We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I swear there isn't a kitchen in this place”
Review of El sol - CLOSED

El sol
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I swear there isn't a kitchen in this place”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stumbled upon this spanish place after seeing the Eiffel Tower. We were originally planning to eat somewhere else but when we saw the pata negra hams hanging it caught our attention. The place (purposely avoiding the word restaurant) was just opening up. 2 small tables outside and 3-4 tables inside. Most of the place was filled up by the bar/hostess station area. The girl who sat us down, took our order and "made" our food was nice. But from the last table with a view into the "kitchen" I could see through the saloon doors to see a fridge/storage closet area and what had to be a small kitchenette. Ding! The microwave went off and we knew we were in trouble. We each ordered our own dish but the waitress told me they were out of my dish. I just assumed an ingredient was missing. But it must have been gone from the freezer selection they had to choose from. Mind you this is summer, Friday night, and the place first opened so I wasn't sure how they would be out of something. So I shared some of my husband's paella. It tasted the same quality as a boxed Zataran's jambalya rice- with a frozen mix of seafood added on top. The flavor was poor considering the meal was 19E!! Seriously?? And of course the water we ordered were 5E per bottle. I guess it all goes to rent because they are not investing anything into this place other than the ham hanging on the wall. A huge disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UCLAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Go for the ambience, friendly service but not the food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A very cute eatery off the Ave Franklin D. Roosevelt, with a welcoming and warm atmosphere. A small, bright space with only a few tables with stools. We originally went in for only a drink, but the server, who was very nice, recommended an array of options and ordered an entire meal for us. The suggested wine was pretty good. We were, however, disappointed with the quality of food. Order of the asparagus, sardines and anchovies were from a jar and can (and in fact we noticed later those items were available as merchandise for sale on a shelf). The iberico ham and manchego were fine but not overwhelming. This would be an ideal place for pre-dinner drinks or a quick stop if in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing ”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Small 15 seat restaurant with a limited menu. Very nice owner died everything himself . Cook, serve and clean. Appetizer of ham and cheese was good. We then ordered seafood paella. The dish was tasty but not true paella. It was more of a cross of chinese fried rice and paella. Very little seafood and little seafood flavoring. Could easily been a lot better. The wine was good. Maybe we just came on an off night. Other reviews gave loved this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarksHonestOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great wine, tapas and service. If our schedule would have allowed, we would have started every evening with drinks and appetizers here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaAbuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delicious and highly recommendable”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We visited this small and quaint place last week for lunch. We can not say enough good things about the quality of the products and the amazingly friendly service. We returned the following day to purchase several items to take home and the owner gave us several delicacies complimentary. A great place to catch a bite of outstanding and authentic Jambon for lunch or a quick snack . Do not miss!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikkrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El sol also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing