We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good little bistro - excellent value for money”

La Taverne de Montmartre
Ranked #348 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good little bistro - excellent value for money”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very good place for a good and cheap diner if you don't mind to share your table with strangers :)
This small bistro in Montmartre, also popular among locals, has a very good value dinner deal at 16 or 19 EUR for 3 courses.
We ordered onion and fish soup, both of them very good and for the main courses we took Beef Bourguignon which was very good and a steak that was excellent.
The deserts were very nice as well, specially the chocolate mousse.
Very rocommended if your are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    329
    56
    41
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A true delight”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This little restaurant is located near Abbesses metro station. It is very authentic and great value for money. The staff were helpful and friendly and the ambience was really homely. We had the Raclette which was a wedge of cheese that you melt on your own grill. It also comes with a plate of cured meats, potatoes, bread and vegetables. It was most filling and satisfying. The red wine was light and crisp too and accompanied the meal well. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucienBonfante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab place!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great little place if around Montmartre. It was pouring down outside the night we went but it was lovely and cosy inside. We went with the set menu (about 26euro) with kir royal, snails, chess fondue that came with lots of bread chunks and some salami too. Both finished off with chocolate brownie. Great place to then stroll up to a romantically lit up sacre coeur after your meal and burn off some calories!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Just below the stairs from place du Tertre we were bit hungry and we picked this little restaurant because it sported on the menu escargot and fondue. We ended up having escargot as starter and bourgougnon, fondue savoyarde and duck as mains. Large and delicious portions with side of hand cut fried potatoes. The atmosphere in this family run cosy restaurant is very friendly and the service was great. And the final bill was very honest too. We want to come back to try the things we couldn't.

Helpful?
Thank magmaedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nope”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't know if we were there on a really off night, but our experience was nothing like what has been described in these reviews. The wine was average, and the food was shockingly bad, completely inedible. The onion soup tasted almost exactly the same as the beef bourguignon, with similar consistency. We pushed thru the entrees, thinking the mains might be better, but after a few bites, we gave up, paid our bill, and ran. On the plus side, the waitress was lovely. For a few more euros and steps down the hill, you can find great food on Rue d'Abesses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texan_down_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne de Montmartre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Taverne de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing