We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Montparnasse
Ranked #394 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sweet little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in September. The hotel is in a nice quiet non-touristy area, very close to 2 metro stops which made it easy to get around Paris (we bought a travel pass which you could use on trains, metro and buses - would recommend it as it saved a lot of hassle). As with most hotels in Paris the rooms (and bathroom in particular) are very small, but it was fine for a short break (bed was pretty small too, so it wasn't always the comfiest of sleeps). Very clean though, and the pink and orange decor is lovely! Staff were very friendly and attentive and spoke perfect English. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    244
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
107
212
56
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel does exactly what I expect from 2 star rating. I stayed with my adult son for 3 nights. It served our needs but I would not want to stay very long there. The room was adequate although there was no wardrobe or any drawers anywhere. There was a hanging rail in bathroom which was OK for our short stay, I have never hung my clothes in a bathroom before but the steam would remove any travel creases I suppose!! The breakfast (which we did not have) was simple and plentiful and again adequate for the price. The hotel is situated near the Metro and a supermarket is very handy to. It is within easy reach my Metro of all the sites and has many restaurant close by. We found Nellies Italian restaurant on the first night and it was so good we went there every night. The food was superb although the venue was a little cramped. The hotel has free WiFi. The staff were polite but not as friendly or keen to offer advice as we have had in hotels elsewhere in the world. All in all an adequate place to lay ones head, clean and comfortable. The lift as others have mentioned is only fit for 1 but that is because of the layout of the building so any lift was acceptable I feel.On the downside no hotel safes in rooms no tea and coffee making facilities(we took our own) and no fridge but it is only 2 star rating so acceptable.

Room Tip: Not suitable for infirm unless they can use lift alone. Take tea/coffee making items. If you need tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did a LOT of research into Paris hotels before booking and chose La Maison Montparnasse for a couple of reasons:

-Easy online booking and communication
-Located off the beaten path (but as others have said, VERY easy to get everywhere you need to, and quickly)

Once we arrived, it was even better than we had imagined. This is well above your standard European 2-star hotel. It's clean, bright, has a great decor, and plenty of little amenities (soaps/shampoos, hair dryers). The staff is friendly and helpful.

The neighborhood is FANTASTIC. Lots of great restaurants, shops, and supermarkets. We were there for 6 nights, and it was fantastic. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

after a flight from belfast ,and a journey on the train and metro , i was pleasently surprised when i reached to top of the stairs of pernerty metro station the area is very typical paris and not at all what i expected tiny shops , boutiques loads of cafe bars ,the hotel is a short walk away from pernety station turn right as you come out of the station and walk about a hundred meters the hotel is on the left side of the road up a little side street called rue de gergovie. the hotel is a complete eye opener i couldnt praise it enough staff were so helpfull especially sophia who is the owner she couldnt do enough for us, the room was small and compact ,shower room is also small but absolutly spotless , the bed comfortable and pillows to die for ,if you want a hotel that is pleasent ,spotless, helpfull, then this is the place for you ...the breakfast is well worth 10..euros .and you can eat in the court yard or inside both are pleasent and bright and coulourfull.
the staff are so nice and vert helpfull , if you dont pick this your missing out on a real gem of paris

sharon and susan belfast

Room Tip: our room was on the top floor facing other buildings but it was fine you get used to the traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My boyfreind and I stayed there in June for a couple of nights for his birthday. I have previously been to paris many times with my father but always stayed in the Hilton but as I was the one paying this time I was looking for something a little more affordable!

I was shocked when we came out of the metro station as I didn't the expect the area to be so lovely. There are lots of small shops on the main high street but if you walk 5/10 minites up the road you come to loads of shops and even a shopping centre. The cafes are also lovely on the street. The hotel is only a few minites away from the metro which is very handy if your like me and pack ridiculously heavy suitcases!!

The hotel its self is superb, its wonderfully decorated and it is modern but still has lots of character. The room we had was a good size and was very clean. The staff also were very kind and helpful.

We are already planning to go back in a couple of months with the rest of the family! CANT WAIT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

located very closely to Pernety station, 5 minute walk. It's a very nice area with nice local restaurants & it wasn't touristic at all... we arrived to Paris early from a long international flight & they checked us in right away even though the check-in time wasn't until few hours later. the room was very clean & cozy on a quiet street. would love to stay here in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located in a nice neighborhood, close to the metro station Pernety. The interior of the hotel was inviting, stylish and cozy. We felt very welcome and comfortable in the hotel - a great place to come back to after a busy day. The room was small as expected but very clean and with comfortable beds. All the employees were extremely friendly and helpful. We also were able to print out online tickets for museums and use dishes for a take-out meal, which we ate outside in the small courtyard. The free wifi was an added bonus. Breakfast was delicious and in our opinion good value for the money. Hopefully, we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPM70_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#232 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#794 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#229 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Terminus Orleans
#452 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#392 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Montparnasse

Property: La Maison Montparnasse
Address: 53 rue de Gergovie, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#148 Business Hotel in Paris
#302 Family Hotel in Paris
#361 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing