We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Paris trip!”

Best of France Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$227.67*
and up
D-Day Normandy Landing Beaches Private Day Trip from Paris
More Info
$160.57*
and up
Champagne Region Private Day Trip from Paris
Ranked #52 of 550 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer since 2007 private premium guided tours to the following destinations: Paris museums, Paris walking tours, Versailles & Giverny, Champagne tasting tours in Reims/Epernay, D-Day Normandy private tours, Louvre, Orsay museum tours, Loire castles tours, World War One Tours, Fontainebleau & Vaux le Vicomte tours, Auvers/Van Gogh tours.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Paris trip!”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We read about the Normandy trip on Trip Advisor. Everyone raved about it. So my husband and I booked the trip with Philippe at Best of France Tours. It was beyond fabulous. Philippe is affable, well-informed, intelligent and a pleasure to travel with. He is so well versed on Normandy. We feel like we learned so much. We were out for the entire day from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. and every minute was enlightening and fun. Philippe says Normandy is his passion, and now it is ours. This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Paris.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlotta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Should not be missed.”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We took this trip with Best of France. Our tour guide was Phillippe Brimont. We read several reviews on trip advisor and decided to book this trip. It was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Phillipe is intelligent, well-informed, prepared and affable. Phillipe took us everywhere in the area. He is a student of Normandy. It is his passion. He brought the Normandy invasion to life.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlotta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our guide was very informative and thoughtful”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My daughter and I booked a half day trip to Giverny. Our guide was Philippe, he was very informative and thoughtful. He took us through the pretty back roads of Paris, not the motorways, and through the little villages to Giverny, giving out lots of information about each one we passed.

The trip was very enjoyable. highly recommended

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sgr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travel Like A Celebrity!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Over the past several years, we have hired Best of France for an exclusive tour of Reims (see my past review) as well as numerous airport transfers. Early in September we decided to revisit Reims with our adult daughters and this time spend the night. Of course, we called Philippe at Best of France Tours: there is no better guide, no better tour than one you will take with Philippe. We told Philippe exactly what we wanted: a tour of several very little champagne houses, lunch at a special restaurant---special being one no tourist ever knew to visit, and a side trip to the Cathedral in Reims to see the magnificent Chagall windows. We also need to have all 10 (!) of our pieces of luggage transferred from one hotel in Paris to another prior to driving into Reims. Philippe, who had picked us and all our luggage up at the airport a few days earlier, met the four of us at our hotel with his gigantic van and made the hotel transfer completely painless. If you have ever dealt with Paris taxis then you know how daunting this task could have been. On our way of the the city, Philippe, who knows I am a history buff, took us to an ancient amphitheatre right in the heart of Paris that I had never heard of or knew existed! It was quite early in the morning, and we were the only ones there. Philippe knew if it was early he could park his car right in front of the entrance. We had the most magical time in that fantastic place! We were then off to Reims! Philippe is an absolute encyclopedia of knowledge when it comes to all things historical in France. What an interesting trip that was! As promised, Philippe brought us to champagne houses that the public never gets to see. While at one house for an extremely rare public visit, he spoke to the owner and got permission for us to walk onto the estate. There was a magnificent castle sitting beside a gorgeous lake and a massive glass greenhouse which we would have missed because they could not be seen from the road. What a treat that was! Philippe then brought us to a wonderful little restaurant which is run by a Michelin star chef. We never would have given the place a second look. it was very modern looking and you could not see into the restaurant from the street....there may have been a nondescript hotel attached to it...i dont really know because it was so almost plain looking compared to the cute little authentic type places all around. What a mistake it would have been not to go into that restaurant and thank goodness Philippe brought us there! We had one of the finest meals of our trip and for a fraction of what we would have paid in Paris! We asked Philippe to join us for lunch and we all had such a wonderful time; Philippe is a charming fellow as well as useful fellow in places like Reims where the streets twist and turn and the exclusive little champagne houses you would like to visit are hidden from view. After lunch, we traveled to the champagne house of one of Philippe's friends. We were given a behind the scenes tour of the winery and the process by which champagne is made. We were very lucky to be there during crush and view everything first hand. On our way to our hotel, Philippe, as requested, brought us to the Cathedral in Reims. He let us out of the van as close as we could get to the Cathedral and then waited for us while we spent as much time as we wanted there. What a luxury not to have to race back to a tour bus or visit with a huge group of people. We stayed overnight at Les Crayeres, a gorgeous manor house/gourmet restaurant which Philippe had recommended to us the last time we visited Reims with him. Again, we would not have known to stay there had Philippe not suggested it. Philippe has never steered us wrong and as a matter of fact, our entire wonderful trip to Reims would have not happened if it wasn't for Philippe. He listened to what we wanted and designed a tour which was planned down to the last little detail that would thrill and satisfy us. Of course, with masses of suitcases filled with bottles of champagne, we again hired Philippe to transport us from our hotel in Paris several days later, to the airport. Personally, I cannot imagine airport transfers any other way: we are completely spoiled. I really cannot recommend Best of France Tours highly enough. It is a completely decadent way to travel---see what you want, spend as much time there as you like, enjoy experiences only a native would know how to find for you. If you can dream it up, Philippe can make it happen for you. Can't wait until next year!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paris - City of Beauty”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I were in Paris in July 2011 - we had spent a week in Spain and went to Paris mainly to be participants in the final day of the Tour du France - July 24, 2011. Paris is where my husband proposed to me two years ago. There is so much to do - but we found the red bus tour - 26 Euros - good for two days an excellent way to see the city. We also bought Metro tickets and saw other parts of Paris - Place du Concorde has very beautiful gardens. The Tour du France was a "bucket list" item and we have a fantastic time. We had booked tickets through a company in the US. What an exciting day. We had followed the Tour on tv but to see the teams in person, cycling at a very fast pace on the Champs du Elysees will remain a magical moment forever. Food is expensive in Paris and be wary of pick pockets. The people of Paris speak very good English but if you have basic French, you will get by.

We love the city of Paris and will return - hopefully to see the north and south of France.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol170981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best of France Tours also viewed

 

Been to Best of France Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing