We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradtitional French bistro”
Review of L'Enfance de Lard

L'Enfance de Lard
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 9/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,335 of 21,280 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: 6th Arr. - Luxembourg
Reviewed June 4, 2019

This is "real" Paris. Simple but elegant. Welcoming. Delicious food in a vibrant foodie district. We will be back next time.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 301andrewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 317 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Charming restaurant in a great neighborhood. That’s the good news. Would not recommend this place beyond those two points. We arrived very early on a Monday evening. The restaurant had just opened and we were the first ones there. We asked for a table at the window so we could enjoy the street traffic views. It was set for four diners, but had no “reserved” sign, and there were about 7 or 8 other tables for 4, also still empty, in the room. This was in addition to another room, larger than the one we were in, with twice as many tables for four that still were empty. We were seated at a tiny table for two, against a wall, and not by a window. A little while later, another older couple were given the same treatment. Still no parties of 4 had been seated in the room. Our dinners arrived (More about that later), just as another party of 2 entered the room. They, too, requested the window table, as we and the previously mentioned older couple had done. This couple apparently had an “in,” because after a bit of discussion, they were seated at the coveted table by the window. We expressed our surprise and dismay that this was so blatantly unfair to us. The server and hostess were clearly embarrassed to be called on it, but offered no apology or explanation.
The previous evening, we had tried to stop for just a dessert at the same restaurant, and were told that we could not have a table for just dessert, but would have to order a drink as well. Again, there were many unoccupied tables, but we weren’t going to get one unless we’d want more than dessert. We moved on to another place that allowed us to have only a dessert, but this should have been a clue that this place didn’t really care about our patronage.
By the way my duck, cooked “medium,” was served bloody red and still quacking.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Ktlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

We found this charming restaurant off a quiet cobble stone street in St Germain and loved it! Salade frisée with lardons was out of this world. Super choices and a friendly and easy vibe. Very bistro. The grilled Camembert was out of this world and everything was enjoyable. Try to have a reservation if you don’t want to wait and expect a lovely evening.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 441jpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

We were very disappointed. Starters lovely. BUT my chicken was a tiny leg with hardly any meat..what there was was tasty but not worth the price. Worse was the steak skewer..beef very poor quality. Asked for medium well and it was raw. They took it back but half of it still inedible. What made it worse was the attitude when we pointed it out...no real apology and ignored after complaining. The table next to us got comp liquers because they were americans wearing berets.we didnt even get an apology!!! The americans all had chicken and hated it as there was no meat. But didnt say so!!!! No value for money here and service poor!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Duck breast with orange and honey was tender, and lamb chops were very good. Excellent cheese platter and good service.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 499gerrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Enfance de Lard also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Enfance de Lard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing