We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, overall good stay, minor objections”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Ranked #1,480 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 28, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, it is difficult to imagine a better location for tourists in Paris.
I stayed in the one-bedroom apartment 305 with my family (I, my wife and two daughters - 1 adult and 1 children) during a week (9th-16th Feb 2012). The windows faced an open internal courtyard and the apartment was impressively quiet, considering the busy trafic in that area. Free wi-fi internet was fine. Bathroom was very good, including a heater that was valuable during that very cold days in Paris.
We didn't try the hotel breakfast (13 Eur), but prepared our own in the room with nearby bought delicious breads, cheeses etc.
Overall stay was very good and I would stay there again, despite some minor objections:
- furniture lacks pieces to support the bagages (we handled them on the floor).
- apartment lacks a safe to hold some valuable items (fly tickets, notebook etc).
- bed and sofabed were comfy, linen and pillowcases were good, but thin flocky pillows were unpleasant.
- the apartment kitchen is not functional: there is no microwave oven and no dish rack, coffee-maker cable is so short that it doesn't reach the electric jack, there are only 2 pans plus 1 frying pan, all of them so big that the stove does not have room to heat 2 of them simultaneously. Carpeted kitchen floor does not contribute to room cleanliness.
- Reception personel is friendly, but it was necessary to ask them about basic questions that the hotel should inform us anyway (where to dispose the garbage etc). I was also suprised that the the hotel desk was closed on that Sunday.
- apartments are not smoke-free. A message in the apartment requests that guests open the windows to smoke. Sometimes there was a very strong smell of cigarette in the corridor and lift hall.
- apartments are not cleaned during a less-than-a-week stay, what we were advised in advance and considered acceptable. But we had some difficulties in getting towels changed without extra charges (4 days after our arrival!).
- we asked the hotel desk personel to arrange a taxi to transport 4 people to Orly airport. The service was quoted 45 Eur, but at the airport the driver demanded 55 Eur, arguing that 45 Eur was the price for up to 3 people. So, either the initial hotel information was incorrect or the driver arranged by the hotel was not reliable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed twice in this apartment hotel and love it! Absolutely perfect location for a holiday in Paris! Just right across Galeries Lafayette & Printemps, Roissy bus (from CDG) is just around the corner, RER entrance (Auber - direct line to Disney World!) is right in front of the hotel, and just a short walk to Metro & L'Open Tour bus stop.

We got the one bedroom apartment which is very spacious, has little kitchenette complete with pots & pans plus the utensils, and toasty warm heaters in every room (even in the bathroom! Us from tropical country appreciate this very much!).

Hotel has free wifi. However our 1st room (315) was located at the end of the corridor, and apparently wifi signal doesn't reach this area of the hotel (at least not on my iPad & iPhone). On our 2nd stay, we got room 305 (not far from the lift) and has strong signal.

Stock up on food from Galeries Lafayette Gourmet or Monoprix (5mins from hotel) for your midnight snack or breakfast :) If taxi driver doesn't know where it is, just tell them it's right at Galeries Laffayete Maison (next door!).

Room Tip: Room 315 on 6th floor (1 bedroom apartment) facing Galeries Lafayette but view partially blocked (ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nenekguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Weekend in Paris - 8th - 11th December 2011.

Couple aged 28 and 29, were seeking modern touches, kitchen facilities in room, and great access to the centre of Paris for walking tourism!

We got off to a bumpy start for our weekend, having originally been booked into the Adagio / Citea Paris Tilsitt Champs Elysees... We were transferred by a free taxi to Orion Paris Haussmann due to an electrical problem on a whole floor at the former hotel.

On arrival at Orion Haussmann, we knew this was a more modern styled hotel and seemed to be "right in the centre" of the action!

We were impressed with this hotel as a budget option in Central Paris. The room was on the smaller side, but perfectly proportioned with ample room to move around.

The bed was comfy and a good size, the dressing table, carpets and curtains looked new, unworn and clean. The bathroom was clean and modern, Flat screen TV, great modern compact kitchen; large fridge, sink, electric hob, microwave, all utensils, pans, cupboard bin.

Our window faced the quiet back open courtyard. A nice courtyard it was, but we'd have preferred a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Boulevard Haussmann. (Only because Galleries LaFayette was so beautiful with all of the building lighting, I'm not sure if it was seasonal or permanent?)

The Hotel has a small ground floor lobby with just a lift in it. The hotel starts with Reception on floor 4, and rooms on 5 and 6. For this reason I don't believe that the rooms at the front or the back could be that noisy at night, given they're quite high up. We had a really quiet couple of nights sleep.

Reception are friendly and helpful, as are Housekeeping.
The location really is perfect for tourists. The Opera building is one of the most beautiful in Paris and it's directly facing you as you walk out of the lobby.

Galleries LaFayette and Primtemps are huge department stores on Boulevard Haussmann - Opposite the hotel. It's a fab spot for shopping. We noticed from the ground that there were people on the roof of Galleries Lafayette, so we went to have a look inside to see if we could get onto the roof... What a beautiful building, with a gorgeous dome. The viewing roof is free to access, on I think the 6th floor. Great views of Paris at sunset!

We did an open top bus tour with Paris L'open tour - Well worth the money! Start early if you want to change to different coloured bus routes, as the buses stop around 6.30 I think. We took the grand tour (green route) which was two hours. The tourist office to buy tickets is a 2 mins walk from the hotel on Rue Auber (as is the local tram stop)

We did the bus tour on a cold day (5-6C) and it'd been raining in the morning. Most people sat downstairs, what a waste of a view! Take tissue, or use leaftlets to wipe the wet seats, wrap up warm and enjoy the commentary and views!

There is a mix of expensive / reasonable cafe bars and restaurants nearby the hotel - the ones facing the Opera on all sides seem quiet pricey, but there were lots of restaurants on Rue de Caumartin, which crosses over Boulevard Haussmann nearby the hotel.

The airport shuttle bus is no more than 10 steps walk from the hotel door, and it leaves every 10 mins and is priced between 10E - 15 E (can't recall, but it's very reasonable considering a taxi is circa 45E - 50E)

The only slight negative I can think of is that we each had only one pillow, and when I went to reception to enquire about two more, they could only come up with one and seemed bewildered by my request and wanted to know if I hadn't been given "one" already. I wasn't charged for the one extra pillow, and sharing was fine. No big deal.

Great hotel, surprised with the great location, really reasonably priced. We were pleased we had to move hotels!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmagooseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The location of this hotel is just in the center of everything. 10 steps out the door you are in galleries lafayette and down the road is also printemps for your shopping needs :) 15 steps from the door is the bus for the airport and rer entrance (auber). Infront of the door is uniqlo for your clothing needs. At the back of the road from the hotel is the l'open tour bus office. This hotel ir right in the heart of Paris. We got the one bedroom apartment bec there were 3 of us. I was so surprise bec it exceeded my expectations. The rooms are big and can fit 4 pax, its clean and have a little kitchenette. Service was quite fast but we only needed the basic things like extra pillow or tissue paper. If i go back to Paris, i would definetly come back to this hotel and would really recommend it to everybody. We paid around 236 eu for two nights, and in this area(opera), you cant get this price. So this hotel is really a blessing for us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lafayette view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irongirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The thing about this place is really about value for money and the location which gives access to RER/ Metro and opposite key shopping area (Lafayette and others). It is not really a hotel but a service apartment so you have to set your expectations right. Example, we had to pay 20Euro deposit to borrow a hairdryer (which is fine). The main problem for us was the reception was closed from 12noon to 2PM (which is fine) ONLY IF a notice is placed at the door or stated on their website or guests being notified during booking time. Unfortunately there were none of these and we happened to reach at 12:05. We waited at the doorstep for 15 minutes, made a few overseas calls to attempt to reach the reception (to no avail). We gave up after 20 minutes and went to a nearby cafe for a bite which fortunately has free wifi which then I accessed Tripadvisor (Thank God!) which someone has posted this information. Other than this episode, all else is fine, but please do something about notification on closure of reception! (If a very clear notification on a 60Euro penalty can be placed at the room's kitchenette on failure to clean up, I don't see why a CLEAR notification on the reception closure cannot be indicated.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearbear911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Incredible value (for Paris), convenient location for Galeries Lafayette, Le Printemps and others.

But especially good for last night before flying, as the Opera Roissybus leaves just around the corner to CDG. We therefore chose this as our "one night" stop after returing to Paris from other regions, with flight next morning. Could not be more convenient - espeically if you've done some shopping and have to deal with extra bags. :-)

Rooms are spotless, double-glazed windows deaded noise from busy street, our room had delightful balcony. Also small kitchenette, well-appointed, that would make longer stays easy.

Staff was charming.

One note: front desk closed between 12.00-14.00, so cannot check in at that time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel7YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was my 5th stay at Orion Haussmann. Stayed here due to its convenience location and value for money. My first two stays were really nice and impressive but the following were getting worst and worst, in term of room cleaniness, staff attitude and service standard. Decided to come back for my 5th stay as the hotel Manger show her sincerity on accepting my comments and promise to improve. I really appreciate your kindness, Sabrina! Suite 201 was beautiful and bright, with fantastic view. After few e-mails, request for clean linens and hair dryer were well-arranged. If hotel can provide bigger and more Fluffy Pillows, it would be PERFECT! Even though the chance of getting a wonderful stay is 50/50, I still recommend friends and business customers to stay here when visiting Paris as Orion Haussmann is 'MY HOME' in Paris!
I hope Orion Hausmann keep showing improvements and caring of customers. For a person who come to Paris at least 4 times a years- me, I really want to stay at the same hotel every visit, sometimes it is very tiring keep searching hotels and it would be great if I can stay at the same hotel that I love. I am coming back in August, let's see how Orion improves.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imahori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,379 of 1,803 in Paris
202 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#550 of 1,803 in Paris
455 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Trinite
Hotel Antin Trinite
#986 of 1,803 in Paris
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Excelsior Opera
Hotel Excelsior Opera
#491 of 1,803 in Paris
371 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Adagio Paris Opera
Adagio Paris Opera
#805 of 1,803 in Paris
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Orion Paris Haussmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Orion Paris Haussmann

Address: 2 rue des Mathurins, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,480 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $139 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Orion Paris Haussmann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence 3 stars is located in the heart of Paris and overlooking the Opéra Garnier. The residence is just above the galleries Lafayette Maison. It offers an excellent quality service with its charming courtyard, breakfast room and meeting room. The hotel´s location is one of the most famous in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Residence Orion Paris Haussmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing