We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills accomodation in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
Save
You added Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin to your Saves list
Ranked #976 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No frills accomodation in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As has already been stated in earlier reviews: this is a hotel run for Officers in the French Armed Forces. It is comparable to the Union Jack Club or the Victory Services Club in London.

The accommodation was comfortable, if a little dated and frayed around the edges. (Hence a refurbishment later this year). As for the food, although I only ate le petit déjeuner, it was excellent. The service throughout was also efficient and friendly. For me, the key selling point of this hotel is its location – the centre of Paris with easy access to all the sites and the metro. Overall: good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
30
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times while visiting Paris with my family. Each time the service has been very friendly, the rooms very comfortable - if a bit small - and we have enjoyed our stay. We have always been street front with lovely views of the cathedral that is right outside your window which is nice. The walking distance to all the main attractions is very convenient and makes for a nice stay any time of the year. The Grand restaurant that is inside is phenomenal. We always enjoy an amazing multi course meal there when we go, with apertifs and post dinner cognacs in the bar area. Decorations are simply stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is run by the French Armed Forces for service personnel and I made my booking under a reciprocal arrangement. It is very close to the centre of Paris and the prices are reasonable.

We stayed over the New Year with some friends having booked months ago and having asked for rooms on the 5th or 6th floors at the front. On arrival, we were offered a room on the third floor at the back which was so small, it would have been better listed as a single. The second room, also on the third floor was a little larger but reeked of drains. It was also dowdy, poorly lit, lacking in any storage space and noisy.

The staff were pleasant and helpful but unable to improve the quality of our stay. It was clearly a busy time for them and they did their best. The breakfast was fine.

We were informed that the hotel will close in July 2013 for refurbishment. Not before time.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms on the 5th or 6th floors and at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The shower was a hand wand only, no bar on wall to hold it.
My 1st shower had no hot water- so it was a quick one.

The hotel claimed that irons were a safety hazard, and thus there were no irons in the room.
Nor coffee :(

Location was great, but other than that it was bare bones.
I would NOT stay there again.

Breakfast buffet was included, and was actually very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited here for the fourth time and was again happy with the stay. I did have a room on the fifth floor street front and enjoyed the view. (An earlier comment denegrated the interior rooms and I cannot comment as I have always been street front.) The location for the price is the main selling point for me. A close second is the multi lingual and very helpful staff. They have arranged reservations, transportation, given excellent directions and generally been most helpful.
As also previously stated there are numerous small and very reasonable cafes nearby. Of particular note is the department store Monoprix directly across from the hotel which has a food store and deli counter. Good inexpensive eats as well as clothing and necessities. Check this out for food to go or an inexpensive breakfast.
Finally, if you are travelling on to the Normandy area the St Lazare train station is a few blocks away. Walking distance if you are traveling light and can roll your bag(s).

Room Tip: As stated above and by others, ask for a street front room above the 4th floor. You will hear some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ULKYDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As it was my first trip to Paris I found this hotel with an excellent location, it's a walking distance to Gallerie Laffayette, the Opera, Madaleine Chapelle and not so far from the Louvre and the Invalides.
I found that location very interesting, with many nice cafes in the neighbourhood.
The staff is very nice, and all of them speak English very well. They gave us directions to the attractions and dinner, were all very helpfull.
The rooms are very clean and I got one with the view to the Eiffel Tower, that was wonderful!
The only negative point is that they don't have a minibar.
The building is very beautitfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Tower view. Really tiny lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited this hotel recently to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service and friendliness overall at reception and in the restaurants was very good. Cleanliness superb and we cannot wait to visit again. This is our third visit. Free wifi too. The only point I would like to mention is beware of the taxi service from the hotel. We were called a taxi from the hotel back to the Gare du Nord. Very unfriendly man, not to be trusted and demanded double the fare! Best to flag one down in the street.

Room Tip: Depending when you book for the best room. I booked 6 months in advance and asked for a balcony. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Elizabet... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Malesherbes
Quality Hotel Malesherbes
#1,029 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#777 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#37 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monsieur
Hotel Monsieur
#60 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Opera Diamond
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Lavoisier
Hotel le Lavoisier
#642 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Property: Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
Address: 8 Place Saint Augustin, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #976 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Cercle National Des Armees Saint-Augustin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing