We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect treat...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Toits de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Toits de Paris
Ranked #20 of 128 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect treat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

First thing first, I do have to agree with dande24's review below about the required deposit via international bank transfer. The bank charges and fees were outrageous, and it would have been nice if there was another option with less fee and hassle to pay the deposit (e.g. Paypal).

Anyways, everything else about this B&B was amazing and exceeded my expectation. Firstly about the room: it is not huge, but I was traveling alone so it was more than enough space for me. Everything (the room itself, bed linens, towels, etc) was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and cozy. I really liked the view from the room, which overlooks the street. The bathroom is beautifully designed and decorated with a gorgeous bathtub and a shower booth. Now, I have to talk about the fabulous breakfasts: I stayed for 6 nights, and each morning the breakfast was just amazing! The table was set perfectly with an abundance of croissants, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, etc.

Because the B&B is located in a residential area, the room is very quite at night and I was able to get a very good sleep each night. It is also nice to get away from the busy, hectic touristy areas and come back to this B&B to rest. I felt as if I was a Parisienne...!

It was my first visit to Paris and I have to admit, I went without much planning at all. The trip was kind of a spontaneous idea, and work was just insanely busy before I left for Paris, so I just went hoping that I would be able to figure things out when I got there. What's more, I don't speak or understand any French (well, except for very basic greetings, of course)!

Matthieu and Sophie both speak excellent English and are very generous hosts. Matthieu especially was a life-savor for me during this trip--he was extremely helpful in giving me directions and telling me about hidden gems and good restaurants in the city.

Le Toits de Paris B&B was a perfect place to stay during my trip to Paris. I was really wanting a quiet place to relax while enjoying the city, and staying at Le Toits de Paris was a real treat. I would definitely go back, and am surely recommending it to anyone who is visiting Paris!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Lets get one minor negative out of the way before writing a glowing review. The deposit for Les Toits de Paris required an International Bank Transfer. The deposit was 80 Euros, hovever the cost of the transfer to France cost over 80 pounds following bank charges. A bit of a hassle. Maybe another method, such as Paypal would be more valuable.

This is all very forgettable once you have settled in at Les Toits de Paris. This B&B is full of charm and character. Matthieu welcomed us after our late night arrival into the city and recommended a nearby restaurant which was open after eleven on a Sunday evening. Most helpful. The room itself was perhaps a little smaller than it appeared on the website photographs. However, it was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed linens were of a luxurious quallity -- although the bolster is an acquired taste. A bottle of mineral water placed next to the bed each evening showed thought and attention to detail. The bathroom was top class, and very well designed: a large shower cubicle and elegant free standing bath. Fluffy towels and high quality toiletries. The room does not have a particularly superb view -- a rear facing window overlooking a playground and a front window facing the window baskets and balconies of the building opposite. Still, looking out over the street it is easy to feel like a resident of the neighbourhood, rather than a tourist. The room comes into its own as night falls, a romantic retreat from the busy city. Furthermore, it is well stocked with all manner of information about Paris. So, lie in bed and plan your day ahead.

Breakfast was superb -- served in Matthieu and Sophie's appartment across the tiny hallway. We chose to eat at 8.30 and then changed our minds after spending a late night in the city. We requested a change by writing on the chalkboard outside our room. Matthieu was very accomodating. Nothing seemed to be a problem for this most professional of hosts. We woke to the smell of freshly brewing coffee. The food was of the highest quality: beautifully crisp croissants, a range of cheeses, ham, yoghurt with preserves, fresh bread and pancakes. Matthieu chatted casually with us and gave recommendations for the rainy day ahead. The appartment proved most inviting after a long day spent exploring the bustling autumn city. We would certainly like to return, and would recommend Les Toits de Paris to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dande24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We spent 5 days in Paris in our room in the rooftops. It was a lovely peaceful hideway to come home to after dealing with frenitic pace of Paris.
Matthieu and Sophie were wonderful, generous hosts, whose knowledge of Paris was invaluable in planning our time there. We loved interacting with their young son Marius whilst enjoying our most delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was our first trip to Paris for both my wife and I. We found Les Toits de Paris to be a pleasant surprise based on all the stories you hear about Paris hospitality and accommodations. Matthieu and Sophie were wonderful. Matthieu provided suggestions for dinning, sightseeing, and transportation that was very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy with a bathroom that was larger than the average size european bathroom. The breakfast was excellent each morning of which was served at the time we requested. The location was wonderful with a metro station only 2-3 blocks away. Many good restaurants are also available within a few blocks.

Overall, our stay at Les Toits de Paris was excellent with Matthieu and Sophie being great hosts. This made our first visit to Paris a very positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TestaDuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here for 14 days and are completely thrilled with our choice. Breakfast was outstanding: beautifully presented, on time, hot, and delicious. There was not one repeat meal in 14 days--a seemingly impossible feat! The room was immaculate, lovely, and comfortable even with our 12 yr old daughter on the pull out sofa--she was provided with great linens that complimented ours. The bathtub was a haven after a long days sightseeing--we never ran out of hot water and we certainly put it to the test, each taking baths or showers after each journey. We can't say enough about Matthieu's warm and helpful advice each morning as we planned our day. He expertly guided us through a dream vacation. It was comforting to know we had his number as we left each day in case we got lost or ran into trouble--which we never did with his great information. Please do not hesitate booking here for your Paris stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

It has been a while since we have been to Paris, but the accomodation still remains in a very positive way: Very cosy room with a nice athmosphere, absolutely friendly and very professional tenant. The room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom newly renovated, the house was quiet and easy to reach with the Metro.The breakfast was great and we enjoyed the family-like athmosphere! It's not that cheap, but it's worth all the money. We can definitely recommend staying at toits de paris.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adinamuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Matthieu our host was excellent in providing information and sights to see, as we had been to Paris before we stayed away from the major tourist spots and found the real Paris. Matthieu couldn't have been more helpful. The room was very comfortable and location is convenient to the metro and bus stops.
I would definately recommend. Home from home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
La Villa Paris
#3 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les3chambres
Les3chambres
#1 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
Le 1er Etage Marais
#2 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
A Room in Paris
A Room in Paris
#17 of 128 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Villa du Square
#9 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Toits de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Toits de Paris

Property: Les Toits de Paris
Address: 25 rue de l Abbe Groult, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We  welcome you in our flat, under the roofs of Paris, in the heart of the rue du Commerce area, few steps from the Eiffel Tower and Paris Expo at Porte de Versailles. Your romantic attic room with independent access is over 20 sqm with a double bed, and a terra cotta floor. Your private bathroom is with a bath tube + a shower and toilet is separeted and private as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Toits de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Toits De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing