We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment in perfect location”
Review of Special Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Special Apartments
Ranked #32 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Wahgunyah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We rented an apartment in Marias which was just perfect. Special Apartments were an absolute pleasure to deal with leading up to and while we were there. We had an absolutely beautiful time. We enjoyed the position of the apartment and being able to walk to restaurants and get beautiful food from the stores downstairs to enjoy in our dining room. The setup and size of the apartment was also perfect with 2 small children. We can't wait to visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllSaintsEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Gourmetfoodie1111,

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to share. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the apartment and that you were happy with our service; all of our team are thrilled to hear that.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon,

in the meantime,

Warm regards from Paris

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
97
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Because I don't want to many of you to come to this peaceful, very French part of tourist-loaded Marais. It all started with Google. "Holiday rentals in Paris" and a huge amount of web sites offering you so many opportunities that you very soon get tired of looking. So I went for the web site with the best photos and description. It happened to be 'Special Apartments'. I could really see what they offered me, in some case even a plan over the apartments (and to Regis, Geraldine and the other nice people in 'Special Apartments': please make drawings of all your apartments, it's extremely important for the customers). My boss (my wife) wants different options and with 'Special Apartments' I was able to show her all the alternatives in detail.
We settled for apartment #024 and it was a true delight. We came in late on a Saturday evening and the 'Special Apartments' office was closed. But we found the key at the safety box of the agency (with great help from the driver from the limousine service that 'Special Apartments' had arranged for us, 62 euro from CdG airport, same as a taxi).
The apartment was exactly as described and visualized, Top class in an old building, problably as many Parisians are living. Charming, rustic and bohemian.
And here comes the secret: Rue de Bretagne is it. Within 100 meters I counted 8 cafées, 1 supermarket, 2 bakeries, 2 wine shops, 1 butcher, 3 vegetables shops, 1 specialized cheese shop and the oldest open food market in Paris. Furthermore, within a radius of 10 minutes you will find around 40 restaurants. Special, yes, but that's 'Special Apartments'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ulpa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ulpa_10,

What a great review! Thank you so much!

I'm so glad that you liked our website and that it helped in making your choice and that you weren't disappointed with the apartment or the area that it is in. Its true its a wonderful secret; not too touristy yet;.... a genuine Parisian experience.

thank you for sharing (I can understand that you didn't want to write it now... :)

Please come back soon!

Warm regards,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'lore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great location next to chatelet les halles. Metro and Rer access was very easy. Louvre, notre dame and musee d' or say were walking distance. Great restaurants around. The history of the place ,old central market is very interesting. Great area for shopping .The beautiful marais shopping area is nearby.The special apartments agent was very helpful and welcoming.There was a bottle of wine waiting for us.The apartment was comfortable and tastefully decorated.we were there at the end of April and Paris was quite cold that week. The apartment was very warm and cozy though it may get hot in summer. We did not see an ac in the apartment. We are a family of four with two girls ,one teen and another pre-teen. the girls complained a bit about the small bathroom and shower but overall they too loved the apartment. There was a nice kitchenette, washing machine and wifi. There is no elevator but that is not much of a problem because the apartments on the first floor.Inspite of it's central location the apartment was very quiet.Overall we loved this apartment and we will return to it if given a chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FairCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FairCritics,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, I'm sure that other travellers will really appreciate it as we do. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the apartment and the service we offer. Its true there is no AC unit in the apartment, but in Paris, we very rarely need AC, because it only gets really hot for a few weeks of the year. In old buildings like this, the walls are so thick that they stay quite nice and cool in the summer months and nice and cosy warm in the winter. We do provide fans though just in case it gets a little warm.

I hope we do get the chance to welcome you back one day!

Warm regards,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location and apartment. This was the quietest accommodation we have ever had. Absolutely no noise and in the middle of Paris with a huge number of restaurants, bars, stores all within 2 blocks. Rue Montorgeil was a great walking street with good access to the sights along the Seine. Only caveat to the apartment was that the shower was small for a large body like me. Acceptable by Paris standards though. The Special Apartments staff was very helpful and met us at the apartment on our arrival with a bottle of wine and much good information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Channing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sandiego32,

So glad that you enjoyed the apartment. it's true its very calm considering its in such a wonderfully lively neighbourhood. Thank you very much for sharing with other travellers here, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do that!

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back one day,

Warm regards,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked a studio apartment (#26) in Paris on the Ile St. Louis through Special Apartments. The location was fantastic, the accommodations very comfortable for 2. Working and communication with the company was very easy, and they kept us informed throughout the process. A few weeks prior to our trip they sent us an information packet - very thorough. When we arrived, we had some difficulty locating the address on the building (our oversight) we called the office and immediately got in touch with the "Special Apartments" agent who very shortly met us outside the building (we had walked past it). He got us into the building, made sure we were aware of door code and key usage, gave us a little overview of the apartment and made sure all of our questions were answered before he left.
The bathroom was a good size with a bathtub and shower combo. The double bed was very comfy, the T.V. had some English stations, free WI-FI, there was a small but efficient kitchen with a dishwasher and Combo clothes washer/dryer, and there were views of Notre Dame and partially obstructed Eiffel Tower. We were there mid-April, so we had no need for A/C, which the Apartment did NOT have, but it was on the 7th floor, and opening the french doors (to Juliette balconies) and the sky light on the other side gave a substantial breeze. Not sure how hot this unit would get in the summer, but in Spring, it was perfect. The Apartment is on the 7th floor, but there is a small elevator that goes up to the 6th floor.
We would absolutely book though Special Apartments again, and probably the same unit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Calihunnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Clihunnybunny,

thank you so much for writing about us here on Trip Advisor, it is invaluable for us! i'm so delighted that you enjoyed the apartment on Ile Saint louis; its one of my personal favourites and I'm glad that our staff took good care of you.

Please come back soon!

Warm regards,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were both treated so well by Special Apartments. They emailed us through all of the instructions of how to find their offices once we had reached Paris early in the morning..

We arrived at the office to be greeted by a very friendly man - who said we could leave our heavy bags with him. We then returned once our apartment was ready.

We arrived at our beautiful apartment to see a bottle of wine, and a selection of teas and coffees. Absolutely perfect..

A wonderful apartment which helped to make the most romantic break!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophiep83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sophie,

I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt welcomed by our staff and that you enjoyed the apartment. Its true Paris is such a romantic city!

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back one day!

Warm regards,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I book all the accommodation for our company travel and always struggled to find a good hotel in Paris. The hotels are generally not a great value for money, the rooms are tiny etc. Since I found Special Apartments our staff refuses to stay anywhere else, we have been using them for few years now and so far stayed in 7 different ones and loved them all! All the ones I have stayed in or visited were wonderful, decorated to a high standard and in good locations. It worked great for shorter or longer stays, staff that had to work in Paris for couple of weeks appreciated that they had a private home-like place to go back to where they don’t feel claustrophobic.
All the people I have dealt with at Special Apartments have been super helpful and pleasure to deal with which makes a nice difference from impersonal hotels.
If you are looking to book somewhere in Paris for however long you won’t find anywhere better. I have read in one of the reviews here that staying in the Special Apartments you feel like a real Parisian and I think that really sums it up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Jana,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! it really sums up what we aim to acheive and I'm so happy about that. I hope we can continue to offer you the same feeling for many years to come.

Best wishes,

John, Regis and all the team at Special Apartments Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#567 of 1,802 in Paris
324 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#867 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#142 of 1,802 in Paris
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#539 of 1,802 in Paris
553 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#657 of 1,802 in Paris
40 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Residence Alma Marceau
Residence Alma Marceau
#36 of 165 in Paris
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Special Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Special Apartments

Property: Special Apartments
Address: 51 rue de Turbigo | 75003, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Special Apartments Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing