We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel not so grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Voltaire
Ranked #1,660 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel not so grand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

There were no redeeming qualities at Grand Hotel Voltaire Paris. All hallways and rooms stank of old smoke, the linens and towels were torn and old, the rooms facing the road were extremely noisy, and the television was broken.

This is a six floor building with no elevator and a very difficult spiral staircase. Would be okay for 20€ but not 80€.

At breakfast, there were no plates or bowls provided. 6€ per person bought us coffee, 1 croissont and 1 roll. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the higher floors require lots of climbs up the stairs. If possible, avoid rooms copen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GumView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    85
    73
    87
See reviews for
68
123
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks and it was such a great experience. The rooms were nice an updated including the bathroom! Wonderful shower :) The hotel owners were more than kind and helpful. Example, i had fallen and hurt my foot so one night I ask for some ice, while there was no ice the owner graciously gave me a frozen bottle of water that he put in the fridge for himself. Every night after that with out my asking he would make me a tray of ice and give it to me at the end of the day. And that is just one of the many things they did to make me feel at home.

Happy American girl :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sioleary78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

the Hotel has small rooms and no elevator; however, rooms were very clean, bathrooms small but in good order, towels available, good shower; location is very good, and the attitude of reception employees was friendly and collaborative. We stayed four nights, and did not regret for a moment the choice of the place. We had one room at the 2nd floor and one at the fifth, view at the fifth was very nice, the room at the 2nd floor faced the courtyard, so it was very quiet. I will suggest the hotel to friends and colleagues. Very good.

Room Tip: if you do not speak French, speak slowly otherwise employees will not easily understand
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorlandone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Center of the city, across the train station were the reason we chose this place, room was small, no elevator, but clean and comfy. Staff were the family members who own the place, were very helpful and nice. Staying there gave us the real feel of Paris, our view from the room were the rooftops where you see the doves and pigeons fly by.

Room Tip: Small hotel with no fitness center, but walking is already a very good exercise; and no restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just returned from a city-break to Paris with our two boys. Stayed here in a quadruple room on the 2nd floor. It was facing the road which is a little noisy so we had taken ear-plugs but the double glazing meant we didn't need them. Bathroom was really clean. Loads of towels and very powerful shower. Beds were really comfy and there were extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The only negative things we might say about it is that there is no lift but this wasn't a problem to us. Also it is pretty plain and the decor is not the best but we found it to be clean and comfortable and for the price we were very pleased. The staff were all very helpful and willing to help us find ways around. It's very close to the Voltaire metro where there are nice cafes and restaurants. It's a half hour stroll down to the Seine via the Bastille and the canal. We enjoyed watching the world go by from our little balcony in the morning and evenings - the only times we were in the hotel. We really felt valued as guests - in other parts of the city we felt like they were sick of English tourists but not at this hotel!

Room Tip: I Googled to find the hotel phone number and phoned beforehand to check everything was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendoza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The manager was helpful, kind, knowledgeable, and patient with somewhat rusty French language skills. The hotel has been in his family for decades so there is pride of ownership and it shows. This hotel is conveniently situated close to Parisian attractions (just a short Metro ride away), and has a laundromat, restaurants, and a cybercafe within a block or two, along with grocery and other stores very nearby. Also, the 69 bus picks up just two blocks away. The friendly staff keep the place clean and a petit dejeuner is available in the mornings. There is some renovation going on during the day but you'll be out and about seeing Paris so this should not be a problem. A really excellent hotel for the money. At other locations in France on our trip we stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels but this was our best hotel experience. Bravo.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asmith731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Very rude staff they do not speak english well, this hotel has 1 star but it definitely does not even
Deserve the 1 star it has. This place should be a hostel. It has 6 floors with no elevator. The place
Always had a strong smell of food cooking which would go up to the 6th floor. Very expensive rate for
A place of this category; not even breakfast is included. Will definiteley never stay in this 'hotel'
Again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel de Belfort
#1,154 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Daval
Hotel Daval
#1,231 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Classics Hotel Bastille
#685 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Voltaire
Hotel Paris Voltaire
#1,303 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
#1,607 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Baudin
Hotel Baudin
#1,409 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Voltaire

Property: Grand Hotel Voltaire
Address: 150 boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,660 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Voltaire 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing