We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Petit Paris
Ranked #95 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days recently. It's a beautiful hotel in a great part of Paris. It is quite small and the staff are great and really helpful but there are some quirks...

The rooms are small

The mini-bar is not cold and only has soft drinks (it seems that they don't want you to use it as it was unplugged and the information leaflet in the room states that it is not a fridge, but it is!)

There are no tea making facilities in the room but there is free coffee and tea in the lounge area

In the lounge area which is tiny, by reception there are floor to ceiling shelves which you would think would be full of books and magazines to read but the shelves are stocked with only coloured boxes artfully arranged... but empty!

The hotel is really clean which is nice but it gets a bit much when the hoover is on for most of the day

The maid entered our room (even when we were not in) even although we had put the do not disturb sign on the door. Cleanliness seems to be almost an obsession in the hotel but there are no waste bins anywhere

In our double room there was only one chair at our small table so if we wanted to sit down to have a brought in drink one of us had to sit on the bed

No meals are served except for continental breakfast at a charge of 12 Euros extra per person. There is a room service menu though. But we didn't use it. It would have been too cramped in the small room for a meal to be enjoyed.

The lounge area only seats 12 people max which isn't good in a 20 room hotel

Our bed linen and towels were changed every day, even the towels we had not used. Not very eco-friendly. And so even though we were happy to sleep in our bed using last nights linen it was not an option.

----------------------------

In short the hotel is almost like an up-market hostel. It's a great place but has many small niggles which let it down. I wouldn't stay there again but if you can put up with the relentless cleaning regime and style-over-comfort policy it's worth a visit.

For 250 euros a night I would have expected a bigger room and at least a restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    294
    44
    4
    2
See reviews for
138
690
59
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We loved the Hotel Le Petit Paris. Staff were wonderful. Really liked the complimentary tea, coffee and biscuts in the lobby. Having the honor bar was also a nice convenience. Our room was beautifully decorated, a comfortable size, with a large bathroom. We stayed in Room #1 which we believe might be the handi-cap room as it is the only room on the first floor - very convenient for accessing the refreshments in the lobby. :-)

Location was perfect. Would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Have dinner just down the street at Restaurant Perraudin. We went there on our last night because it was so close and we wished we had gone earlier. It was the best meal we had! Service was great and food was so yummy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May based on trip advisor reviews & were not disappointed.
LOCATION
It is wonderfully easy to access from CDG airport via the RER B. As mentioned by others it is in a lovely area & really easy to walk to just about anywhere which is what we did. We left from the Gare de Lyon & it was about a 10 min cab ride on a sat morning
STAFF
The staff are delightfully helpful & stored our bags as we arrived very early & took them to our room before our return from sightseeing. Their recommendations for local restaurants were superb & they were happy to make the reservations for us. When friends who were meeting us to go for dinner arrived they offered them complimentary nespresso coffee whilst they waited for us. They all seemed to speak good english &
could not have been more helpful.
ACCOMODATION
As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms are very small but stylish. We had a classique room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. If you had 2 large suitcases you would be a bit pushed for space but we were travelling light so was not a problem. We loved having a proper double bed (as opposed to 2 singles pushed together with 2 single doonas which seems common in much of Europe) & it was probably the most comfortable bed of our trip with lovely fluffy doona, great pillows & beautiful linen.
The bathroom was perfect - loved the twinkly lights & big shower with good water pressure. Complimentary soft drinks & water in the room was also a nice touch
EATING & DRINKING
We had the breakfast both mornings & loved it. Freshly squeezed juice, beautiful fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, really fresh & delicious bread & pastries with jams, ham & cheese. My only comment is that I don't get why they don't offer the nespresso coffee for breakfast - they put that out after breakfast for complimentary use for the rest of the day & give you a flask of plunged/brewed coffee with breakfast. Contrary to other reviewers we thought the breakfast was actually quite good value for 12euros but maybe that is because of the rate of exchange with the Aussie dollar. Given that just a coffee & croissant in some cafes in Paris can cost around 6euros, the full spread for 12 seems pretty OK. The dining & lounge area is very chic & quite funky & we loved the honesty bar which was beautifully set out of an evening for you to help yourself & sit in the courtyard or in the lounge area. Gin & tonic probably a little pricey at 10 euros but as soon as we poured ourselves a drink the staff appeared with a complimentary bowl of snacks. I assume you could bring your own drinks & sit in the same area which would be smart if you were saying for longer

All in all we loved this place & have already recommended it to friends we travelled with later in our trip who are returning via Paris. It is certainly not as cheap as an apartment in Paris but they often have a week minimum stay. For a stay of only a few days or simply to stay somewhere & be looked after in chic, contemporary style & in a central location I highly recommend it

Room Tip: Suggest the larger rooms with big cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

A small boutique hotel. It’s very nicely styled with modern sheik fixtures, funky colour schemes and well laid out small rooms. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe room. We did not find it too small at all.

A lot of nice touches such as led lighting in the bathrooms, free non-alacholic drinks in the room mini-bar, great beds. Many nice restaurants very close. Fruit shop, bottle shop, delicatessen etc right outside.

The staff is extremely friendly. Genuine , helpful and no attitude.

We had a problem with a leaking shower that seemed hard to fix, but that did not damper the experience.

Great toiletries. Some French brand my wife liked.

Overall, very good value in my opinion. The price, service, quality and location combination is very hard to bet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdundan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Recently stayed here for a quick 3 night paris jaunt.

As the name implies, this is a small boutique hotel with small rooms which is what one expects in paris. In terms of value, I would say it was average with a modern, new, (again it is small) room with good amenities. They had a daily breakfast that we did not try (it cost extra) as we just ate at local bakeries.

in terms of location, it is nicely situated near the sorbonne within walking distance of RER, metro, notre dame, etc.

The service was also excellent with good restaurant recs, directions, etc. We also enjoyed the free coffee/tea/water in the afternoon/evening.

Would definitely recommend for a quick trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel de le Petit in Paris last summer. It was absolutely wonderful & charming. I only say charming because the room was small, but big in European standards I hear. The entire hotel was kept meticulously clean. The staff were amazing to work with. They helped us arrange a variety of evening activities during our stay, including transportation to & from.

They offered to give us "direction" if we didn't know where we wanted to head on any given day, and were very helpful in every way possible. We were at the front desk nearly every day asking questions and they were always happy to help. We felt very fortunate that they were located only a few blocks away from the RER and the Metro. There was a laundry mat just down the block as well, which was great considering we were there for 11 days.
I really can't say enough about the tremendous service we received during our stay. When we return to Paris, we will definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been to Paris many times, but this last vist was the first time I stayed at Le Petit Paris. I was very pleased overall. The hotel was immaculate, modern, and very comfortable. The honesty bar was a nice touch. My room (a "classic") was a bit small, but since I was on my own that didn't matter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMN_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#123 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#138 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#161 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#56 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#103 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Paris

Property: Hotel le Petit Paris
Address: 214 rue Saint Jacques, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Petit Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, next to the Luxemburg gardens, this design hotel opens in July 2009. Behind a typical Saint-Germain-des-Pres facade, the Hotel le Petit Paris reveals a luxurious, contemporary interior, opening out onto a patio. The 20 rooms correspond to 20 ways to discover Paris trough the ages with a modern twist. Several rooms feature a terrace while others offer a view of Paris' roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Petit Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing