We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why this place isn't higher rated i will never know !”
Review of Au jardin - CLOSED

Au jardin
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Description: Une version originale de la cuisine Francaise. Des produits frais cuisines maison.An original version of the French cooking. Cooked fresh products house.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“why this place isn't higher rated i will never know !”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have eaten here once before and thought we would come back. Checked my trip advisor app to make sure we could find it on the map and was amazed it is so far down the list !

The food is right up there with the best in paris. Seasonal lovelyness we had the 3 course set menu and enjoyed all of it !

Especial attention to the tuna starter ! confied limes with tuna tartare ... amazing !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    96
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident & saw the trip advisor award in the window. As we'd already eaten we vowed to come back another day ( assuming we could find it again). So glad we did as it was the best meal we'd eaten in ages. Very obliging staff with superb food. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent quality for the price”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great food, great service and excellent quality. We had a hard time finding the place as it is a bit off the beaten track, but it was worth backtracking to find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing wee French restaurant, and reasonable value”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

excellent, taste sensation - we had snails (my first time) and they were done amazingl y.

Fish main courses were out of this world. Two courses for 24 euros, so reasonably good prices as well.

Glass of wine 5 euros and a coffee 2.50

highly recommend, really pleased with our choice on our first night in Paris.
.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_in_Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sharp practice”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took our family to this restaurant as we were staying at nearby Residence Nell, also on Rue Richer. There is no garden.

The manager was the problem. Even my wife ordering a gin and tonic caused a problem: he filled the glass with gin and then just put a bottle of tonic water alongside - yuck!

The real problem was when we asked if he could offer an alternative to the one choice of ice cream on the children's menu. He said yes, and suggested strawberries, which was a good suggestion, but he made no mention of the fact this would attract a charge of three adult portions of same (on top of the three fixed price menu). I queried this at the end, and he knocked a third of this extra charge off, but when I pointed out that this supplement was totally unexpected in the first place and had not been mentioned, he insisted that we had to pay the bill and would not adjust it any further.

I thought this was very poor, and said so. He was unmoved. I don't think with an attitude to customers and expectations like this, that he cares very much for the future of Au Jardin. It made for an unpleasant scene in front of other customers there at the time, and is not very wise as we have informed Residence Nell of our unsatisfactory experience. Oh dear!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au jardin also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing