We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandemans Paris Walking Tour”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.12*
and up
Versailles Gardens Walking Tour from Paris
Ranked #1 of 439 Nightlife in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Free Tour meets daily at 11:00 and 13:00 in front of the fountain at Place Saint-Michel in the Latin Quarter. This famous 3.5-hour walking tour covers all the main historic sites of central Paris. Their unique style of combining history with entertainment has made them the most talked about tour company in Europe.
1 review
“Sandemans Paris Walking Tour”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We met our guide Lauren at St Michels,we were informed what we would be doing and seeing during our walk, very enthusiastic guide I must say, which is great.
The knowledge the young lady has and the way she delivered it to us was nothing but excellent, very easy to understand and listen to.
I would highly recommend to anyone to try this company and ask to be in Lauren's group you won't be disappointed by taking tours with these guys.

Helpful?
Thank Welc0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,904
    798
    141
    104
    81
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tour and experience with Jacqueline”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Touring Paris can be daunting but not with this tour. Insightful and educational. Now I am just typing so there will be 100 characters in the review. Since I have been on holidays I am trying to catch up with work and having to type 100 characters is not what I want to be doing. Why cant i just say "great tour".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank texoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paris new europe tour”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had excellent tour yesterday with New Europe (http://www.newparistours.com).
The guide (Billy) was extremely informative and made the whole excursion very enjoyable.
It helps that his English was really clear (which is not always the case on other tours) and we really appreciated the easygoing style the tour was conducted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vikt0rrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great way to find your way through Paris”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Did the free tour with onno. He had great energy and knowledge of the city. It was a great way to start my trip in Paris. it allowed me to figure out where things were and what I wanted to discover more deeply.

Helpful?
Thank Granta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Tour with Arnaud (Free) & Filipa (Monmarte & Versailles)”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were visiting Paris with another couple (all in our early 30s) and took a Sandeman's tour 3 out of the 4 days of our visit. I've had experience with their tours in Dublin (which are great too BTW) so we knew we would get a nice overview of the city with their Free Walking Tour (plus you get a small discount on future tours if you book after taking this tour.)

Our guide, Arnaud was great. He really displayed a strong passion for the city and definitely conveyed that to the group. Thanks Arnaud for the tip about the horse statues! But be sure to wear good shoes on this tour, because as the name suggests it's a WALKING tour and you cover a lot of ground in the 3 hours.

The next day we took their Monmarte tour (14euro) with Filipa. Our entire group agreed that she was a delight. She was fun, animated, and told wonderful stories about the history of this famous district. But be warned, Monmarte is very hilly, so again, good shoes and prepare to walk your baguettes off! Filipa also gave us a great restaurant suggestion in the area, so don't be shy, ask her for tips and recommendations, she's great!

On our third day we took the Versailles Tour (30euro) and guess who we had as a guide FILIPA!!! We were all excited to have her lead us through the gardens of Versailles (yes, this tour only includes the gardens, the palace is an extra charge.) The tour price includes your roundtrip train ticket from Place St Michel and admission to the gardens ONLY. The entire trip/tour is approx 5 hours. Filipa did another fantastic job with this tour. Versailles is definitely worth a visit and this tour makes it very easy to see. Filipa did an excellent job making sure our large group all got on the train together and guided us from the station to the palace. Her stories about the history of Versailles and Louis XIV were interesting and engaging. We broke for lunch about halfway through the tour on a beautiful spot along the water just outside the gardens.

The only unexpected part of the tour was the extra 7.50 euro PP we had to pay the day of the tour for the "Musical Gardens." Apparently on Tuesdays the "groves and protected areas of the gardens are accessible from April to October for a musical stroll." We all thought this would be great; gardens and live music in the gardens of Versailles!!! Not so much, it was just music piped into the speaker system around the gardens. It did give a nice touch, but in my opinion not worth the extra money. This by no means is a reflection on Filipa, we just should have done our homework on this prior to booking on a Tuesday.

Also, don't expect all the fountains to be on either. If you want to see the fountains, book a tour on the weekend. It should be noted that there is also an extra charge of 8.50euro on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays for the ticket of the Musical Fountains Show. There was only one fountain operating during our visit. It was nice, but I would have loved to see all the fountains operating. Guess we'll have to come back.

Couple tips if you do plan to do the Versailles tour. It's a long day so come prepared. Grab something for lunch and bring some drinks ahead of time. Filipa did take our group to a nice little sandwich shop with fairly priced sandwiches before we left, but we were a big group so it took awhile before everyone was ready to go. So if you don't want to stand in line, get your lunch before you check in for the tour. Also, if you'd like to have a wine with your lunch there is a little sandwich shop next to the McDonalds across the street from the Versailles Train station that sells little bottles of Chard and Cab Sav. Sitting on the grass, by the water, drinking wine and looking at the palace and the gardens was one of the highlights of the tour.

Lastly, and this is just some constructive criticism; our group was delayed from leaving for the Versailles tour because there were a few parties arriving late and I mean well after the meeting point time. Perhaps, there needs to be a cut off time. It wasn't fair for the folks that are able to arrive on schedule to have to wait for the late comers to check in and get their train ticket. I understand unforeseen circumstances can arise (traffic delays etc.) but come on, there was one couple who arrived 30 minutes late just as Filipa was trying to escort us to the train station. A cut off time really needs to be established, especially when you have a large group ready to go.

Thanks Arnaud & Filipa for the wonderful tours and for making our visit to Paris one to remember!!! If you find yourself visiting Paris, definitely do a Sandemans Tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing