We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual tea-pairing experience marred by stifling heat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yam'Tcha

Yam'Tcha
Ranked #492 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $139
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Les Halles
texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unusual tea-pairing experience marred by stifling heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were really looking forward to this meal for its unusual pairing of tea and food. The food was good, and every dish had an Asian influence. This worked well with most dishes, though there were a couple of missteps (too much vinegar in one dish, for example). The tea was definitely a unique experience, and the tea master took time to explain the region and flavor profile of each. Unfortunately, it was a hot day in July, there was no air conditioning, and one sad ceiling fan could do nothing with the humid air. We literally sweat through the entire meal and could not linger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    45
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
545 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“French/Cantonese twists worthy of a star...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a very nice meal at Yamtcha, with some creative savoury dishes. Staff and Chef and her husband are friendly and professional. They work hard for this small restaurant, 22 seats or so?

While the savoury dishes made the grade, including wonderful Pigeon cooked HK style. The desserts at the end were very average and not inventive. Also no Petit Fours at the end?

The tea pairing is a very good idea and both teas/wines are well priced.

Priced in the range with degustation at 100 Euros. Good but not Great. Hopefully the chef and team will continue to evolve and create an even better culinary experience...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“OH my God, we almost cried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are from Vancouver which has more than it's share of Chinese restaurants and cropping up recently are fusion restaurants, like the excellent Bao Bei, a chinese bistrot. It was to be our reference point as we approached it in the sense of whether it would be a French novelty because of the added Chinese element.
Well, the flavours were so wonderful that we really wanted to cry. My son wanted to know if the lobster soup could be taken intravenously.
The restaurant is not cheap: 100 Euros pp for dinner plus 20 Euros of tea pairings which my son had and wine pairings for 35 Euros which my wife and I had.
It started with a cucumber and sea grass salad in a rice vinegar dressing. Fresh, crispy, and oh so flavourful.
Then the lobster soup with Chinese flavours
Then a fish course and then duck which was about when my son thought we had passed out and gone to heaven.
Then dessert, very good but not particularly remarkable.
My only disappointment was that the bread were the steamed buns that one often finds at dim sum filled with barbequed meat. Very good when just brought and still warm, doughy as they cooled.
The chef turns her magic out of a kitchen that cannot be more than 25 square meters where she, 3 sous chefs and a dishwasher carry on. A couple of servers and her Chinese husband who does the tea pairings rounded out the team.
I am still in heaven. The only downer was not the fault of the restaurant but a rather loud American man who kept on about how his wife did not understand him, was famous and he was ignored. This went on to his much younger girlfriend who spent the evening looking dreamily at him. I don't think they noticed their meals and almost spoiled ours but the food was so good they were unsuccessful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Came in with high expectation but wasn't really met. Atmosphere was pleasant so had a good time. Food and tea didn't live up to the hype.

Helpful?
Thank virus_x22
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Experience of Tea-Pairing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We finally managed to get a reservation in this wonderful restaurant after 2 tries. Located in the 1st arrondissement of Paris and in a half-timbered building, it is pretty well-hidden, but a real gem! The chef was trained in L'Astrance and Bo Innovation of HK, and presents a unique French-Cantonese fusion cuisine found no where else. Little known is that in fact, its a husband-and-wife venture, the husband the Tea Sommelier. As we were fluent in Mandarin as well, we engaged in much conversation with the husband, M.Chan, and had the experience to understand the idea of tea-pairing (everyone knows about wine-pairing but hey! the tea pairing works REAL well!)
No à la carte menu here, but a lunch menu from Wednesdays to Fridays and a "decouverte" menu otherwise. I will strongly recommend the tea-pairing.
Expect high quality ingredients matched with painstaking preparation work, and chinese tea served with precision - at the right temperatures and the right strength. Totally worth every cent we paid and every calorie we ingested!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yam'Tcha also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Yam'Tcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing