We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rue du Faubourg St-Denis”
Review of Special Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Special Apartments
Ranked #36 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rue du Faubourg St-Denis”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Spent 9 days at this one bedroom apartment in the southwestern edge of the 10th arrondisement which is a multi-cultural area of shops, markets and restaurants. It was just a few minutes walk to the Metro Stausborg St Denis station and was perfectly located for our visit. We wanted the experience of living like Parisennes and we got it. We enjoyed the sun filled balcony with French lavender. The only negative was no instructions on how to use the washing machine (finally fiqured it out) and no dryer. We hung our clothes to dry on the line installed for this purpose in the bathroom. Although I was a little taken back at first when I saw the main entrance and dark hallway leading to the stairs, I was very happy with the apartment's inviting and modern appearance.

Helpful?
1 Thank djrandall9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
97
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in apartment #006 and what a pleasure this stay was. This apartment is based in the 2nd aridismont which I think is the best district to stay in in Paris. It is quiet but full of life with countless cafe's and bakeries within a stones throw of the apartment. All main tourist attractions are within easy commute from this apartment. Everything was clean and spacious which is unusual for Paris. Most importantly was the service support from the Special apartments people. This was second to none. Nothing was too simple or hard for them. Always friendly and a pleasure to work with.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnabombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We rented #034. This is a great hotel alternative if you want to get close to most attractions in the city. We walked almost everywhere. It is very close to the Louvre and Louvre-Rivoli subway station. The apartment is a small but this is typical in Paris. There is a G20 supermarket nearby where we bought most of our breakfast needs. We would cook our breakfast, walk around, try local restaurants for lunch and come back to the apartment for a nap. In the afternoon, we would walk again. We literally saw the whole Paris city centre by foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dra_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed in the studio #21. This unit has some strong positives, main ones are great location, and being so quiet in the middle of lively Paris. The unit also looks recently renovated, and there are a lot of thoughtful touches showing care and quality, like the well-equipped kitchen, thick towels, nice lighting, very good bed, etc. It just looks pretty and atmospheric, and is a whole lot better than a hotel room, at about the same price. Thank you, Special Apartments, for creating such a beautiful lodging option in Paris!

There are also some cons or at least some things to be aware of. For example, the unit is dark even in bright sunshine because it is tucked away towards a courtyard (but that is why it is quiet). Bathroom sink is really small and because of a small vanity installed right above it, it is hard to wash your face or shave. Also, unit is on the third floor, and the stairs are steep and narrow, be careful, especially with heavy luggage. If you are tall, watch your head, especially on the last landing, easy to bump your head, and I did. The part of the unit with the bed is slightly raised, so may want to be careful not to stub your toes. Some of this is just unavoidable, given what the historical buildings are, and that is really part of the charm.

So, guess it is a great place for the right people, and others might want to consider whether this is the best option for them. Also, it would be probably better to install a keypad lock on the door, I was always concerned that I would lock myself out, carelessly walking out without the keys, and the door automatically shutting behind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in Apartment 32 in Saint Louis for 4 nights in October-November 2013 on our honeymoon. All communication with the company before our trip was easy and they were quick to respond to any questions we had. Checking in was easy (they left a key at the residence for us). The room was in a beautiful apartment building that looked onto a school next door and I had read some reviews it was nouisy but honestly it wasn't a problem. The shower flooded a little when we were (my fault, I was pointing the shower head in the wrong direction) so some water leaked into the hallway into the carpet. However, we dried it with a hairdyer and let them know via email and they were lovely about it. Perfect neighbourhood for our first trip to Paris and perfect apartment for a real Parisian experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our fourth Paris "romantic getaway" trip in 11 years. We've stayed with Paris Apartments the last two times, and most certainly will again! Don't be afraid if you don't speak French; we don't, and our last two trips without a hotel concierge to lean on worked out just fine.

This trip, we scored apartment #26 on the Ile Saint-Louis. We loved top-floor living, with wonderful rooftops views all over the place: Pantheon, Notre Dame, and Eiffel Tower! The main room had two double French doors looking east towards the inside of our city block. (We got a 3-minute bell peal most mornings at 9 AM from the local church as our alarm clock.) The opposite street-side window was sound-proof, so despite the center-Paris location, we light sleepers had no problem--we routinely travel with silicon earplugs. A good-quality fan provided a bit of white noise, and the firm queen mattress was super-comfy. The inner-courtyard windows all had awnings, which meant open windows and lovely April breezes through most of our stay.

The bathroom and small kitchen were clean and well-appointed. Towels were oversized and lush. (Do bring washcloths--they were not provided.) Security was no problem: there's an outside gate with a pushbutton code and an inside keyed door in addition to the apartment door.

Location could not be better: the Pont Marie Metro stop is just across a bridge, only two blocks away. There's a patisserie/boulangerie directly across the street, a small grocery store around the corner, and the Berthillon mothership is just down the street (pineapple-basil sorbet was my favorite). It's an easy stroll north into the Marais, west to the Île de la Cité (five minutes to Notre Dame), and south to the Latin Quarter. Our last trip we got the Museum Pass and stayed further west in the 1st. This trip was for strolling (Paris Walks and Rick Steves' Guide) so this location was fabulous.

Remember that Paris has some of the most expensive real estate on the planet. So to have easily twice the space--plus a kitchen--for half of what we'd pay for a hotel--it keeps us coming back. Arrangements by email could not be easier. And props to Special Apartments for the free WiFi, free international and local land-line calls, and website pictures that show exactly what you are going to get.

Only caution for this apartment is "no A/C" so we would not stay there during super-warm months. There's a lift to the 6th floor, and the stairs up to 7 are wide and well-lit. So grateful to Special Apartments for smooth arrangements, good quality, and value.

Room Tip: If you have certain needs (timeframe, quiet, budget, location)--email Special Apartments and they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Let me start from the beginning, when we (a group of 3 friends) started to book the apartment, for our visit to Paris on last year september. We booked the Apt#2 and was charged half the amount as per their policy on 3rd March'13. Geraldine and Regis communicated with us and all our queries were well taken care! I really want to take this opportunity to thank both of them. Thank you guys, you were really helpful.

On 21 st August '13 it was communicated to me that due to wrong entry of our visiting dates from their side the Apt#2 has been allocated to some different guests and we were left with only Apt#10, which can accommodate 3. Disappointed and shocked, we accepted this apartment half-heartedly.

Since we landed in Paris, out of their office hours, we ourselves had to collect the keys from their office, which was not very challenging. We felt it more because on that day we were blessed with a great and very helpful taxi driver.

Now, coming to the Apt#10, location wise, it was not in a very posh area, but it hardly mattered to us, because we only came to the Apt for our night hideout. Moreover it is conveniently located between 2 metro stations "Strasbourg-Saint Denis" and "Chateau d'Eau", through which almost all tourist attractions of Paris are quite well connected.

The Apt#10, in terms of security are quite satisfactory. One has to go though 3 locked doors to enter this. The 1st one leads to a courtyard, with numbering locks, 2nd to the building and 3rd to the very apartment. The last 2 locks are quite tricky to unlock.

The interior of this apartment looks the same as in the pics given by "Special Apartments" on their website. No misleading information or camera tricks there. It is quite suitable for 3 guests.

Negative points: The Apt#10 has no elevators (which was mentioned in the Apt Description), but the staircase leading to this 3rd floored apartment is quite steep and narrow. I dont think this Apt is suitable for elder guests.

The apartments itself was cozy and comfortable, with all the amenities working fine. No complains there. Overall the experience was satisfactory, but as I mentioned not flawless.

Room Tip: I wont suggest Apt#10 to elder guests. It is best suitable for young friends on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adhiraj_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#605 of 1,800 in Paris
45 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Citadines Opera Paris
Citadines Opera Paris
#609 of 1,800 in Paris
195 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#599 of 1,800 in Paris
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Georgette
#84 of 1,800 in Paris
751 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Residence Pelican
Residence Pelican
#39 of 173 in Paris
100 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Nell Hotel & Suites
Nell Hotel & Suites
#1 of 173 in Paris
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Special Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Special Apartments

Property: Special Apartments
Address: 13 rue du Pont aux Choux, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Special Apartments Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing