit strange”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

A couple of minutes walk from RER. A great location, near to the buzz of St Germain but down a quiet road off St Michel BVD. Hotel very new with inviting first impressions. Receptionists extremely helpful and polite.
We had a standard double room. Yes, it was pretty small but there was just enough room to store clothes and luggage. The beds were very comfortable and pillows were perfect.
Bathroom was adequate size and spotless. There could perhaps have been a bit more room to put toilet bags in but is that really an issue?! Shower screen leaked a bit but everything else worked well. Only possible gripe was the window into the bathroom from bedroom. There was a blind but not enough to give complete privacy - a very odd design.
We did not take breakfast option at €20 per head as there is a whole world of cafes on the doorstep to choose from.
One big hit was the roof top terrace, with stunning views across the City from all sides. We had a glass of wine each up there one night - €8.50 per glass - but well worth it for a one off. You were under no pressure to purchase anything when up there. Some people took their own booze up.
Overall, we would return to this hotel and would recommend it to friends as a fantastic and clean base from which to explore this wonderful City.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrews68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    687
    190
    44
    27
See reviews for
269
824
80
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just back from a 3 day trip to our favourite city in the world which is just as wonderful as I remember it from 2 years ago. When in Paris we always like to stay somewhere near St. Germain since although in August it is always buzzing with tourists it just has that feeling of Paris café society which most other capital cities lack.
This trip, based in large part upon the Trip Advisor reviews I had read of the Holiday Inn Notre Dame, I decided to try it out and oh boy do I wish I hadn’t!!!!!
Whilst as I say the location is great the rooms really are tiny and the layout not thought out at all. There is very little space to put anything down on a surface and in the wardrobe the hangers are the wrong way around and it is such a pain getting things in and out. I found the bed quite comfortable but sadly my partner didn’t BUT the pillows were most uncomfortable – just lumps of foam rubber.
However the worst is yet to come – the bathroom (or rather shower room) which whilst at first glance looked OK it really didn’t function and the drains stank to high heaven. In the so called bathroom there were no shelves on which one could put ones toilet bag nor indeed anything at all and there was no towel rail for the hand towels and the towel rails for the bath towels and the hand towels (as there was nowhere else to put the hand towels) was so small the towels barely fitted. Also the wash basin tap whilst again looking good was a pain to work especially with wet hands, which of course was when one was using it.
Next time Holiday Inn – spend more time and money on function rather than looks.
All in all a definite NO NO for me and maybe for many others.
Paris in the future – for ever – Holiday Inn Notre Dame in the future for NEVER!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prodwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We are finishing up our stay in Paris and we're very happy with the location of the Holiday Inn. Right outside the door are countless cafes and bars with friendly, English speaking waiters and great food. The metro (which is easy to use for even the most hesitant traveler) is very safe, a two minute walk, and tthe easiest and cheapest way to get around paris. If you get to a station and the train has already left, another one isn't more than two minutes behind it. The staff are helpful with giving maps and circling directions where/ ever you need. All this being said, we thought it was interesting that it seemed like all the guests were American too!

About the room...The hotel is brand spanking new with a quirky, modern look. For example, the motif of the entire hotel is magenta and black; the carpet in our room is even striped with those colors! We splurged for the executive room/king bed which basically means that we got a bigger bathroom because the bed is not a king at all by
American standards, and the room barely fits our two large suitcases on the floor space. From what I understand, this is a good deal of room for paris compared to other hotels. The major plus about our room is the balcony! there are two large floor to ceiling windows that open up to a balcony with a table and chairs. We were told that we wouldn't be able to see the Eiffel Tower from our room, but we have th most amazing view of it. Just sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine in hand...a beatiful view. Also in the distance is the Arc de Triomphe but you have to strain a little to see it. Either way, the accommodations were perfect for us and we don't have any complaints...EXCEPT the internet situation. WiFi is only available in the lobby, and otherwise you can hardwire your connection in your room for between 5 and 15 Euros (depending on the speed you select). Since my husband had to work while we were here, this was not great.

All in all, a great stay in Paris!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSpitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We arrived prior to check-in time, soaking wet and hoping (not expecting) a room might be available. We were told we should come back around 1300 when a room might be available. When we did return, we were told no room was available and we’d have to wait until 1400. At other Holiday Inn hotels I have never experienced this - and despite being a Priority Club member (which I later discovered is worth nothing at this hotel), we felt we were treated with contempt - ie. how dare we arrive and expect a room would be available prior to 1400 (advertised check-in time).

The girl on the front desk when we arrived was one of the rudest person's on a check-in desk we have ever come across.

The housekeeping was appalling - coffee and milk was not replenished during our 4 night stay. Our Room (611) was small, bathroom was too small - and as others have written, there is nowhere to place toiletries. The shower recess is too small, meaning water spray goes all over the floor. Style over substance?

View from room was good, view from rooftop terrace even better. The best thing about this hotel is the location - so many cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance, and plenty of souvenir shops also. It is close to Metro and RER. To be honest, these things are the hotel's saving grace.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

After we rented a house we need to stay 3 more nights in paris.We searched on expedia and found this hotel.Location is great 2 mins walk to subway.Hotel is very new inside,bed was comfortable,doesnt offer you many things,but you dont need much either.We stayed in a Eiffel tower view room.Balcony is small but nice you can see all the rooftops and eifell tower.Bathroom is small as well but romm and bathrooms were very clean.I didnt have any problem during my stay.Only thing is sometimes there are lack of staff were working in reception.But its not a big deal.Hotel has really nice terrace that you can drink some tea and look at the view.

Price point was great ,when i compare with other hotels in the area.Nice simple and clean hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erimleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I am a business traveller and I travel regularly around the world on company business. As a business person, it is always best to be well presented and that requires a freshly ironed shirt every morning. In most hotels in the world that I stay in, an iron and board is available in each room for the use of the occupant. This is NOT the case in the Holiday Inn Paris Notre Dame. There are no irons in any of the rooms and none are available from reception even if you ask.

When checking out, the printer was not working which will be a pain to claim back now unless Holiday Inn are nice enough to send me a paper copy.

Apart from that the rooms are quite nice but expensive at 220 Euros each and the breakfast is of a very good quality. The hotel is also very quiet considering the central location and it is 5 mins walk from the metro.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01forLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Perfect location, easy access to metro. Wonderful roof top garden.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#204 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#439 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#246 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#648 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
#359 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame

Property: Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Address: 4 rue Danton, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#353 Family Hotel in Paris
#354 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#465 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right in the heart of Paris at the chic Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame hotel, just 300 metres from the iconic Notre Dame cathedral. Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame is a former ministry which has been converted to a stylish eco-hotel, with energy-saving light bulbs and water recycling. Explore the Louvre museum, just a 15-minute stroll away, and take the Metro from nearby Saint Michel Notre-Dame station to the Eiffel Tower and the Champs-Elysees boulevard. Regular trains from the station deliver you to the Eurostar Terminal and airports at Paris Charles de Gaulle and Paris Orly. Neighbouring streets in the Latin Quarter are lined with bistros and enticing patisseries. Stroll from Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame to the Gothic Notre Dame Cathedral a few minutes away and visit the adjacent Jardins de Luxembourg park for a break from sightseeing. It's 30 minutes by train to events at Paris-Nord Villepinte Exhibition and Convention Centre, and 10 minutes to companies based on Avenue de France. The hotel's 3 meeting rooms have wireless Internet and room for up to 55 guests. Rise to a hot breakfast in the monochrome breakfast room at the Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame. After dark, order cocktails in the airy bar and chat to friends in the Lobby's honey-coloured leather armchairs. You can enjoy the rooftop terrace for a drink with a view of the Paris skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing