We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner experience”
Review of Le Petit Bordelais - CLOSED

Le Petit Bordelais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Le Petit Bordelais features regular in the restaurant columns of French newspapers and magazines. This chic fine dining restaurant is between les Invalides and the Eiffel Tower. The décor is sophisticated and the service warm and welcoming.There is a definate South West influence in the regularly changing menu, for example the side of beef in a Bordeaux sauce.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This small and elegant restaurant located between the Invalides and the Tour Eiffel offers good food at reasonable prices. My wife and I, we took the four courses degustation menu with wine which was excellent. It was a very pleasant and relaxing dinner. The owner-chef Phillipe came to talk with the guests one to one. He greated us after the dessert and when he found out that we were from Brazil he told us that he will visit Rio next year for the Carnival parade.Then he took photos with us before we left. After dinner we strolled along the Seine and the Tour Eiffel. It was a memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMIL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    141
    29
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“An elegant dinner”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went with the degustation menu and had the matched wines to go with it. Lovely setting, good service, and the food and wine were first class. We’d recommend the degustation menu, preferably with the wine, for a very pleasant and relaxing dinner out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food in a very pleasant setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Tucked away on a short street between the Invalides and the Eiffel Tower, this small restaurant offers very good food at reasonable prices. The owner-chef, Philppe, watches over the dining room like a hawk, making sure every detail is taken care of. The clientele seems to be mostly local, with many repeat visitors, judging by their familiarity with the staff. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LordJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You will not forget....”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

le Petit Bordelais where the cuisine is superb,
not overpriced, not overcrowded with too many tables. Attentive service,
subdued lighting and formal atmosphere are balanced by the warmth
of an engaging chef. A super place to dine on a sweet street near the Seine, the
Invalides and the dazzle of the Eiffel Tower just around the corner on the rue St. Dominique. We especially loved the cannelets made each day in this kitchen and offered as a gift at the end of the meal along with perfect little madeleines that melt in the mouth, but not in memory.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere not there”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We picked this restaurant for the menu, reviews and location. We were seated between to other couples is an empty restaurant. This was the biggest drawback. Maybe they didn't want the French clients to get the idea this is a tourist joint. The other negative was the atmosphere; dim (as in dismal) lighting, tables on top of each other, no room the the plates, wine, water etc. With all this said, my 4 star rating might seem out of place but the food is great. Really good down to earth French cooking, well seasoned, not over-sauced, adequate but not too large portions, pretty presentation and well paired tasting menu. My wife had a beef dish which she found too fatty but the rest of the food made up for the cut of meat. The chef seemed to really want the place to work and was open to rubbing elbows with the tourist as well as the regulars. The wine list was really expensive so if you are into wine, watch your wallet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Bordelais also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing