We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location for sight seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Petit Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Petit Paris
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location for sight seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Excellent base especially if you don't like large chain hotels. We could walk down to Notre Dame in 10 minutes, try the cafe on your right just before you arrive at Notre Dame was great value. Back to the hotel the room was not large but well appointed, big wardrobe space, separate loo and fab shower. What makes this such a good choice is the quirky decor and the excellent service from Elyssa who was working the weekend we stayed, Elyssa could not of been more helpful and friendly as she made us feel so welcome and gave good recommendations on where to eat and how to get around. A big thank you Elyssa you made our trip very special. We did not eat breakfast as it did seem a little expensive and we were eager to go exploring. The facility for hot drinks from mid-day was a good idea although does not quite replace the ability to make a drink in your room. We also did not use the honesty bar but it looked to work very well another really good idea from this special little hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hil150810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    280
    41
    4
    2
See reviews for
130
659
55
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited the hotel over the Easter weekend and stayed for three nights. We were very impressed overall and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a modern, clean, quiet base to explore Paris in a good location.

First the good points. We arrived at the hotel prior to check in time and the gentleman on reception was more than happy to store our bags whilst we went off for the day. However, he went above and beyond, and asked us whether we needed any help deciding where to go, provided us with a map and drew on the hotel location and the points we wanted to visit. A very good first impression! The lobby itself is modern and inviting. As others have said, there is complimentary tea and coffee from 12 noon to 12 midnight and a honesty bar from 6pm onwards. There was a nice selection of teas, as well as mineral water, which was nice to return to after a long day exploring. The free wifi worked very well in the lobby and it was a good place to sit and relax and make restaurant reservations/go on TripAdvisor! There were some leaflets in the lobby as well as some general information about locally recommended restaurants and things to do. Make sure you get the leaflet about the Paris Museum Pass - we made a considerable saving from this and it allows you to queue jump at a number of attractions.

The room itself was modern and well decorated. The bed had clean, comfy sheets and on Easter day we returned from our day out to find small but delicious Easter eggs on the bed - a nice touch. The bathroom was fantastic - there was only a shower, but this is all we would want anyway, and it was extremely hot and powerful. Great for recharging those batteries after a long day walking around Paris. The bathroom had modern tiling and little tiny lights that made it into something special. The toilet was in a separate little room. We were on the third floor and had a view down to the Courtyard (if you looked hard) or otherwise onto the rooftops of neighbouring buildings. There was a half decent hairdryer, L'Occitane toiletries and complimentary water each day.

We couldn't fault the staff - helpful and friendly at all times.

Location was great - 2 minute walk to the RER which links directly to CDG airport and the stop for Notre Dame. We mostly walked everywhere, it was a couple of minutes to the Pantheon and 10/15 minutes to Notre Dame area. Anywhere else (such as Montmartre, Arch de Triomphe) is easily accessible by Metro. The surrounding area was nice, felt very safe and included a number of nice restaurants. We would recommend Les Papilles (30 second walk away) which we visited and really enjoyed - make reservations.

Now to the down sides.. I must say that overall we enjoyed this hotel immensely but there were just a few niggles that, for me, stopped it being the perfect 5. Admittedly we booked a standard room, but it was tiny. I have not stayed in other Paris hotels, but have stayed in New York and London and had bigger rooms for comparable prices. There were also no tea and coffee making facilities in the room - I appreciate that there are in the lobby, but only from midday and I like to have a hot drink in the morning whilst I have a shower and get ready and we weren't able to do that (unless one of us wondered out to the street to locate a cafe to bring one back from). The wifi was patchy at best in our room. Finally, the air conditioning unit seemed to be quite noisy at night, to the extent that my husband had to get up and try and switch it off/play around with it. If these small issues were sorted, this hotel would have been perfect.

Overall, a great experience and we would happily go there again (although we would probably opt for a superior room).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravelChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great smallish hotel in the 5th arrondissement (near the Latin Quarter.) Rooms were very clean and bright, tub/shower combo was nice and spacious. L’Occitane toiletries were a nice touch. Separate toilet was ‘euro-cramped.’ Nice amenities included coffee and tea in the evening, mini refrigerator in the room and bottled water included. Small patio which is surprisingly quiet with two small tables and two chairs each for a relaxing snack on the ground floor. Everything looks like it was completely renovated recently and is a truly modern hotel. We even had a nice balcony which was perfect for an evening glass of wine. Beds were extra comfy.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful, especially Karim who was more than happy to offer suggestions for saving time and/or money. English is no problem at all and the hotel appears to cater to Americans, who comprised about 80% of the guests. Breakfast is € 12.00 pp, evening beer / wine is € 5.00 glass. Better suggestion for a more ‘authentic’ French breakfast is baguette and cheese w/ fruit, although the morning manager was a bit rude in kicking us out of the lobby area when we brought in our croissants and pain au chocolate. Said we were, “bringing our own food to the restaurant”. Hmmm…I thought they were running a hotel catering to guests, not a restaurant. We just passed it off as being old-school ‘rude French’ who hasn’t figured it out yet. The rest of the staff was great.

Fairly close to the RER B subway line (7 minute walk) and the Luxembourg gardens. Same distance to the Pantheon, where we picked up our museum passes (very short ticket line.)

Tips:
Lots of affordable restaurants in the Latin Quarter, a favorite of many is Polidor about 10 minute walk away. Dinner for three, including starters and wine, was € 71.00 total.
Bread / croissants: Go out the door, turn right and at the second street (a big street) turn left. First store on the left has fresh bread all day long. Along the way you will pass a little grocery selling fresh fruit.
Cheese/etc. CremerieSte. Hyacinte. Same street as hotel, about two minutes walk (exit hotel, turn left, walk two minutes – 198 Rue St. Jacques
Sweets: Regis, right next to cheese shop, 200 Rue St. Jacques
Wine:Nicolas, other side of cheese shop.
Quick meal: Vietnam Luxembourg, one minute past the cheese shop. Skip the one you pass on the way – not good.
Snack – right out the front door, Au Vieux Cedre, Lebonese wraps.

Nice extras:
Free wifi which worked pretty well (sometimes bogged down when lots of people were on it).
Computer in the lobby for guests to use
Printer for guests use came in really helpful when work sent me an important document to review.
Electronic juke box where you can select the songs playing in the foyer / tea room area (hint, it’s on the wall near where the stairs go up)

Overall, would highly recommend if you can afford it. We paid € 272.00/night for two adults and one child (about US$ 350.00 / night at the time). Solid 4-star hotel. Will be happy to stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a balcony, but it's a real plus for relaxing with a glass of wine aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FamilyGuyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights from the 31st of March to the 4th of April 2012. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful - recommending and booking our evening meals for us. Our room was stylishly decorated and very clean, although on the small side. It was on the fourth floor at the back of the Hotel and was very quiet at night. The lounge area downstairs was very homely. They have an honesty bar from 6pm on an evening, which we used for pre-dinner drinks and thought this was a great idea.
The hotel is in a good location, within 15 minutes walking to Notre Dame. We would certainly stay here again - and we're not easy to please!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

From the beginning the entire staff was so kind! Was a real pleasure to stay in this hotel. No doubt why all the great comments I read here to decide to stay here. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and truly stylish. The decoration is all about design, beds are comfy, toilet has great products, perfect breakfast and nothing to say about the coffee & tea available at the reception lounge that is free whenever you want. This hotel is really nice located, just few steps from RER, Luxembourg station and also, close to cluny st and odeon st. There are many interesting things to do around and good restaurants to choose. My stayed here was perfect! The best combination of great location, pleasant hotel and kind staff always considered! I would definitively choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: Improve wifi connections at the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anacattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

It is a small hotel with very helpful staff. Traveling with our family of 6 we stayed in the "cottage" accessed through the courtyard. That made it nice and quiet. The parents room was a decent size for Europe, and the upstairs room was a good size with a queen bed and pullout queen bed that was very comfortable for the 4 children. The children commented on the stylishness of the hotel and the room, so you know it stood out that they would even notice. A 10 minute walk to Notre Dame, and just a 3 minute walk to the RER B, made it very convenient. We chose to eat at the many coffee shops in the area for much less than the hotel breakfast. The one mishap was that they did not resupply the toilet paper, which seems strange to overlook.

Room Tip: We really like the "cottage" for our family and would highly recommend it for a family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just returned from the Hotel Le Petit Paris and upon arrival we were advised that there were no classic rooms available and they had upgraded us to a superior room free of charge which was extremely good of them. Like other reviewers have said the RER is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it is an exceptionally good service to and from the airport. At 9.10 Euros each it’s a bargain rather than paying over 50 Euros for a taxi.

The room itself is on the small side but it is Paris, we stayed in room 501 and it was on the top floor. The bathroom was beautiful and I found there was enough room to put toiletries in the bathroom and there was also a large fitted wardrobe located in the bedroom which was more than adequate for our belongings.

I had previously read the TA reviews and people have stated that the mini bar is completely free. This does not seem to be the case anymore, the water is free (which is replenished daily) but the cans of soft drinks and orange juice are 3 Euros each.

The hotel has feather pillows so anyone with allergies will need to request synthetic pillows, unfortunately they are extremely flat and we had a little trouble getting more than one each as apparently they had ran out. This was rectified the next day but neither my husband nor I slept very well throughout the entire holiday. The showers are fantastic and really powerful but this meant I could hear next doors shower very early in the morning and you could also hear them talking. The soundproofing on the doors/windows are very good as we did not hear any street noise but the soundproofing in the room leaves a lot to be desired.

The breakfast looked absolutely terrible; considering we are in Paris I expected an array of croissants, cheese, meats, bread for a continental breakfast. There were a few bits of fruit, the smallest croissants I have ever seen which looked stale and some babybel cheese. At 12 Euro's each it was a bit of a joke. The bedroom had a small table and chair so each morning we went to the local bakery (there is one a couple of doors away and one a 5 minute walk away) and bought croissants, bread, smoked salmon (from the supermarket - located a few doors away) and cheeses from the food market located near the Eiffel Tower.

As for the location, it is located close to Luxembourg gardens which are beautiful, Notre Dame is a 10 minute walk away and the Pantheon is a 5 minute walk away. We found that the nearest metro stop that takes you directly to the Eiffel tower is from Saint Michel which is near to Notre Dame (15 minute walk away). We also used this stop to get to the Champs Elysees but you have to change metro 3 times but at 1.70 euro a ticket it’s a bargain.

The Latin Quarter itself was fantastic, I much preferred this area to the Eiffel Tower as I felt safe walking around the Latin Quarter at night unlike the Eiffel Tower area. One of the best restaurants is Le Petit Chatelet which is located across the road from Notre Dame (Separate review). We did find that all the restaurants we went to did not have a menu in English but it was fun trying to decipher the menus. You will find that the Latin Quarter is much cheaper than the Eiffel Tower/Champs Elysees area but the quality is still superb. The home made baguette sandwiches were 3.70 Euros each where as at the Champs Elysees it was 7 Euros for a sandwich that had seen better days.

All in all the hotel is very stylish, in a good location but I feel as the sleep quality was so poor if we return to Paris we would look at staying somewhere else in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KerryLaurence121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#123 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#130 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#59 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#122 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#20 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#131 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Paris

Property: Hotel le Petit Paris
Address: 214 rue Saint Jacques, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Petit Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, next to the Luxemburg gardens, this design hotel opens in July 2009. Behind a typical Saint-Germain-des-Pres facade, the Hotel le Petit Paris reveals a luxurious, contemporary interior, opening out onto a patio. The 20 rooms correspond to 20 ways to discover Paris trough the ages with a modern twist. Several rooms feature a terrace while others offer a view of Paris' roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel le Petit Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing