We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept coming back for more great stories!”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.48*
and up
Versailles Gardens Walking Tour from Paris
Ranked #1 of 437 Nightlife in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Free Tour meets daily at 11:00 and 13:00 in front of the fountain at Place Saint-Michel in the Latin Quarter. This famous 3.5-hour walking tour covers all the main historic sites of central Paris. Their unique style of combining history with entertainment has made them the most talked about tour company in Europe.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kept coming back for more great stories!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We found out about the tours through a friend from work. We didn't realise how fantastic they were going to be. Ended up doing three tours and then headed over for more tours in the UK.

A big shout out goes to Alex (the New Zealander), Arnaud (the American) and Billy (the Scotsman). All three kept the Sandemans standards high and gave us one hell of a historical, amusing, interesting unique experience in Paris.

Thanks for making our first experience of Paris an unbeatable one. The work and effort and time all these guys put in was tireless.Great value for time and money (we got to see and learn so much in such little time).

Thanks again and all the best for the company and the employees. We loved every minute of our tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,782
    786
    137
    102
    79
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest thing about our trip to Pairs, DO IT!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and I only had 2 and a half days in Paris and someone pointed us toward this company. I am ETERNALLY grateful because these tours made our trip. Everything you should see in Paris is covered by these tours. We took the free walking tour of Paris first, which was incredible because it gives you an incredible overview of the entire city and allows you to plan what you want to spend more time at on your own. Our tour guide Arno, was probably the greatest tour guide in the world. He is the greatest and super funny, seriously. He knows EVERYTHING there is to know about Paris and gave us a tip to go to the Tour de Montparnasse instead of the Eiffel tower, which led to an amazing view and one of the top 3 meals of my life. He was incredibly knowledgeable and you cover an amazing amount of sites all around the city. 150% worth it. And don't be worried about the long walk, you don't even realize how long the tour is.

We loved the company so much we decided to do the Versailles tour and Montmartre tours the next day. Versailles was incredible and although the tour is of the gardens and not the palace itself it is again, 100% worth it and you can always stay later and do the palace on your own. Again, we had a great guide, very knowledgeable. What;s great about this tour is you go through all the gardens and are able to learn things about each garden and sculpture you wouldn't have known otherwise. I came out of that tour with a huge amount of knowledge on the 5 french kings leading up to and including the french revolution. Great experience.

Later that afternoon we did the walking tour of Montmartre (keep in mind these tours are literally like 30 euro, so cheap!). Yet again, I LOVED our guide, Onno (especially the accent, how can you not). He was also incredibly funny and the tour was amazing. The views from the churches are breathtaking. You also cover the Moulin Rouge, Artists' Square, and some very cool places frequented by Van Gogh and Picasso. So worth it.

All in all, my experiences with this company were perfect, I would not change one thing.
My friend and I had a tour of the Vatican in Rome and kept talking about how we wish we had Arno instead. If you only have a few days in Paris, this company is the way to go.

Happy Travels,
Casey

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I did 3 tours - free Paris tour, Montmartre and Versailles and coincidentally it was all with the guide named Adam. He's wonderfully informative about the landmarks that we see and random bits of interesting French history that was never known to me prior.

However note that these tours only show you the landmarks from the outside. You will need to pay the entrance fee or visit the place later on yourself. However it does form a good basis of what you might wanna see/explore in more detail if time allows.

Overall it was great and It's highly recommended. The price is reasonable and it's good way to meet other people from all around the world.

Helpful?
Thank jonnychee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
“Free Tour Paris - Onno”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The free walking tour in Paris with the Guide Onno was incredible. It was worth it even just to be shown where the back entrance to the Louvre is!!! But he showed us all of the sights and had quirky stories to go with everything which made the experience that much more interesting and fun.....plus he also has a wicked sence of humor!! I also did the Montmatre tour with him as well which was just an fun, informative and enjoyable. He is also sent me to a great local restaurant, gave me the perfect line up time to view the Eiffel tower in sun, sunset and night and then do a nigh cruise along the river.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tour and guide”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

1st of all Its Free and you only have to tip the Guide if you want... BUT you will...
2nd get Onno as your guide, best tour guide and has a massive amount of knowledge.

We ended up doing Main Paris tour and the Montmartre District. Awesome... Heaps of information, helpful hints and advice... Great introduction to Paris and the Districts surrounding the main city. Because we were only in Paris for a few days and this was a great way to see most of the major sites, that we could explore further on another day and learn a little bit about the history without hiring other guides or audio guides.

A definite must on a budget or big spender.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajlk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing