We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special apartments.com : #007, 14 rue Bachaumont, Paris”
Review of Special Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Special Apartments
Ranked #32 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special apartments.com : #007, 14 rue Bachaumont, Paris”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I agree with the last reviewer on one count: do TAKE EAR PLUGS as the trains do run under this apartment all the time, some trains are louder than others. This did not bother me at all during the day. At night my friend, who was using the VERY COMFORTABLE SOFA BED , slept soundly without ear plugs. Apparently she can sleep through anything!
I slept soundly too, but only because I used good ear plugs. The trick with using earplugs is firstly to ensure you have the ones that cancel out most noise and secondly , if using regularly/frequently,to apply Vaseline to them prior to each use. This way they go in more easily and come out more easily, but more importantly you don't get sore ears. It is important to get them right in , hold until they have fully expanded. If you can still hear any noise you haven't got them in far enough.
In all other respects this is a FABULOUS APARTMENT.It is VERY COMFORTABLE and has good space. It is in the BEST LOCATION for exploring Paris. I have stayed in many apartments in different parts of Paris and this is the best spot.
The company specialapartments.com are the BEST COMPANY TO DEAL WITH.
They make everything so easy and are a pleasure to deal with.
I am surprised none of the reviews for this apartment #007 on their website mention the NOISY TRAINS though, because it is only FAIR that people should know this prior to choosing their apartment.
I would definitely stay here again, WITH MY EARPLUGS.
Although I may be tempted to look for another apartment close by that doesn't have trains running under it..... Then it will probably have some worse problem!
City Apartment living is seldom quiet.
I'll STAY WITH THIS ONE.
THANK YOU "SPECIAL APARTMENTS" and especially Regis and Geraldine who made everything so easy.
PS the bottle of red wine was DELICIOUS and much appreciated! As was the FREE Wifi and FREE International phone calls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyinOnAJetPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialApartments, Propriétaire at Special Apartments, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear FlyinOnAJetP...,

Thank you for your comments! I'm so glad you enjoyed the apartment and had a great stay!

People seem to have very different reactions to the problem of the metro running underneath the apartment...
Since the apartment is extremely quiet, you tend to notice it more; Actually many apartments in Paris are above metro lines, because the metro is pretty much everywhere in the city centre, but because generally there is other noise from the street and neighbors etc. you don't notice it so much. I would describe it as a very soft rumble from time to time that you only notice when there is no other noise at all.

Most of the guests that stay aren't bothered by this and we actually have quite a few guests that only want to stay in this apartment because they absolutely love it.

But, as you well point out, its good to be informed, in case there is someone who is extremely noise-sensitive.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back some time soon!

Warm regards,

Regis, John and all the team at Special Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
97
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

When renting an apartment in Paris, you have to wonder sometimes about the authenticity of whom you are renting from. It is always better to go through an agency and this was the first year we booked through Special Apartments. Although there were problems with the first place (rue Chapon) we stayed in, Régis and John saw to our every need and arranged for us to get into a different apartment, going out of their way to see that we were happy. This was not easy since it was Easter weekend, but they did it!
Trust this organization to make your stay in Paris comfortable!

Room Tip: Don't book apts thru Craigslist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjf.yul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Thanks to our gracious host, Regis Maurin, and his efficient assistant Geraldine, for a lovely, extended weekend in Paris on the Ile St. Louis. This was my 9th trip to Paris, and the third for my wife and one of our two adult daughters. Although we have stayed in lovely three and four star hotels dotting the City of Light, we have never experienced such a "tres ancienne, authentique Paris," at least not quite like this, We felt at home, almost like living in a room at the home of Gaston Lachaille from the film, "Gigi" (which by the way, you can see at the Musee Jacquesmart Andre where many interior scenes, and a few exterior shots, were filmed. And try the chocolat chaud in the museum's tea room...it's divine.) Special Apartment #30, Rue St. Louis en l'Ile, is tucked away in a neat courtyard, one and a half flights up, in a quiet, peaceful enclave. The neighborhood outside is like walking into an Utrillo Parisienne painting. Boulangeries, charcuteries, the original Bertillon Glaces et Sorbet, a few superb restaurants like Tastevin and l'Orangerie, sidewalk cafes, all awaited within a three or four minute stroll of our charming apartment. The 19th Century decor and antique fixtures and furnishings exceeded our expectations created by a phalanx of website photos, which alone are "tres formidable." An original parquet floor, marble fireplace and crystal chandelier, original wood paneling, an easy to operate high def TV, a power shower and washing machine, a great loft overlooking the foyer, dining area and properly equipped kitchen,,,well, again simply look at the photos!! I enthusiatically recommend this experience to those of you who dream of a civilized, quaint and sometimes elusive Paris. For those romantic souls seeking perfection, do not miss it.

This review is the best way I know of properly saying "thank you" to the staff at Special Apartments for their memorable gift to my family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbradyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My sister and I stayed in apartment 8 which is right off the rue Montorgueil. The apartment overlooks a courtyard and was very quiet and comfortable. We also appreciated that it had two separate beds (1 in the bedroom, the other in a sleeping loft over the dining area) rather than a fold-out sofa. The best part was the location; being able to walk down the street to rue Montorgueil and take advantage of the boulangeries, cheese shops, fruit and vegetable markets, cafes and restaurants. What a treat! We received excellent customer service from Regis and the other Special Apartments staff. I would definitely book accommodations with them again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Booked this through VRBO with very prompt responses from the agent. Picked up at CDG as arranged with Xavier there to meet us and show us the apartment. On a relatively quiet street 1/2 block off rue Montorgueil, and a short walk from Les Halles, the Pompidou, and the Louvre. Great cheese shops, bakeries and restaurants within a very short walk.

The apartment is on the 3rd floor (4th to those from the Americas) and there is a (tiny) elevator. The apartment itself is very clean and well appointed, and the bed was comfortable.

And then there's the 'but'. It turns out that the Metro runs right under the building with the result that you hear each and every train from the start of service at 5 AM until it stops at 1 AM. It doesn't quite rattle the windows but it's close. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davex25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Booking an unseen apartment for the extended family seemed at first to be a daunting task. However the staff at "Special Apartments" were prompt & helpful & all fell into place well. Apartment #037 was comfortably furnished for six people, the beds were warm & comfortable & the welcome basket of goodies was appreciated. The stairs are not for the infirm but the two of us over 70 enjoyed the exercise - the others needed it! I loved gazing out the bedroom window over the chimney pots of Paris to the floodlit Notre Dame. With her gentle flurries of snow, Paris was beautiful. Our apartment was so central we walked everywhere, even though the metro was close. There were numerous small restaurants, a bakery & produce shops & stalls very close by. Unfortunately no special icecream in December! We would definitely use Special Apartments again if we are lucky enough to return to Paris and have already recommended these apartments to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillian38-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in another special apartment on Ile st louis in October 2010. This one was a little more up market than the one we used last year, but it was well worth the little extra expense. Spacious and comfortable with the best location in Paris. Special apartments are ideal for independent travelers who want to enjoy the city from a comfortable base. The staff are available if necessary but do not interfere at all. Free telephone and internet really appreciated. This is our second stay with Special Apartments and hopefully not our last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rusanjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#570 of 1,802 in Paris
324 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
#151 of 1,802 in Paris
447 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#885 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#548 of 1,802 in Paris
553 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#659 of 1,802 in Paris
41 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Residence Alma Marceau
Residence Alma Marceau
#36 of 166 in Paris
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Special Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Special Apartments

Property: Special Apartments
Address: 51 rue de Turbigo | 75003, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Special Apartments Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing