We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfa Hotel Nation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alfa Hotel Nation
Ranked #1,008 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you're seeking budget accommodation in Paris this is a very good hotel. If you don't intend spending much time in your room it is perfect.

The hotel offers very basic rooms with a toilet, wash basin, shower, bed and TV. I found the bed very comfortable (firm) which made my stay more pleasant. The room I had was painted deep blue which made it very dark and with a small room light it wasn't great to spend a lot of time in as it felt so dark.

The nearest station is Nation which is about 20 a minute trip from the nearest tourist attraction but offers good connections via several lines. I got the impression the neighbourhood isn't a particularly touristy one as I came across few tourists or people who spoke English. However, because of this it felt like I was experiencing Paris more authentically.

The hotel's staff speak very little English but are very friendly and are happy to explain things as best they can.

Previous reviews mention a building site next door but that doesn't exist any more as the hotel that was being built is now complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    228
    92
    24
    20
See reviews for
36
262
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great hotel if you'd like a convenient and inexpensive place to stay and you don't plan to spend a ton of time in your room (and, if you have a traveling companion, you are comfortable with having no privacy in a small room with a very small bathroom!). Surprisingly low price for Paris, and a good location to get around the city via the Metro. There is also a laundromat just about a block away (open something like 8-8).

I don't speak French, and the staff person who was at the desk each time I stopped to pick up or drop off my key didn't speak English so it was a little difficult to communicate. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel (an additional charge for it) so I can't comment on that.

Rooms are definitely on the compact side, and bathrooms are the pod-type bathroom.

The only hesitation I have about this hotel is that the walls between rooms seemed very thin. I could hear people in neighboring rooms sneezing, and it was loud enough that I had to resist saying "bless you!" If you happened to have loud neighbors it would make for a long night.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amberji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great find. It was quite cheap for Paris - so was frankly a bit wary. But no disappointments.
First time in this part of the City. Its about 10mins walk from exit 3 at the Nation metro (line 6). Easy to get to St Germain (apx. 20-30mins).

Friendly staff. Rooms small but adequate. Shower all in one "hose down" cubical. Quiet street. Breakfast OK. Planned for just one night but stayed for 3 in 2 rooms - on the 5th floor you can look over the roof tops . Good restaurant in the same street, Good local shops on the way to metro. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor to have a skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a lovely 3 nights stay in alfa. The location was brilliant and easy to access everywhere including airports.Rooms are basic but clean and excellent for price! Very easy access to internet. Staff are very friendly (which is hard to find in Paris). Comfortable bed. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Paris. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Low price with lift, about 7 -10 mins walk from metro or RER to hotel. After I get out RER A, I found a lift that goes to the G/F, so I can go to the hotel easily without any stairs.
Staff are nice and very helpful, they smile all the time, stay here I feel comfortable.

When I go back to airport, I take bus 351 at Avenue de Trone, 7 mins walk from hotel, transportation time is 1.15 hrs. Near bus 351, you can see a casino supermarket.

However, bathroom is very small.

I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fungbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The Alfa was very easy to get to from the airport. We took the train, so the trip was about an hour. The staff is quite helpful, though their English is lacking, so if you know any French, you'll be better off.

The room was much bigger than expected given the great price. As of this writing, though the hotel advertises WiFi, and though my iPhone detected it, it doesn't work in the room.

Breakfast was ready each morning in the basement with as much capuccino was we could drink and as many bread rolls as we could eat.

The only real downside was that we'd planned to bisit a couple of sites which ended up being closed due to holidays, but we didn't know that because when we asked the staff about any closures, they reassured us that everything was open. Nice going, guys. :/

Helpful?
3 Thank antonahill
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good budget hotel. Friendly staff, close to metro and cafes, bistros, and supermarkets. Rooms are very basic but clean. Slight musty smell like others have previously said but it's bearable.

If you only need a place to sleep then this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dropbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#53 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
#989 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#463 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Bastille Opera
Ibis Bastille Opera
#812 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel Nation

Property: Alfa Hotel Nation
Address: 12 rue Guenot, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,008 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alfa Hotel Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing