We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos on website are deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture
Ranked #1,066 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Where to start? This isn't exactly my definition of a hotel. This felt more like a glorified hostel, than a hotel. The moment I stepped into the lobby, it really didn't feel hotel'ish. There was no air-conditioning. The lobby was cramped. And the lobby elevator could barely fit a luggage and one other person.

As for the room itself, calling it small would be an overstatement. It was TINY! Anything larger than a carry on luggage would have been too big. Of course, similar to the lobby, there was no air-conditioning in the room. We had a small little fan to keep us cool, but the room was unusually hot. I suppose that was to be expected considering it was summer. You could open up the window, but it was extremely noisy outside. We were on the 1st floor. I honestly did not get my sleep after the 1st night. Finally, what made me realize that it was time to switch was the roach we found in the shower. That was it, I had enough. We were suppose to stay there for 4 nights, but quickly cancelled after the 1st night and moved on to Novotel. Best decision ever!

This was bordering on a one star, but I thought that would be too harsh. Again, read the reviews, even the negative ones in great detail, because they do depict the reality of what the pictures do not show. I'm frankly quite shocked at some of the 4-5 star comments. I have no idea how ANYBODY could rate this a 4-5 star. It is NOWHERE close to that.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and get a hotel with air-conditioning, especially during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Bonjour Madame,

Thank you to have send us your feedback on tripadvisor. I do not ignore your visible disappointment but I do not understand at all. You would have to announce us your faintness, we shall have found the solutions to make your stay in better and good conditions. We are available 24 hours a day at the front desk reception.

Do not hesitate to contact me personaly, I will be very happy to find the best solution for your next stay.

Best regards,

Rachid Oumakhlouf
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 821 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room was quiet and clean but it's small and we missed a wardrobe. The location is good and metro station is very near. The personal service good too. We recommend it if you go to Paris for few days and with a small suitecase.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESTEFI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Bonjour from Paris My Hotel In France Le Marais,

We are really happy to read your feedback through Tripadvisor.com.You share your nice experience in our hotel and we are really appreciate that. Our hotel i situated in the center of Paris city in the famous Marais area. Easly walk to monuments, museums, restaurant and shops.

Take advanatge of our All For You Offer when you make your reservation in our own website. We offer your Welcome drink, Buffet breakfast, lunch box and internet access.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager
With My Hotel In France Le Marais Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The reception staff were most welcoming and spoke good English - better than my French!! The lift to our room on the 3rd floor was so small that for only two people with two carry-on bags it was a real squash. Our room was clean and well furnished with two good sized windows giving views over the busy streets. The bathroom and shower were quite adequate but definitely only room for one at a time. The main problem was that getting round the bedroom required lots of negotiating skills. There was almost no open floor space. The buffet breakfast was good of its type and there was plenty of choice. The complimentary packed lunch was simple but really filled a gap for us in the middle of the day. We would stay here again - it's in a good location but slightly off the tourist track.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clashgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Madame, Monsieur bonjour from Paris,

Merci beaucoup!! to have share your great experience in My Hotel In France Le Marais Paris.
We really appreciate your message with compliments about us and also about the hotel standing.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next nequest, we will be really enjoyed to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager with My Hotel In France Le Marais team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Surprise, surprise, like nearly every hotel in Paris, the rooms are small - but it's the same in most European cities. Plus, who goes to Paris in the Summer to sit in their hotel room? The room was very clean and quiet for the duration of our stay. The lift (which JUST managed to fit my parter and I in at the same time..) was tiny - but VERY convenient as you could at least send your luggage up/down without having to carry it up or down numerous flights of stairs. Breakfast (which was included) was fine and all the staff that we dealt with were lovely.

Now, in terms of location, you simply can't beat the Marais district in Paris (in my opinion anyway). If it's bars you want, this area has it. If it's restaurants you're looking for, this area has it. If shopping is your thing then the Marais is PERFECT! If it's gorgeous architecture and hidden, adorable little parks & gardens then look no further. The Marais has it all. Everything I've just mentioned was within an easy 5 minute stroll from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilsHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Bonjour from My Hotel In France Le Marais Paris,

Thank you very much to have share your nice experience in our hotel. We are really happy to read your feedback from SIDNEY!!
You advance the great location of our establishment situated in the center in the Marais area, the good quality, alo our freindly staff and we really apreciate it.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager with My Hotel In France Le Marais Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is placed just 5-10 minutes walk from the shopping area of Marais. The room was small, as they are in Paris, but it was clean and cozy.There were no aircon, but open window and fan did the trick. Of course that did invite a lot of noice from the city... We had trouble with the luggage getting away at the airport and the hotel staff took action and were very helpfull. The breakfast was poor but with all the cozy cafes in the area that was not a concern. We had a room on the top floor (6) and the elevator was made for one+ luggage:)
I would have no problem going back, or recomend it to others now that you know about the size, breakfast and elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Bonjour Monsieur from Paris,

We thank you very much to have share your experience in My Hotel In France Le Marais Paris.
Your message is trully an encouragement to provide good quality to our guest.

All our team is remaining at your disposal,
We really hope to welcome you again

Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager with My Hotel's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I like the location. It is close to many cafes, restaraunts and markets. It is within walking distance of L'hotel de ville and metro system. There is a bakery next door and a market just around the corner of the hotel. The staff was fantastic. I thank them for helping with my French, communicaton when needed. Rooms are smaller than American are used to, but my room was very clean, and comfortable. There is some street noise late night, but I kept my window open and actually enjoyed the atmosphere as part of my experience. A light breakfast is provided and a bag lunch is offered that you can take out while exploring the city. I would definantly recommend staying here, and if I get back to Paris, If you need a trip back to the airport and don't want to deal with the metro, they can call a taxi. Taxi was right on time and costs about 60 E to the trip back to Charles DG airport.

Room Tip: I night noise is an issue take a higher floor and consider ear plugs. Rooms can get a bit stuffy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kool113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0140290133, General Manager at My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Bonjour from My Hotel In France Le Marais Paris,

Thank you very much to have share your nice experience in our hotel. We are really happy to read your feedback. You advance the great location of our establishment situated in the real city center in the Marais area, the good quality of our services, our freindly staff and we really apreciate.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Me and my staff are remaining at your disposal.
Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager with My Hotel In France Le Marais Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in July 2012. I was expecting a tiny room, but we were pleasantly surprised by our room's size and comfort. We did keep bumping into the "closet" rack, but other than that, it was great. Beautifully decorated (contemporary), an effective fan, great shower, comfy bed, street noise nothing major, and best of all: free breakfast (very good), free WiFi and free takeaway lunch (nothing fancy). The staff were wonderfully helpful with directions (merci beaucoup). Excellent location near the St Sebastien-Froissart metro stop. Don't miss the patisserie next door and Cafe Royale. For fun, ask a local how to get to My Hotel in France. You'll end up in a real Who's on First conversation like I did. Very funny.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boredinsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Madam,

Merci beaucoup to have taking the time to share your great experience in My Hotel In France Le Marais. Your message is really important for all of our team, we really appreciate your feedback about the good quality of our services, staff, breakfast,lunch box and location. We thank you very much for that.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.

Rachid Oumakhlouf, hotel manager with My Hotel In France Le Marais Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel du Vieux Saule
Hotel du Vieux Saule
#1,120 of 1,804 in Paris
186 reviews
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#250 of 1,804 in Paris
469 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#665 of 1,804 in Paris
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
#906 of 1,804 in Paris
311 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#952 of 1,804 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture

Address: 2 B rue Commines, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,066 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Hotel in France le Marais is perfectly located in the heart of the Marais, the historic neighborhood of Paris.Our rooms are fully equipped with modern furniture and nicely decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing