We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre
Ranked #1,637 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are budget backpackers and usually do not complain about much. The service we received at this hotel was appauling. In particular from William on the front desk. He was rude, unhelpful and overall uninterested in any guests that approached him. Firstly our first night we got given a room where the bed was broken and the light around the walls would not turn off. i approached William just asking if i could move rooms. He said they were booked out and he would move us tomorrow, i understand this. i asked if there was any way to turn the lights off in the room. he said no (he did not even send maimtenance up). the first night we were there we slept on a broken bed with the lights on. we went to move the second day, we had to wait until midday to move so we could not go out until then so we wasted half a day. when we did end up moving i was not even allowed to look at the room before moving over. he said when i give you the new room you have to stay there and cant move. He said it is a privelidge that you are moving and that he did not have to move us. I asked him do you usually leave people in a broken bed for five nights. he did not answer me. our next room was good. Finally when we were leaving on the final day we had to store our luggage (which we had to pay for) he said that the little bags were not safe in the store room and to use the paying machine to store them. We went to use the machine but it just ate our money. he said there was nothing he could do about it. When i asked what can we do with our small bag he said put it in with the large bag, even after he said it was not safe in there. again he was being rude, unhelpful and unapologietic to the situations we were placed in. I asked for a manager on monday morning and he said there was no manager onsite on mondays. I would love to hear a reply from a manager about the service i received. I manage hotels and i understand how budget hotels run. One of our sayings we use is 'just because you have a budget hotel does not mean you cant give 5 star service.' I also stayed at several other budget ibis's in paris and europe and they were all fantastic! So it is not a brand problem it is a staff/attitude/hotel problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ace84_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Booked this hotel knowing it was one of the cheapest, and it would leave us with plenty of money for sightseeing and lovely meals. After reading some of the reviews on here, I did start to dread what we would find! However, the hotel was clean and tidy (although the room did stink of smoke when we arrived). The people behind the desk were nice enough and spoke English.

You cannot compare this hotel to Hiltons and to review it with others like this in mind would be unfair. The hotel had a nice shower, toilet and bed which is all you need if, like us, you just intend sleeping there. The breakfast was good, unlimited and fairly varied. The area may unnerve some people, but we walked through Saint Ouen at all times of the day and night during our stay and didn't feel unsafe. Just have some common sense - keep your hands on your bag, don't make eye contact wi anyone - and you will be fine. It's no more unsafe than any city at night.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are best - the lifts get busy in the morning! Also, go for breakfast early as we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny-Star-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I read some recent reviews, I'm agree with some points and not agree with some. That's right that location is in a horrible area, so it's not a good selection to be with family and children in my opinion. but hotel is safe and room was quit clean. However washing hand area was out of toilets and was beside the bed that I really did not like it. Lobby area is horrible, just couple of seats in the corner. During my stay, there were a lot of groups of young students in the hotel. Just one restaurant and one Turkish sandwich bar around the hotel. I did not see any supermarket around. There was not a wide range of foods for breakfast, but for 5 euro per person, it was ok. All in all, it's a good selection for budget travelers who need the hotel to sleeping for couple of hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_Iran_shiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel lacks everything that a decent hotels requires:
- Our room was not properly cleaned; the bedsheets and pillow cover were dirty. On our request
we got new bedsheets and pillow covers, which were less dirty
- They only offered 2 towels for three person.
- The window handle was broken (see picture); you could open the window from outside
- The floor was dirty (see picture)
- The women at the front desk was not helpful at all
- horrible location with a lot of homeless people
- it's very noisy at night
- The place that is supposed to be the shower looked awful

And I somehow have a feeling that the hotel staff are writing good reviews on this site to give their hotel a nice image, which does not exist.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend you to avoid this hotel otherwise you will most likely regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is located in a horrible, sketchy, ghetto area. There were a lot of homeless hanging out around the corner. There front desk was not helpful. This place is like a dorm. The security guard has to let me into the hotel..as you can imagine how sketchy and unsafe the area is. I understand about the security and safety, but it's not what i expected this to be. I booked for 4 nights, but ended up staying only 1 night because I was so concerned about my own safety. It's not worth to risk and feel unsafe at this hotel, even though the price is good....but it's too good to be true (when the hotel is named "de Montmartre").....run run run!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in Paris for two days. Its a budget hotel, comfortable and very clean. The rooms are compact, we took a room with shower and toilet.The location is convenient to get to central Paris. Metro Saint Ouen is walking distance, also can take a bus no 81 to get to chatelet in Central Paris. Staff is helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended for budget travellers looking for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice clean fresh rooms. Stayed here with contiki. Breakfast was ok, can't complain considering the French don't do breakfast and there was enough choices to keep everyone happy. Free wifi friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,559 of 1,804 in Paris
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,208 of 1,804 in Paris
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre

Address: 45 rue du Docteur Babinski, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,637 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $52 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre 2*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the district of Montmartre and Sacre-Coeur, this Etap Hotel is located in the heart of the Flea Market of Saint-Ouen and 15 minutes from the Stade de France.Guestrooms feature a satellite TV, shower, toilet and all the comfort to make your stay enjoyable. Free Wi-Fi access is available in public areas.Enjoy a breakfast buffet every morning. The Etap team welcomes you 24/7 to help facilitate your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing