We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely FAB-U-LOUS”
Review of Le Tournebievre

Le Tournebievre
Reserve with
Le Tournebievre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $56
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: On the banks of the Seine, moments from Paris' Ile de la Cite and within easy reach of Paris' most celebrated landmarks is Le Tournebièvre restaurant . The first thing that will undoubtedly strike you about the restaurant (formerly Le Rencard Gourmand) is the breathtaking view across the river. But quite apart from the fairytale setting, Le Tournebièvre is special in its own right. Its classic French bistro cuisine is hugely popular with locals so it provides a real Parisian experience, quite apart from the usual tourist-version of Parisian dining. The simple bistro interior is accompanied, in the summer months, with pavement dining under a wide, shady awning. The traditional French menu is created using fine, seasonal ingredients, with a wide choice for all tastes. And, sacre bleu, the service at Le Tournebièvre is both professional and genuinely friendly.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely FAB-U-LOUS”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

A lovely cosy French restaurant, next to the Seine. We were greeted with a smile and the service was personnel and everything was translated for us. The waiter chose an excellent wine which complimented a fabulous meal at a reasonable price. Hopefully we will be able to go back there one day.

Helpful?
Thank TopCat703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    246
    55
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Based on the excellent reviews and pictures from TA, we booked this restaurant by e-mail reservations and were very pleased with our decision. Central location, modern decor, cozy atmosphere, friendly, English speaking staff were just the start. The three of us each had 3-course dinners and shared a bottle of good white wine for around 142 euros total. We tried each other's food and everything from the appetizers to desserts was delicious and well presented. Our waiter took the time to explain dishes on the menu, recommended wine based on our preferences, and was very attentive throughout the whole evening. We left happy and completely satisfied!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Definitely the best place you can find in Paris for a romantic and tasty lunch or dinner on the bank of the Seine, in front of Notre Dame Cathedral!
I went there this summer for a 1-week holiday with my boyfriend and, even if we tried many bistrots and restaurants, we agreed that none of them was as good as "Le Tournebièvre": the team is young, creative and passionate, they only use fresh ingredients, their dishes are simply delicious.
We appreciated at most their way of cooking and serving escargots, and their ability in baking the meat, always exactly how they were requested to do it (being able in doing this is not very frequent).
Another positive comment has to be done about the staff: they are all very kind and ready to describe every 'plat' (we found that, in Paris, it isn't so common): in our case, we enjoyed very much the presence of the nice italian waiter, Marco.
Prices are in the ordinary range for Paris: at dinner you can choose between two formulas, the first is the 29 € one, and it consists of 'entree' + 'plat', but with a 6 euros extra you can choose the latter formula, with a dessert (if it's on the day's menu, try the chocolate lava cake :) ).
If you're planning a trip to Paris, I suggest you to try this place, you won't forget it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hidden gem”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Found Le Tournebievre on trip advisor as was staying close-by. Took my wife for a birthday dinner and we both really enjoyed it. Food was delicious and the service was very good - the guys were really friendly and helpful. I particularly liked the fact that it seemed like everything on the menu seemed to be homemade - including sauces, jellies etc.

If I were to be super-critical the tables are small and space is limited (as to be expected in Paris) but my wife was a bit crammed in at our table with cocktails being mixed literally just behind her head. She was also presented with a dessert of profiteroles with nuts after previously discussing a nut allergy with our waiter. Wasnt a big deal to us - we swapped desserts - but could have been a problem had my wife not noticed it.

These small issues did not spoil an excellent evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanMac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
252 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a friend's recommendation and so happy we did. The service was outstanding as was the atmosphere. I had the eggplant Parmesan the wife had the escargot for appetizers both superbe, my rack of lamb was perfect, I was literally licking the bones. The wife had the chicken curry which she thought was good ( not great). Dessert for both was amazing . Overall would recommend this place to all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigcityeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tournebievre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Tournebievre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing