We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hate to be Negitive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best of France Tours

Best of France Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.27*
and up
Champagne Region Private Day Trip from Paris
Ranked #42 of 513 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We exclusively offer private premium guided tours to the following destinations: Champagne tastings in Reims/Epernay, D-Day Normandy landing beaches tours, Paris guided tours, Louvre, Orsay museum, Versailles, Loire castles & Giverny / Monet's gardens.
new york
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Hate to be Negitive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our initial email, in fact all our emails, with Philippe Brimont were very professional and his pricing for a group of six to Giverney/Versailles in line with other tours. We selected this tour because of the Trip Advisor reviews. Based on the reviews I really wanted Philippe to be our tour guide, but he was booked and this was at least three months in advance. The car picked us up on time, seemed fairly new and clean. We were greeted by our guide, Stephanie, who we were assured by Philippe was well trained and knowledge. Perhaps she was having an off-day, but we drove most of the way with absolute silence from Stephanie. She did give us the facts and history of Giverny/Versailles, but very dead-panned and uninteresting. She answered any questions we had but did not offer any ancedotes or interesting facts. Giverny was beautiful and not to be missed. Versailles is something you should see once, although I would recommend spending time at the Marie Antoinette Village. We had a wonderful lunch in Giverny at Les Nymphaes, highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestoffrance, Owner at Best of France Tours, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor user, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about our services.
Obviously you can't please all the people all of the time, although we come pretty close as one can tell by all of our previous reviews. We always try to give our best, hence the name of this company. Stephanie is actually one of our best licensed tour guides. She has been working with us for more than 10 years and we have received nothing but positive feedbacks from satisfied clients ever since, who were very happy of her tours and gave it 5-stars (we litterally received hundreds of letters and emails years before Tripadvisor even existed). If you would have asked me to give you this tour personally, even one year ago, I would have answered you that I only give three tours myself: Paris sightseeing tour, Normandy D-Day tours and private Champagne tours. The rest of the time I take care of the planning, emails, phone calls, accountancy, etc and believe me, there is already enough to do there!. We have great passionate tour guides who are specialized in Versailles and Giverny. As for your points of criticism related to Stephanie’s energy and enthousiasm, Stephanie always focuses on great storytelling on her tours and since our licensed guides are driving as well, they also have to focus on the traffic on the highway (thank God!) and can not talk to you all the time. In one of your other reviews while in France, you mentioned as a top TA contributor that you loved your experience in a restaurant on the second floor of a famous monument in Paris. Believe it or no, over the years, most of our clients complained about it, telling us that they found the food average and the prices way too high, so you see, we are all different, and I respect your points of view even though I don’t agree with them.
We would have appreciated a personal feedback sent by email to our company instead of just writing an anonymous review on TA.
Wishing you the best, Sincerely, Philippe Brimont owner of Best of France Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Tour To Pick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly, polite, professional, have great knowledge and an enjoyable experience; you wont be let down.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Normandy D-Day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This past September we toured Normandy with Best of France Tours company. I can honestly say that Philippe Brimont provides a unique Normandy D-Day tour experience. We discussed and planned the day in detail as we nneded to be back in Paris beforew 8 pm for a tour of the Eiffel Tower. Philippe was very prompt answering our emails.

Philippe picked is up at our hotel in Paris at 7 am as planned. He drives a very nice & comfortable Mercedes van. On the way to Normandy we stopped at a service station where we purchased great pastries and breakfast items. Philippe speakes flawless English, Spanish, French and German. He has a binder full of photos and documents that expand on his significant knowledge of the Normandy area and many facts about WWII and the Normandy invasion.

The first place we visited was Pointe du Hoc. We were one of the first groups to arrive, by the way our group consisted of 2 couples. The information that Philippe conveyed to us provided a pretty good idea of the events that occurred on June 6. 1944. His knowledge of the D-Day events is outstanding.

Our next stop was not scheduled, we just happened to ask Philippe if he could recommend a place to get some french caramels and he told us that he knew of a place not too far of our way. We stopped in D'Isigny at a caramel shop and it was awesome. We purchased several pounds of delicioius caramel and other assorted french candies.

We continued to Utah Beach and walked around several of the monuments took a quick glance to the museum. After leaving Utah Beach we drove thru several out of the way small roads to see the beautiful countryside and then see several German batteries that were placed further inland. One is called Batterie D'Azeville and another one is Batterie De Crisbecq. This fortifications are in very good shape,well worth the visit.

We continued to visit a church named Sainte Mere Eglise. This is the church with a steeple that became famous for the landing of a paratrooper named John Steele during the beggining of the invasion. The stained glass inside the church is interesting as it depicts that event. Very near the church is the Aiborne Museum. This is one of the best museums dedicated to D-Day. You can peruse all the exhibits and spend several hours. They have a glider and a C-47 used during the invasion. Lots of detailed information for history buffs.

Our next stop was Omaha Beach. It is hard to imagine how this beautiful pastoral place had several days of carnage in 1944. Philippe took us to the exact spot where a 19 year old German soldier manned a machinne gun from dawn to dusk. From wikipedia: "Heinrich Severloh was a soldier in the German 352nd Infantry Division stationed in Normandy in 1944. He is sometimes referred to as The Beast of Omaha. He rose to notoriety when he claimed in his autobiography that as a machine gunner in a simple foxhole he inflicted 1,000–3,000 casualties to American soldiers landing on Omaha Beach on D-Day."

Our last stop was the American Cemetery. It is a breathtaking and solemn place. Hard to describe the emotions that you feel at the sight of thousands of white marble crosses. Our world had a profound change due to the events that occured in Normandy in 1944.
On the way to Paris we visited the town of Bayeux. Very beatiful village. Next time we will visit the Cathedral and see the famous tapestry. We got back in time and Philippe dropped us off right next to the Eifffel Tower. During our travels to and from Normandy Philippe pointed out many other historical places and answered many questions about life in France. We covered politics, taxes, art, food and travel in general. We did learned a lot about French culture!

We thanked Philippe for providing us with a incredibly enjoyable day! Best tour bar none. This tour is moderately expensive and well worth every penny (or euro). Philippe is very professional with a very good sense of humor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Febco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paris in Three Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked our Paris tours through Best of France Tours. Our group included two seniors and two young adults. We had limited time and knew exactly what we to see during our visit to Paris. Philippe was extremely easy to work with and answered all communications promptly and professionally. He booked a Paris city tour, private tours of St. Chapelle, Notre Dame, the Louvre and Versailles as well as provided transportation for our group for the two nights we were in Paris. We also booked return transportation to the Gare du Nord for our trip back to London. We had three tour guides during our stay--Philippe, Muguet and Stephanie--all were extremely knowledgeable, articulate and very patient with our multitude of questions. Transportation was in a very comfortable van and the guides were always on time. We recommend Best of France Tours to anyone wishing personalized tours of Paris. Thanks to all our fabulous guides--you made our trip!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“D-Day beaches in one day from Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I agree with others' comments about this tour company - very easy for Americans to work with and completely professional and prompt. The D-Day beaches in Normandy are a long day trip from Paris (12 hours +) but if, like me, this is on your "bucket list" the private tour with Best of France is the way to go. Our driver/guide was prompt and personable and her English was good. She gave us interesting background history of Normandy and took us to a delightful and typical Norman coutry restaurant for lunch. My ony small quibble was that she was not an expert on the World War II history of the Normandy landing. We were taken to the key locations and left on our own to explore - which was OK, but it would have been better to have had a guide knowledgeable in the area's wartime history. Overall, though, a great experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ggharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best of France Tours also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Best of France Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing