We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return to Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt
Ranked #34 of 128 Paris B&B and Inns
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
“Can't wait to return to Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am reviewing the Folie Oberkampf, another property owned by Pascal that isn't listed directly here. Pascal was very accommodating with my 9 pm arrival, and even called during the stay to make sure everything was OK. I spent five nights, four with my son and his companion. It was great to be off the regular tourist grid. The apartment was comfortable and amazingly quiet. The breakfast items provided were perfect to start our days of sightseeing. Wifi, free calls home, and a safe all added to the comfort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

First and foremost Pascal is the perfect host. His own apartment is right next door so if you need anything he is there. That said, he is in no way intrusive and leaves you to your own devices unless you ask for assistance.

The apartment itself is spotlessly clean and extremely well appointed with eveything we needed including free WIFI, plenty of extra blankets and pillows and ironing facilities. The decor is quite funky, the beds comfortable and the bathroom a good size. Despite the weather being quite chilly we were nice and warm in the apartment. There is a balcony off the kitchen and both bedrooms with lovely views.

Pascal supplied us with plenty of provisions for breakfast including milk, fruit juice, bread, cereal and ground coffee. We also made use of the fantastic bakery which is literally next door. There is also a small supermarket just down the road which has most other things you may need.

The apartment is a short distance from the major tourist attractions in Paris. A 30 minute walk will get you to Notre Dame and everything else is easily accessable by the Metro.

The only negative is that the apartment is on the fifth floor of a building with no lift. Carrying a suitcase up the stairs is no mean feat! A great balcony view is a suitable reward though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The apartment was clean, comfortable and warm. The owners were helpful and very hospitable. The apartment was very well stocked with bread, cereal, milk - in fact, the piéce de la résistance was the home-made jam. We had no need to shop for any basics!

It is centrally located with easy access to main attractions via the tourist-friendly metro, with great choice of restaurants in the local area. There was also a local street market.

It was a great place to stay to see the best of paris easily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdhipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Extremely comfortable, warm (we were there in winter) apartment, beautifully decorated and conveniently located near the metro. Very welcoming and friendly hosts who were helpful at all times, with the booking, and flexible with our arrival and departure arrangements. There is a little balcony which I can imagine would be very nice to eat breakfast on in the spring/summer. Perfect place to return to at the end of a day of visiting museums and other places in Paris. We would like to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a wonderful find. Thank you so much Pascal (and the Guardian travel). Stayed with our 3 kids (13,11 and 7) during the half term. Everything was just right from beginning to end at the wonderfully located Folie de Canal, with views of the Sacre Coeur and the top of the Eiffel Tower. So well placed for walking about Paris. Wander into the Marais region or the Bastille, or meander down to the Pompidue centre. The flat is such a home from home, with 2 great sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a really well equipped and stocked kitchen. Loved the breakfast provisions, especially the brioche and much mentioned jam. Home made, I know, but by who? The kids were so happy and so were we. The free wifi was an extra bonus. Will rave about this place and return soon x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb510161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Belated review of our stay in September...most others have covered what an outstanding spot this is in Paris so I'll only add a couple of notes. Location, comfort, views, convenience, close to metro, many restaurants nearby, full kitchen, full bathroom, hairdryer and toiletries, closet space...all this plus a safe for valuables, closet hanger and shelf space, and very convenient key codes for getting into the building so only the key for the apartment needed. The terrace has 2 bistro tables for outdoor seating and runs the length of the apartment with double door entrances from all 3 rooms. These doors have heavy inner doors that can be closed to reduce, almost eliminate, any noise from the street 5 stories below and curtains to pull to darken the rooms for sleeping if desired.
Tony covered for Pascal during our visit and was friendly, funny and helpful. This is the perfect place to stay and live like a Parisian for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Folie Canal apartment does not have its own website, so I'll review it on this one. Pascal and Pascal own this lovely two-bedroom, two-bathroom apartment located close to Folie Mericourt. My husband and I (we're in our 60's) spent 8 nights there and loved it. Cereal, bread, juice, milk, coffee, tea, yogurt and the world-famous jams were stocked for our use. The apartment is clean, comfortable, very convenient, and with the newer windows, quiet. There is a large balcony with great views. The neighborhood is great and is within a very short walk to markets, shops, restaurants, and about a five minute walk to a metro station (Republique) which serves five metro lines. Getting around Paris from there was very easy. Pascal M. was very easy to communicate with and helped arrange a car service to take us to the airport at an ungodly hour. Staying in the apartment made our stay extra-special, and we highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank enjoyslife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Villa du Square
#9 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Le Marais
Le Roi de Sicile
Le Roi de Sicile
#8 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Paris Square
Paris Square
#32 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eden Lodge Paris
#36 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Entrepôt
Le85 Paris
Le85 Paris
#21 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Le 1er Etage Opera
Le 1er Etage Opera
#5 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt

Property: Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt
Address: 20 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real "home from home" in the heart of Paris in an authentic Haussmann apartment with a large balcony. Close to the main centres of interest...an ideal way to enjoy this fantastic city in complete freedom. Capacity: 2 to 4 people, up to 6 with extra beds, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartement d`Hotes Folie Mericourt Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing