We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Parisian food”

Chez Fernand Christine
Reserve with
Chez Fernand Christine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #488 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Winters, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good Parisian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal here unlike some of the other reviewers' experiences. We did not have reservations but were seated right away as we arrived shortly after opening time for dinner. We were seated next to a high window and not crammed in a row as some other tables were arranged. If you're picky about your personal space, then this is not the place for you. Some of the tables are very close together, and the only way to be seated is to move the tables to grant access. We ordered the country pate which was excellent, beef bourgoignoin which was very tasty, and fish with a tomato and vegetable chutney-like garnish and roasted vegetables. Everything tasted great! We liked everything we had. This restaurant was highly recommended by our host. We were very happy to have eaten here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anietta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    266
    67
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, cozy ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ate here on the first night during our recent visit to Paris, and loved it. The ambience was lovely and the food was great -- friendly service as well! We'd certainly return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Abominable experience – a Tourist Trap embarrassment to Parisian food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Abominable experience – a Tourist Trap embarrassment to Parisian food

This place is only suitable for entirely clueless tourists. Please note, this review is for Chez Fernand Christine – Not Le Christine which is about a block away on the same street and is a delightful place with wonderful food.
On the recommendation of one of the concierges at our hotel around the corner (see our review of the wonderful Hotel d'Aubusson) we ate at Chez Fernand Christine. What a mistake.
Nothing was right about this place except the attentive service of our wait person. For starters despite their having represented to our hotel that they had immediate seating, it was clear that they had overbooked. The place was small and packed and there were at least four groups waiting ahead of us. Profusely apologizing, the manager assured us that it would only be 15 minute. That turned into 30 and he suggested we return to our hotel (a two minute walk) and return in another 30. When we returned it turned into yet another 30. In the midst of this they essentially tossed out one table that was, apparently, lingering to long over coffee.
The dispute took place in front of half of the seated patrons and all of the waiting ones. Ejected in Paris for lingering too long over coffee at the end of a very overpriced meal? Mercy.
We looked at each other, both thinking “Oh my, we really should just go somewhere else”. But, by now it was well after 9 on our first day full day in Paris. While taking note that in all of our wait time we had not heard a word of French spoken, we gave in to our jet lag and feet weary from miles and miles of walking, totally abandoning our common sense. We stuck it out.

It got worse. When finally seated following never ending apologies we took note of the fact that at the table next to us one of the patrons was asking for her plate to be removed with about ¾ of the steak still on it. When asked why by the waiter, she said it was inedible – all fat and gristle. Hmm.

Being lovers of foie gras we both ordered the “night’s special” foie gras salad at, I believe, E18! Horrible. Ordinary greens with a couple of spoonfuls of cubes of liver pate that was several notches below what we routinely get at Costco.

On to the main dishes. I am writing this review about six months after the fact and neither my wife nor I recall what she had – only that it was un-memorable. Continuing to forsake my instincts but after a rigorous but polite interrogation of our waiter who seemed genuine and trustworthy, I ordered the entrecote. Now entrecote is not a particularly challenging dish. All that is necessary is that you start with good quality meat and get the flame and the time right.

What a mistake. Just like the lady at the next table had said – All fat and gristle. I was pretty hungry at this point so made efforts to find the 25% of edible meat that hung on the bone. To give this establishment it’s due. The accompaniments for this dish, bone marrow and potatoes au gratin, were very good. I skipped desert by my wife reports that hers was quite good.

Out the door after dinner with a glass of house wine (for me, my wife does not drink), two starters and two main dishes – E130.

We all have done our research and know that food in Paris is quite a distance from what it once was. Perhaps this will change. We had several very good meals on our 1 week trip. But this place was really the bottom of the barrel. Suitable only for those who don’t know any better. I guess that was us on this one particular night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I came to this restaurant on our first night in Paris. This was actually recommended by our hotel and we decided to check it out! It was a quaint and authentically French little restaurant. The servers were so friendly and spoke English to us. The food was amazing and the wine was delicious. The Beef Bourguignon is a must have!! We couldn't have asked for a better 1st dinner in Paris!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luuluu6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Classic French menu. Very approachable for the Anglo diner. Staff was very friendly and the service was enthusiastic, which to the inexperienced is not the norm here.
Lots of English speaking patrons( could be good or bad). Good amount of specials. Strong suits were the appetizers and desserts with the entrees lagging a bit.
It's worth a trip IF nearby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmoc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fernand Christine also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Fernand Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing