We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the location”
Review of Edgar Quinet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edgar Quinet Hotel
Ranked #1,575 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only the location”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 5 nights, ok i knew that there is no elevator & i had no problem, but unfortunately my room was really smelly & everytime i was coming back i saw they cleaned the room & opened the window which resulted in freezing nights & lots of flies in the room & finally a beautiful cockroack (which i had to kill it & hated it)
Similar to most european budget hotels the walls were really thin, & the cleaning lady used to open my room everyday to check if im there or not!!!! I guess that was also very normal for them!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mana_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    31
    24
    9
See reviews for
10
14
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel at a great price. We stayed for 4 days and it was wonderful. Location couldn't be better. Rooms were small, no elevator but it was beyond charming. I highly recommend. We did a whirlwind trip with out 9 year old girls. If I had a stroller might have been tough at this hotel. For the value it was great!


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Miji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed over new year in Paris for 3 nights in this hotel in a super location within 100 metres each of the Metro Station and the Tours Montparnasse. Awesome location, tons of restaurants and cafés, many specialist Breton Restaurants serving delicious Bollées de Cidre and Crepes, as it was traditionally a quartier where the Brittany community settled. It is of course the quartier where French and international writers mingled and artists parties were legendary here in the 20s and 30s.

Hotel had a lovely cafe 2 doors away where we had a super breakfast for about Euro 6 each with the best Café au lait ever, served on a slate with a separate jug of hot milk and a mug rather than a tiny espresso cup. Plus fresh orange juice croissant and French bread, butter and jam, yum!

The Hotel itself was very clean but quite basic (no foyer or shower caps etc) but we got what we expected for our rate paid which at 140 for the room per night in high season was quite acceptable. There was 24 hour concierge so hotel was very secure, quiet (room 207 an internal wintergarden) but no lift unfortunately, though that did not affect us who had traveled light. The Coupole is a famous (seafood) restaurant quite nearby and if you get a chance to dine there at the Feast of St Sylvestre, then save up and pre-book and enjoy,

When we passed by at 12.30 there was an elegant conga doing the rounds and all looking like a great time was being had. The restaurant itself has wonderful 1920s art on its 24 pillars and reminded me of Balthazar's in New York. Note that most museums are closed on New Year's Day including the Louvre, but the Churches and Parks and Cemeteries are open of course. Also the Musée d'Orsay was well worth a visit (The Van Goghs, Sisleys, Cézannes etc did not not disappoint, and on Sunday 30th it was open until at least 9pm. How wonderful, we got to see that and a night tour up the Eiffel Tower on that day and we had only landed at 3.30pm at Charle de Gaulle!

Transport links are truly flawless from this location by train to Charle de Gaulle Airport, and tickets only 9.25 each way. it only took us 45 minutes to get to our Hotel. We would stay at Montparnasse again but if we had booked in advance we would perhaps book a hotel with a lovely foyer to enable us to plan our day in style before setting off. Bonne Année.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked a room at Hotel Edgar Quinet well in advance by phone and confirmed all details carefully, including price. When paying at the hotel they insisted I pay a higher price than quoted, almost 20% higher; of course, I could have no record of the telephone conversation two weeks previously so despite my protestations had to pay the higher price. There was no manager around to talk to and the hotel has not replied to a subsequent email of complaint. Either this was a genuine mix-up at their end or it's a regular ruse. Do beware.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank iain f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel operator said that the rooms are quiet but the 2nd floor rooms we had on our 1st night were road-facing & above the eateries. As there is no air-conditioning, we had to open the windows. So it was noisy & cigarette smoke also wafted into our rooms. The floor-trap in Rm 203 shower cubicle was choked. Soapy water flooded the cubicle & took a long time to drain off, even long after I had finished my shower. Thirdly, when we c/in into Rm 203, there was a luggage in the room.

After 1 night's stay, we c/o to visit another city. To their credit, they stored our big bags for free.

When we returned to stay 2 more nights, we were given one road-facing room on the 2nd floor & one quiet room on the 3rd floor. The next day, when we came back at night, we used the code to enter Rm 305 (our 3rd floor room). We were SHOCKED to find the room cleaned & made up BUT OUR BAGS & OTHER BELONGINGS WERE MISSING!

We quickly went down to speak to the reception. When we gave him our 3rd floor room number, he brought us to the 2nd floor. All our belongings had been moved by the hotel operator from Rm 305 to another room -> Rm 203!

It is very very rude, discourteous & unprofessional of the hotel operator to change our room & move our belongings without our knowledge. FYI, we had prepaid for those 2 more nights before we went off to visit another city!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

No joking! The staff were there just the first day at the reception. The rest of time, we'd just come and go as we pleased. The code used to enter room, instead of the traditional key/card, greatly facilitated movement.

The rooms were very decent, clean, well-kept furniture etc.
The location is outstanding!! Near the Montparnasse station, in a lively neighborhood that hardly sleeps, the former quarter of Britons who had moved to Paris to make a fortune. The Montparnasse graveyard (the smallest but said to be the prettiest in Paris) is 5' away. And if u're a pancake addict, you're in the right neighborhood. There are at least 2 streets, boasting crêperies!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel Edgar Quinet is well located, in the heart of Montparnasse. The room are a bit small but functional. There are seveal cafes and restaurants around the hotel. The Montparnasse cemintary is also nearby if you want to see a tombstone of a famous person buried there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#466 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#963 of 1,801 in Paris
721 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,155 of 1,801 in Paris
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
#956 of 1,801 in Paris
376 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Esperance
Hotel Esperance
#1,659 of 1,801 in Paris
32 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel de la Gaite
Hotel de la Gaite
#1,609 of 1,801 in Paris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar Quinet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar Quinet Hotel

Property: Edgar Quinet Hotel
Address: 17 boulevard Edgar Quinet, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,575 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgar Quinet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgar Quinet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing