We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt
Ranked #32 of 133 Paris B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Paris”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a wonderful find. Thank you so much Pascal (and the Guardian travel). Stayed with our 3 kids (13,11 and 7) during the half term. Everything was just right from beginning to end at the wonderfully located Folie de Canal, with views of the Sacre Coeur and the top of the Eiffel Tower. So well placed for walking about Paris. Wander into the Marais region or the Bastille, or meander down to the Pompidue centre. The flat is such a home from home, with 2 great sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a really well equipped and stocked kitchen. Loved the breakfast provisions, especially the brioche and much mentioned jam. Home made, I know, but by who? The kids were so happy and so were we. The free wifi was an extra bonus. Will rave about this place and return soon x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb510161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Belated review of our stay in September...most others have covered what an outstanding spot this is in Paris so I'll only add a couple of notes. Location, comfort, views, convenience, close to metro, many restaurants nearby, full kitchen, full bathroom, hairdryer and toiletries, closet space...all this plus a safe for valuables, closet hanger and shelf space, and very convenient key codes for getting into the building so only the key for the apartment needed. The terrace has 2 bistro tables for outdoor seating and runs the length of the apartment with double door entrances from all 3 rooms. These doors have heavy inner doors that can be closed to reduce, almost eliminate, any noise from the street 5 stories below and curtains to pull to darken the rooms for sleeping if desired.
Tony covered for Pascal during our visit and was friendly, funny and helpful. This is the perfect place to stay and live like a Parisian for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Folie Canal apartment does not have its own website, so I'll review it on this one. Pascal and Pascal own this lovely two-bedroom, two-bathroom apartment located close to Folie Mericourt. My husband and I (we're in our 60's) spent 8 nights there and loved it. Cereal, bread, juice, milk, coffee, tea, yogurt and the world-famous jams were stocked for our use. The apartment is clean, comfortable, very convenient, and with the newer windows, quiet. There is a large balcony with great views. The neighborhood is great and is within a very short walk to markets, shops, restaurants, and about a five minute walk to a metro station (Republique) which serves five metro lines. Getting around Paris from there was very easy. Pascal M. was very easy to communicate with and helped arrange a car service to take us to the airport at an ungodly hour. Staying in the apartment made our stay extra-special, and we highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank enjoyslife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our party of three spent a very comfortable week chez Appartement Folie Merciourt! Metro stop is a minutes walk away, bakery next door, Le 3C next door for a fresh supper or a pop in for a glass of wine. Wine and chocolate shops a few minutes walk to Oberkampf.

The apartment is fully equipped. Loved that the light in the afternoons poured in to all rooms it set the scene for a lovely glass of wine on the patio or a little cat nap.The doors provided suprising sound proofing for a very comfortable and quiet sleep. Fridge, stove, microwave, kettle..a selection of teas, yogurts, breads, milk and orange juice. Tons of extra bedding and pillows. The apartment was spotless when we arrived. French TV channels, and a dvd player. Telephone with free calling to Canadian land lines was an appreciated bonus. Towels provided.

Pascal will set the apartment up according to the configuration you require. I was travelling with my mother and her best friend and we were very comfortable not tripping over one another.

Warning for those faint of heart the stairs will give you a work out. Getting our luggage up the stairs was a breeze thanks to help from Tony who stepped in for Pascal who was away on vacation for most of our stay. Do not worry about booking even if Pascal, who lives next door (super handy) is away as you will be very very well taken care of.

Pascal returned from his own vacation the night before our very early morning departure and was so sweet to have woken up to bring our luggage downstairs!

Some tips:
*during our trip we were thrilled to find that a hair dryer was provided it was a life saver
*bring some dvds if you are interested in watching movies, there is a selection provided by Pascal as well
*bring along your laptop there is wifi provided, great perk! you will need it for checking the weather
*needless to say bring comfortable shoes!
*pre purchase your metro/batobus/open bus tickets, very handy
*lots of electrical outlets
*while on the metro be sure to keep your valuables out of sight. A sturdy cross body bag served me very well
*bring an umbrella!
*we ordered pizza one night from a shop around the corner and they delivered all the way up to the apartment and it was delish, Pascal keeps delivery menus in the apartment
*lots of books provided
*there is a grocery store less than a minutes walk away if you want to stock up on extras for your stay
*most shops closed on Sundays and some on Mondays as well
*the lights in the halls at the apartment are off in the evening, there is a switch on the wall on each floor that you press to turn the lights on.
*apartment building is very quiet in the evenings, be respectful!

I have nothing negative to say about the apartment would definitely stay again, the value cannot be beat. The St Amboise metro line, one minute away provides swift access right down to Franklin Roosevelt where you can jump off to go to the louvre etc. One quick metro stop change to get to St Germain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveller1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our party of 5 stayed five nights in late June and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The apartment is close to metro stops and makes getting around Paris very easy. The heart of the marais is about a 15 minute walk and there are many other sites near by. There is not a clothes washer in the apartment, but there is a laundry facility right next door. There is also a wonderful bakery and cafe nearby for those evenings you don't want to venture to far away. Pascal was very helpful with recommendations and getting oriented to Paris. The stairs up to the apartment would likely be challenging for anyone who has limited cardio activity or inactive elderly. Our 12 year old daughter had no troubles with the stairs. The space is comfortable and cozy and there is a small terrace to gaze out at the neighborhood. This was our first visit to Paris and I would not hesitate to rent this apartment again. It was very clean and well stocked. Lastly, for those looking to have meals in, lunch or dinner there is a good sized grocery store about 5 minutes walk from the apartment. Pascal provides breakfast supplies and makes wonderful home made jams, cheers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nutravlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Loved the apartment. So, so much better than staying in a hotel. Helpful hosts, plenty of space, handy location near 2 metro stations, shops etc. Would definately return and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupin1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was without a doubt my best value for money find in the whole of France! I will admit initially I was disappointed that I was unable to book my first 2 choices of apartment in Paris. Well turns out, my 3rd selection was actually an outstanding selection.
Why? The lovely owners. They live right next door which is really so very helpful and handy but not at all invasive. Their genuine care and concern that you have a nice stay is felt right from the start with their warm greeting but also all throughout the apartment – leaving extra pillows, iron and ironing board, hangers, body wash, shampoo and conditioner, a stock of towels and planting bright flowers in the pots on the balcony to make the apartment look ever so welcoming.
Value for money. I was able to afford this 2 bedroom apartment just for myself and my husband. For just the 2 of us it was wonderful to spread out, unpack and each have our own room for a week to catch up on sleep or time alone or computing time (yes they also have fantastic quick free internet connection included in the price). Perhaps for 2 couples it might be a bit too cosy as you have to pass thru one of the bedrooms to get to the back bedroom.
They have all the gadgets included – and free phone calls back to Australia. I know I read this but until I actually made the call home (to my mother of course) I couldn’t believe it would work and be free, but it was! They also had TV and DVD player but apart from the internet we never used any of this.
All this and our own balcony. We spent many a meal out here just watching life go by.
Yes it is 5 flights of stairs but just below us is a great patisserie so you can enjoy fresh pastries every morning. Even though your kitchen is left fully stocked with breads, milk, jam, butter, juice to name a few, you just can’t go past a fluffy warm pastry for breakfast. Wine shop, and 2 supermarkets 1 -5 min walk away and the metro just down the street corner. Paris is so big I couldn’t find a really central location to stay and when I did the area was usually too expensive, so this was the perfect answer.
Experiences we enjoyed due to our apartment. Firstly we saved a heap of money (we were away for 5 weeks in Europe) so being able to cook for 7 nights was a great novelty and budget saver. We got great pleasure out of shopping at the local supermarkets – choosing our wine off the shelves and trying some different meats and cheeses. I found a very helpful chemist in the street and had some great conversations with the locals I met.
We did walk to Notre Dame one day but once we mastered the metro system we just used that all the time. Always have some spare tickets with you as you can never be certain that every entrance sells tickets and odds on you will be running late the day you run out! We found the metro safe to use but I was always aware of my personal belongings (we’d had a run in with gypies in Nice, so I knew how good they were at lightening your bags for you) and the metro can be so crowded it is easy work for them.
Would I stay here again – absolutely without question. We found the sleep quality very good, whilst there is a bar just down the street this just added to the charm of the location and was only a bit noisy on Saturday night. If you want to feel like a local Parisian for a while, sipping wine , eating cheese and bread purchased from local shops, and watching the world go by from 5 stories up on your very own flowered balcony, well this is the place for you.

Have no qualms about paying deposits as Pascal and Pascal are genuine folk. They even let us leave our bags in the apartment for 4 hours the day we left even though other people were checking in. Gracious hosts indeed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
A Room in Paris
A Room in Paris
#16 of 133 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Eden Lodge Paris
#36 of 133 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Le Marais
Le Roi de Sicile
Le Roi de Sicile
#7 of 133 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
My Home For You
My Home For You
#17 of 133 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
No photo provided
Le Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
#2 of 133 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt

Property: Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt
Address: 20 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real "home from home" in the heart of Paris in an authentic Haussmann apartment with a large balcony. Close to the main centres of interest...an ideal way to enjoy this fantastic city in complete freedom. Capacity: 2 to 4 people, up to 6 with extra beds, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Appartement d'hotes Folie Mericourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartement d`Hotes Folie Mericourt Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing