We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step through the time portal”
Review of Le Bidou

Le Bidou
Reserve with
Le Bidou is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,534 of 20,556 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ternes
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We lived in Paris for three years, once I found this place, it quickly became our second living room when we wanted to get out.

First thing up...do not go if you do not speak French, or you are not willing to learn enough French to say, "Good day" and "A glass of red (or white) wine, please" and "Thank you".

This is a true trip back in time. It opened in the early 1930's. Edith Piaff did live upstairs and often whiled away her evenings here. The Nazi's did march on Grand Armee less than 100 yards away. The place has (probably) been cleaned up a few times since opening. The sign for the bathroom stills say "Lavabos", not Toilettes. This is a wonderful French neighborhood bar/restaurant. The atmosphere is great, if you love a sense of history and being surrounded by characters. The wine is very good and fairly priced. The food includes some classic French dishes and is very good and well priced,especially compared to most spots. Zaza is a gem.

Remember, it does not try to attract tourists, but, with a little effort on your part, you will get to see a remnant of fast vanishing history. And if you stay and try to enjoy it for it's character, you may find that an amazing number of the locals will begin to speak English.

Try the Cote du Rhones.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesskeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2015

I go to the Bidou everytime i have a chance. The owner "Zaza" is always all over the place. The bar is the place to hang out.
I hope they will never change.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

Piaf is here, two stools away. She must have felt at home in this now legendary bar, among the carefully lined up bottles, the dark woodwork with rounded corners and the sleek leather banquettes, the atmosphere very laid back.
A portrait of Les Tontons Flingeurs watches over from the wall between two old radios. Even today, the cuisine served is in the typical parigot tet de veau (down to earth Parisian) style. Black board specials from 11.00am to 2.00pm. Great wine list. Champagne, anyone?

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2014

This is a meeting place for business people wanting to have fun, rugby lovers, and people from the South Ouest of France. You need to get there no earlier than 9pm, this is a bar and a restaurant. Bistro food of good quality. Good wines. The bar is fun when it can get crazy (fun), which is quite often, until late hours.... This is Paris at night like you want to see it.
Zaza, the owner, is omnipresent, always sharing a glass with you.
A must.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice wine, great great great cheese, very nice people.

I am from Paris and I regularly take a drink arond the Etoile. For decades I have been somewhere else. How foolish I was !
I went there with tourists friends.
A very large choice of wines, a large panel of cheese, and other great cooking.

We were so very kindly hosted, even if it lasted hours.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damiano156a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bidou also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bidou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing